We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, 5 star service and classy but relatively cheaper than its neighbors”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #48 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, 5 star service and classy but relatively cheaper than its neighbors”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Rex suite overlooking the main street.
My flight got very delayed before I stayed here and I was really contemplating on spending a night earlier.
After staying at a relatively cheaper hotel near Ben Than Market, I called up their reservations office if I can check in early at 12PM. I was surprised because they had no hesitations nor I had a very long conversation. They just checked for the availability of the room and after a few minutes, early check-in was confirmed.

Rooms - Rex suite was by far the best I've stayed considering the not so expensive price
- Very spacious suite with a small balcony facing the main street
- Bigger than the usual sala
- Big, comfortable, soft bed with a complimentary extra pillow choice
- Bathroom with bathtub
- Safe, big cabinet, slippers, bathrobes
- Complimentary Shoe shine service
- Welcome Fruit Platter
- Flat screen TV
- Strong WIFI
- Quiet though there is construction on going
Breakfast buffet - Excellent
- Western and Vietnamese food
- Service was perfect
Lobby/Activities Concierge - Excellent
- Last minute booking for a USD$30 Golden Dragon Water Puppet Show
I was told I will be having a back seat, but I was surprised to have the front seat
Original price is $7.00 but for the front seats and chauffeur (Mercedes Benz) its a
superb deal
- I would like to commend Ms. V and Mr. Try for taking care of me
Pool - Clean but with some chipped tiles
Area over the sun-loungers can be improved
Rex-Rooftop Bar - Vietnamese Food was Superb
- Service was very good
- Nice place to hang-out over dinner
The hotel is walking distance to the Saigon Opera House (AO show), at the backyard of the City Hall, a few minutes walk to the Notre Dame Cathedral, Post Office, Reunification Center and a Mall.
The hotel also has boutique shops of Cartier, Tumi etc but I find it more expensive than the shops in Singapore.
I am proud to say that this is my home in Saigon/HCMC!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ho Chi Minh Square and the main road are currently with construction works on-going (Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    862
    314
    110
    71
See reviews for
376
819
175
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We enjoyed our brief stay at the Rex. Located right in the Centre, walking distance to the main shopping areas and surrounded by the non-stop buzz of mopeds, the hotel, although faded in some parts (there is a brand new wing and a much older, but more atmospheric wing) offered comfortable, large rooms. The highlight was drinks in the historic roof bar overlooking the (slightly manic) square below. We also enjoyed an excellent meal and the dance show accompanying it in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandJane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great spot central location walking distance to a lot of attractions. We had a large room withe the executive lounge option which was lovely. Our room overlooked Ho Chi Minh square. There was a lovely girl in the executive lounge Djoung doing the evening cocktail drinks who was delightful n helpful with advice when asked. Good gym 2 pools with a large open bar on the roof for the general public with light entertainment

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The rex is a typical 5* hotel. On arrival we were upgraded free of charge to an executive suite. This consisted of a bedroom, lounge x2 bathrooms and had two televisions. We ordered room service which was great as we arrived late and enjoyed the luxurious amenities that the Rex had to offer. The breakfast was excellent, when chefs making hot food on the spot for you. The location is also excellent, we were within walking distance of everything. Overall, if you are looking for a special stay in Vietnam, the Rex will tick all the boxes for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaReidUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited this hotel last year on November,2013
room is quite big, bathroom door was broke but right after that they fixed that and sent me apologize letter with some chocolates.
Near with night market, just around 10 minutes walk and located right at the centre of Ho Chi Minh City.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kartika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just wow!
This is just pure luxury!
From the moment we parked outside we got the luxurious feeling. You can see that this is a high-class area of Saigon. The ground floors of The Rex and The Continental across the road have all the fancy shops; Cartier, Gucci, Prada etc.
And the standard inside the hotel is no less. The reception-area is so spacious and delicately decorated. Just behind the reception is the breakfast-restaurant. And what a breakfast! That is possibly the biggest buffet I have ever seen. And the food is delicious.

And the room... Again, just wow! So big and spacious. It's got a lounge area with minibar and coffee-facilities, two huge beds wich were so comfy to sleep in, the bathroom was light and delicate, and the room had a small balcony .

Also the hotel has two swimming-pools, gym, spa and several restaurants and bars.
We had dinner one night at the rooftop restaurant. The food was wery good, the staff was so nice and even the live music (a 3 person band from the Philipines) was great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Saigon! Can't find anything wrong with this hotel. Just pure luxury!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was real disappointment when upon arrival I learnt that I should pay for the second person in room (my wife) - it's the first hotel with such inadequate manner even that they pretended to be 5 star hotel! Another thing that got me crazy - each time having breakfast if the time is 9:45 the staff tell that in 15 minutes we are closing - what I should do if I'm still having my meal - just stand and run?? ))) Very impolite and not presentable for 5 star. Overall of course it's not 5 star - it's 3,5 star - max 4 star hotel with small rooms and somehow overall poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Павел М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing