We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location / Friendly Staff”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #55 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I along with our 12-year old stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. While there was some construction work at the hotel, we found our room to be great and did not encounter any issues. The room was large, recently updated, and located in a great spot. The rooftop bar/restaurant has a great view. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_and_Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for Rex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here from 10/4 till 14/4.
The rooms were average at best. My main grouse was the swimming pool. This is a so call 5 star hotel with over 200 guests at any time. But they shut down the main pool just so the hotel can use the pool area as a walkway to the coffeehouse. The other swimming pool is so small it's about the size if my small toe. The wooden flooring in the gym is uneven causing me to trip several times. Please stay away from this badly managed 5 star hotel. It's at best a 2 star with a lousy swimming pool for kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GohH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Rex on the back-end of a 2 week holiday in Vietnam. Perfectly located in the centre of District 1, adjacent to the town hall, the minute you enter the hotel lobby you get a sense of its importance and history.
We were initially allocated a basic room without view in the newer section of the hotel, but as we'd paid for a deluxe room in the old section, we complained and our room was changed to one with balcony overlooking Nguyen Hue Blvd.
A generous buffet breakfast was included in the tariff, always a great way to start the day.
Renovations underway on the 5th floor did not impact on our stay. Fortunately the rooftop garden bar was still open (even though on the first night you could hear jackhammers up until 6.00pm). The rooftop garden bar lived up to its reputation as one of the best places in Saigon to relax and unwind at the end of the day.
I came away with the view that the Rex is ideal for business and leisure travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Nguyen Hue Blvd.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My 12 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights. The service is impeccable. The concierge arranged for a private tour of Cu Chi Tunnels which was great to avoid the crowds. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke wonderful english. The room was on 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the street. The room was very spacious clean and super comfortable. The breakfast was never ending and had everything you could every want.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepKauaiBeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was quite by chance that I discovered the rooftop garden of the Rex Hotel in HCM. As you exit onto the rooftop, you are welcomed by the stunning colonial decor and authentic furnishings from the period. You really feel as if you are taking a step back to pre-1953. The real skill of the hotel owners however is that they have managed to fuse the ambience of French Indo-China with an up-to-date menu of some of the finest cocktails I have ever experienced. When you have savoured your Singapore Sling or Ginger Mojito whilst taking in the fabulous and romantic views over the city and admiring the ecologically diverse and important collection of trees, shrubs and flowers, you can enjoy the wonderful food menu while being entertained by a top Asian musical troupe. I even found myself wiping away the odd tear such was the standard of their performance. The food? Well, a better culinary experience you will not find in the whole of South-East Asia. Whether your taste is in Vietnamese, Thai or European whatever you choose from the substantial menu will not disappoint. Of course, in order to avail yourself of this wonderful experience you will need to book well in advance. You might even consider going for the all-inclusive package if you decide to say in one of the spacious, well appointed rooms of the hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tah_Ta_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've spent 3 nights at the REX. While the room is comfortable, the service is inconsistent and average, I found the hotel extremely hot. Seems that they have AC just in the rooms. The pool was closed and the famous bar on the rooftop was half closed. And to make it a bad experience I was woke up with works been done on the door of my bedroom since very early. In a city with so many nice hotels I wouldn't recommend this one.

Room Tip: try to stay in the new aisle and check to see if there is works going on before you go. The first ti...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunojunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salemarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Brunojunior,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rex Hotel Saigon on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely concerned to note your comment regarding the noise, please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. By the way, we would like to inform you that we have just re-opened our 5th floor swimming pool and our East Wing is open air area, however, our West Wing and Executive Wing is indoor with air-conditioning.

Your comment about the service has been addressed to our management team, we do hope you will see the improvement in your next visit. This is certainly not the level of service we are known for and we can fully understand your disappointment concerning the same.

Your feedback is extremely helpful for us to improve our service and product.

We are seeking for another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Quan Tieu My – Bella (Ms.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at the Rex from 7-10 Mar in a Premium Room in the New Wing. Check in was very friendly and efficient, staff always friendly and a great buffet breakfast - really enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop watching the city wake up in the morning!!
The Hotel has an interesting history with some great old photo's on display around the walls.
The Premium Room was large, very well appointed and quiet at night - unfortunately no views from the room.
The location is superb with most city sights and some good eating within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms in New wing are large, well appointed and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Travellingmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#17 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £85 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing