We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #42 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel has it all, an oasis of style and comfort amid a rapidly changing and vibrant city.
The staff are attentive and friendly and nothing is ever too much bother. A call to reception for extra towels was answered by a knock on the room door 2 minutes later.
Ask for a river view room, it's worth a little bit extra and adds significantly to the experience.
Breakfast served on the roof was something special, what a way to start the day. Ideally located, this place is worth a visit, but hurry plans are underway to add a modern high rise wing.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    1,077
    344
    107
    58
See reviews for
467
1,289
222
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Yes, there are younger, more modern, more sophisticated ladies in town... but at the end of the day you keep coming back to Ms. Majestic. She's classy, graceful, never pushy. She knows exactly what you need, exactly when you need it, never offering more, but certainly never offering less. She's been in the game a long time, 89 years now, but she doesn't look a day over 25. And when you walk out that door without looking back telling yourself you'll never see her again... she knows, and you know, that you will.

Room Tip: Pool-side rooms are quieter during rush hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Indeed Majestic chandeliers in this establishment. We stayed in interconnecting rooms with our children. Huge rooms, ample space. Marble bathrooms, comfortable beds, able to make a very dark room so we could sleep in easily. Much appreciated with a midnight arrival!!
Collected us from airport, check in simple-all very professional. A lovely touch being able to eat breakfast outside on the rooftop although, breakfast selection was a bit limited. I must mention too, the toiletries supplied were lush products-enjoyed them and my stay.
I feel the hotel is aiming for business customers but we felt very comfortable here and the children enjoyed the pool too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel in great location an still in good condition. We had a suite on 3rd floor, an room was great. The hotel staff are very good, an are more than happy to assist with any type of enquiry u may have.
The Buffett breakfast caters for all tastes and is very good.. Mr Tea an Coffee is on the job refilling your cup soon as u get low!
The 2 outdoor bar/restaurants have great views of the Saigon river

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for several days while touring Ho Chi Minh City. The hotel is really beautiful. It also has a great location right on the river. It is definitely within walking distance of things like the old Post Office, Notre Dame Cathedral as well as several shopping centers. The breakfast was really great and you have a great view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_T_8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I imagine that little has changed in the almost 100 year history of the Hotel Majestic. The hotel is well maintained and my room was large, clean and well appointed. Nice touches such as the fruit platter that is restocked daily and the turn down service that leaves yummy chocolates on my pillow help elevate this hotel above the norm. A large and lovely buffet on the 5th floor outdoor terrace overlooking the Saigon River is an excellent way to start the day and the pool is small but very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On our last night in Saigon we decided to stay at one of the original hotels in Saigon (built around 1924). Good location within working distance to restaurants, shops, night market.

On check-in, Fleur upgraded our room to a room over looking the river with a balcony (Level 3, in the old section). The size of the room was grand, plenty of suitcase room, bed/pilows amazing, small table/chair setting,fresh fruit awaiting - lovely layout. Air-conditioning worked well, bathroom great size and well appointed.

The pool area was well kept, spotless infact. The pool staff so friendly and made you feel very very welcome. Served amazing Mojito's. The pool area only has sun between 10am - 2pm which is enough and it was nice to get into a refreshing cold pool (as most others during out trip had been like a warm bath).

Breakfast selection was good and plentiful but not amazing (maybe I had expected too much). Staff very friendly.

Rooftop Bar - we went up on the Friday night around 10pm and the atmosphere was lovely with a view of the river and a band playing. Service was great and I liked the fact that we only had casual clothes on and was still welcomed by the staff.

Overall it was definitely worth the experience to stay in the beautiful Hotel, staff service from check-in to check-out was of high quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#48 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 8, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing