We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, practical and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #49 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, practical and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would definitely stay at the Rex again. It's in a great location and has every amenity that you need - without being over the top. The staff are friendly - my partner is a regular visitor and they welcome him with open arms like a long lost friend every time! It's in a great location - within walking distance of a number of great locations. They call it "Your Vietnam Home" - and that works for me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    853
    309
    110
    70
See reviews for
369
809
171
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great 4 night stay at the Rex at the end of our Saigon trip, loved our 'Governors Suite' and would go back without hesitation. We found the staff were helpful and friendly & as for location, perfect, you can walk everywhere if so inclined, or catch a taxi for a couple of dollars.

I have no idea about any 'taxi scamming', 'prostitutes out the front!!' & other ridiculous things I have read in other posts? We found the concierge all to be very helpful whenever we needed assistance.

Good breakfasts, lots to choose from, and the rooftop pool was also good for a morning swim or a quick dip after the humid days. We found the bed very comfortable, and all quality amenities in the rooms with lots of power points for charging everything.

Only one complaint was when we wanted to have a drink after arrival at the pool bar, my first 2 choices were unavailable, so we went across the road to the spanish bar, which ended up being a godsend!!! martinis for only $5 & beer on tap, plus great tapas!! As for coffee, behind the opera house, Highlands coffee was good quality & similar to home, and by the end of our trip I was addicted to a coffee freeze in the afternoon after sweltering the day away out & about, one of those things you have to have while there after watching all the locals I couldn't resist to try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I really loved this hotel. We booked a deal that was stay three nights and pay for 2 and had a lovely surprise when we were upgraded on arrival. Our room was large, quiet, had a very comfortable bed and a great bathroom with good quality toiletries. Breakfast was included in our package and there was a wide range of choices. We also had drinks at the rooftop bar which was a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. The location of this hotel is perfect. We arranged our airport transfers through the hotel and this worked seamlessly. We would highly recommend the Rex.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, we had the Rex Suite and it was very large, beds were comfy and it was a really nice room. Used both the pool and gym which were great. Staff were also really friendly and helpful, the airline lost my bag and they helped me get it back the next day. Breakfast was included and was a large buffet with plenty of choice (cereal, bacon, toast, eggs, juice etc). Would definitely recommend if you're willing to spend a bit above average on a hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Rex is a majestic, old French Colonial Hotel. Although the rooms in the East Wing are a little outdated our Rex Suite was perfect and had plenty of space for our family of four.Walking the corridors of the nostalgic East Wing you could envisage U.S. senior commanders staying here in the late 60's and early 70's plotting their involvement in the war. The view of Ho Chi Minh's statue in the beautiful park in front of the stately People's Committee Building was spectacular , especially at night when it was all lit up. The included breakfasts were generous and comprehensive with a variety of Western and Vietnamese food. The two roof top pools a welcome escape from the heat and humidity. The gymnasium was very impressive with plenty of equipment to cater for all. The Rex's jewel in the crown was undoubtedly it's proximity to all the key sites in district one. Ben Thanh Market, The Fine Arts Museum, The Opera House, The People's Committee Building, The Museum of Ho Chi Minh City,The War Remnants Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral and The Reunification Palace are in walking distance and all worth a visit. An organised day trip to The Cu Chi Tunnels and a cruise of The Mekong Delta are a must. We used Buffalo Tours on each occasion and found them to be brilliant. A fascinating city and a superb hotel worthy of it's five star rating.

Room Tip: East Wing has a great view of city skyline and key sites .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thornbury_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is an old French built hotel that is slap bang in the epicenter of HCM city, it was very very ordinary before they spent millions on it renovating it up to its present standard, as hotels go it is in the lower standard of room, there are much better rooms available for similar money, but it is in the swimming pool area that it completely lets itself down. there is two next to one-another and they are both out of another era, in short they are terrible.When you arrive the public area's and reception look very promising, but when they show you to your room it becomes very clear that it is an old hotel tarted up. There is a famous roof top bar which was where all of the war correspondents met for a drink in the evening during the Vietnam war which was quite famous it is also where you can breakfast in the morning, I liked this area although I asked the management to separate the large area into smoking and non smoking, I kept pestering them so just to keep me quiet they eventually did and guess what almost all of the non Vietnamese moved into the non smoking area and I had lots of people come to thank me for arranging it, whether they have kept it up after we left is another thing

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms advertised are terrible little prison cells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekCC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
295 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at the Rex Hotel in Saigon, Vietnam for four nights recently.

It is a nice hotel in a great location, with very good sized rooms.

The room a Deluxe room had a very comfortable bed and good sized bathrooms.

The only problem I found was that you hear the neighbours really clearly through the connecting doors. At one point I had to get the front office manager to come and tale to the people next door.

The breakfast was very good,

The staff at the hotel were very friendly.

The hotel has a small pool and a very good gym on the 5th Floor. So bring your runners, hehehehe.

Well done.

Would I recommend it, YES.

I am going back after my trip to Nha Trang.

Room Tip: Not sure what you can do to stop the noise of the people next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing