We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #48 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited this hotel last year on November,2013
room is quite big, bathroom door was broke but right after that they fixed that and sent me apologize letter with some chocolates.
Near with night market, just around 10 minutes walk and located right at the centre of Ho Chi Minh City.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kartika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    862
    314
    110
    71
See reviews for
376
819
175
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just wow!
This is just pure luxury!
From the moment we parked outside we got the luxurious feeling. You can see that this is a high-class area of Saigon. The ground floors of The Rex and The Continental across the road have all the fancy shops; Cartier, Gucci, Prada etc.
And the standard inside the hotel is no less. The reception-area is so spacious and delicately decorated. Just behind the reception is the breakfast-restaurant. And what a breakfast! That is possibly the biggest buffet I have ever seen. And the food is delicious.

And the room... Again, just wow! So big and spacious. It's got a lounge area with minibar and coffee-facilities, two huge beds wich were so comfy to sleep in, the bathroom was light and delicate, and the room had a small balcony .

Also the hotel has two swimming-pools, gym, spa and several restaurants and bars.
We had dinner one night at the rooftop restaurant. The food was wery good, the staff was so nice and even the live music (a 3 person band from the Philipines) was great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Saigon! Can't find anything wrong with this hotel. Just pure luxury!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was real disappointment when upon arrival I learnt that I should pay for the second person in room (my wife) - it's the first hotel with such inadequate manner even that they pretended to be 5 star hotel! Another thing that got me crazy - each time having breakfast if the time is 9:45 the staff tell that in 15 minutes we are closing - what I should do if I'm still having my meal - just stand and run?? ))) Very impolite and not presentable for 5 star. Overall of course it's not 5 star - it's 3,5 star - max 4 star hotel with small rooms and somehow overall poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Павел М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Service is excellent, the room is spacious, however I feel that the room's layout is odd. The window is small and the room doesnt have a view, it feels dark, i felt claustrophobic. I booked a premier room. The hot and cold water at shower was difficult to mix. Its working one time then becomes very hot. Breakfast spread though is very good. Location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's our 2nd time staying in Rex. The staff are always very service oriented and warm. We love the location and the shopping arcade at their lobby. There's a Starbucks just beside the hotel and all the shopping malls are just a stone throw away.

The wifi connection is also very stable and well-connected throughout the premises.
Choices for breakfast is wide and provides many varieties from local to western choices.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyOh-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the Rex Suite and stayed here on 2 separate occasions (July and August) during our visit in Vietnam. Loved its location, close to restaurants, markets, sights. The service we received was fantastic. The breakfast buffet had everything you could want for breakfast.
A special thank you to Tony, sales manger at Rex who really looked after us. I will definitely only stay at the Rex and recommend to family and friends when visiting Ho Chi Minh (Saigon).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyboy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really wanted, and expected to like the Rex. The history, the reviews; what's not to like? and to a large degree I still am asking myself "why didn't I like it more?". Everything was very nice: service, food, location, were all very nice, but something just did not click. For the investment, I think there are better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huynh912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing