We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old charm”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #50 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The old charm”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and always ready to serve with a smile. Though high on the price compared with other hotels of the same category, the experience is to feel the hotel of the 70's deco especially the room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    879
    321
    113
    72
See reviews for
387
843
179
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

In the past this was one of the most famous hotels in Saigon. It is located in the center of Ho Chi Minh City. All the famous spots (Opera, Town Hall, Notre Dame, Post office) are in walking distance. If you enter the hotel today the reception and lobby area is still impressive and meets today´s requirements. Here you find all the typical amenities and a number of nice shops. Check-in was fast and staff was acting professional.

Then we have been taken to our room that obviously was located in the old wing. The room was a single desaster. You didn´t wanna walk on the flooring. Bathroom hasn´t seen any modernization and/or renovation for the last 25 - 40 years. Sounds of the AC comes close to an airplane taking off. Bedding must be in use since decades without reinstallment.

The rooftop bar is still a must see. Nice drinks and the live music entertainment is nice. Breakfast is served outside at the same place. Selection and service for breakfast are nice. Overall inside the hotel everything is a bit bedraggled. I certainly would return for a drink in the evening on the rooftop bar, but certainly not stay tehre overnight again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the old wing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFrequTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salemarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear MikeFrequTravel ,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to hear that you found our staff was acting professional, the rooftop bar and the breakfast were nice. We are however extremely sorry for not being able to meet your expectation about the room, I have noted your comments and raised these issues to our Management Team, we do hope that you will have a better experience of our new room product in your next visit. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We are seeking for another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,



Quan Tieu My – Bella (Ms.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Great location but my first night I experience constuction noice starting in morning, second night transfer room with street view and it's noisy in addition my neighbor room guest was on phone until 1am, had to bang on wall for him to lower the volume of his voice. Third night was same but tonight 4 th night little quiter, may be neighbour guy checked out. Requested quiter room on 2nd day but they gave me street view. All other service is great only problem is noisy for me

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDBPatel-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensley, beautiful view to the gardens across the road and the Peoples Committee building. Easy walk to the General Post Office, Notre Dame and the Reunification Palace, terrific restaurants in very easy walk. The lobby restaurant worked really well for us, both for dinner and lunch, really reasonable prices. The breakfast restaurant is large and as someone else said theres a great egg station.
Its a lovely place to come 'home' to after a hot day site seeing, I only wish the Spa was more affordable. Staff were great and really helpful.

We happened to be there on the 31st of March, World Earth Hour and the management put on a great free cocktail hour, apparently they do this once a month regardless. They turn all the lights off and have drinks by candle light, really impressed. Our room was large and had a great bed, shower too was really good. I would certainly stay again but it does sound like you should guarantee the new wing.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff NSW
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was last in Saigon in 1970. Was sationed at the Caravelle Hotel and knew the location of the Rex and had see iit from the outside - but never stayed there. Stayed there on my recent trip just for "old times sake". On arrival, hotel is quite impressive. The lobby, coffee shop and reception area are very wecoming. So was the AC! A pat of the hotel has boutique shops if Cartier and the like. My room wasn'r ready, so I was invited into the coffee shop/bar for a pink fu fu drink with an umbrella sitting in the glass. I had booked a "double deluxe" room in the "old" section of the hotel so wasn't sure what I would get. Elevator ride was OK. Then I got out into the hallway of the 3rd floor - into what appeared to be an oven. I know it's a cost-saving measure - but why do these hotels spens a fortune on renovations, but fail to have AC in the hallways and public areas on each floor?? When you have a key for room entry instead of a keycard - you know it's going to be an old room. Room itself was large enough, flatscreen TV, wifi and cable internet connection, 2 free bottle of water, and good AC. Bathroom has only bath/shower, and poor, dirty shower curtain, old fittings and soap holders. Shelf above the sink was very small, and with all the hotel amenities stacked on there - nowhere for my personal toiletries. There was mold in some of the grouting in the tiles around the bath.The bathrooms definitely renovation!. Wondered why the curtains in my room were drawn - only to open them and find out I looked a a cement wall about 2 metres from my room. It seeems most rooms have either street view of courtyard view - except some rooms like mine that have a cement wall view. No wonder the maids closed the curtain. During my 3-night stay I found out that the TV reception/cable was intermittent (now this is a 4-star hotel), and that altho I could receive e-mails on my laptop, I could not send. After calling service desl, the assistant manager cam to my room and invited me to use the business centre for sending. Explanation given was that the government was restricting internet usage because it was coming up to 30 April - "Reunification Day". That excuse did not go over well with me. It was a pain to have to go to the business centre and plug into the hotel's LAN just to send my e-mails!! Breakfast room on the top floor gives a great view of the central city. Depening on your ethnic food choices- the breakfast can be great, average or... Thank goodness for the egg station where you could get a good omelette of fried or scrambles eggs. Plenty of fruit. Good cheese almost non-existent in Vietnam. Why is it all these hotels only offer "natural" yoghurt? Surely with all the fruit available - they could offer fruit-based yoghurts? Service from the front desk staff was very good. They remembered my room number after the first visit to the desk. Not sure if I would stay here again as the price increase to get a room in the "newer" part of the hotel does not justify it. There plenty of newer hotels in the vicinity that have AC in all public areas/hallways. Location is great though, just a few minutes walk from the Opera House, Post Office and about 15 minutes from Ben Thanh Markets. I had heard a lot about the Spa at the Rex Hotel and how inexpensive it was - however - when I went to book in found that it was higher-priced than some of the other spas in the area.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the old part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salemarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear kwalaT,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are glad to hear that you found Rex Hotel Saigon in good location and the service from our front desk staff was very good. Regarding your comments about the air-conditioner in the hallways and public areas, the room, the internet connection, I have raised these issues to our Management Team, we do hope you will see the improvement in your next visit.

One of other concern is about breakfast, we will take your comment as a consideration to improve it.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, it is extremely helpful for us to improve our services and products.

We are seeking for another opportunity to welcome you again to Rex Hotel Saigon in the near future.

Kind regards,



Quan Tieu My – Bella (Ms.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great rooftop bar, best view in Saigon and not too expensive, maybe double normal prices. Great cocktails.

Room Tip: It is noisey on the lower floors and the front rooms have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edkemp2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is an excellent hotel, though not cheap. But it is value for money, with incredibly good food. The buffet breakfast will fill you up right until dinner. There are two swimming pools with good access hours, and the world-famous rooftop bar where there is no hassle, no cover charge, and live music nightly. The location is walking distance to several museums and major buildings, and a ten or fifteen minute walk to the river for the riverboats and ferries. I had a splendid week there.

Room Tip: Ask for an outer room if you want a view of more than a service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preservation_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#15 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#41 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing