We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh sooooo noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel Saigon
Ranked #157 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh sooooo noisy”
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Unbeatable location but only worth staying in if you're a very heavy sleeper. The constant BOOM-BOOM-BOOM from the Karaoke was torture and I was on a floor far away from it. Nice to have a balcony, wonderful breakfast etc but I just can't stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Karaoke noise
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyouws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    261
    149
    74
    58
See reviews for
82
187
66
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

What everyone else states about this hotel is true. It is so loud you can hear the dico vibrating on the top floors until 3-4 a.m. The hotel is a favourite with travel agents. I would not pay a dime to stay here. Too bad as the location is good.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Ballarat
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We stayed at The Palace Hotel. The location is quite good being near The Rex Hotel and close to the river. Many restaurants and markets are close by. An ATM and Exchange Bureau are located across the road. We felt quite safe in the neighbourhood.

The hotel itself, well.....There is a restuarant located downstairs for lunch and ddinner and a couple of restuarnats inside to choose from The breakfast was really great and they go out of their way to make things to order for you. breakfast is included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The main issue with this place is the nightclub. We were 6 floors up from it and the noise vibrates and resonates throughout the whole building. We complained about it after a sleepless night and the moved is 12 floors away from the nightclub. It made no difference, the noise was still terrible.

If this is going to bother you I would say do not stay here.

On the plus side the doormen were very nice and attentive and taxis are right outside the door. Tours can be booked inside the front of the hotel.

I had an accident in the street and fell and hurt myself. We stumbled back into the hotel and the Manager saw I was hurt and offered to take me to the local Medical Centre himself. The Medical Centre is not too far away from this hotel as well.

So great service on one hand, great breakfast but terribly noisy nightclub.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast and service.
  • Disliked — The noise of the retched nightclub!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetadventureguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Position in city great. Breakfast buffet excellent....... BUT...... noise from nightclub on second floor almost unbearable. First night in 3rd floor room. Felt pillow vibrating !! Moved to seventh floor, still heard the bass reverberating through the walls but could manage to sleep. On checking out after 5 days was asked at reception about my stay. Said was very happy with everything except the nightclub noise. One receptionist covered her face with both hands and the other hung her head and put one hand on her forehead. Apparently EVERYONE says the same thing.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Position
  • Disliked — Noise from nightclub
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ozscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

Great position, friendly staff, ok rooms, very nice breakfast, lovely roof top pool and bar area. The only real problem was the Night Club, the Doof Doof can be heard right through the building. I was so tired I slept right through it but others in my group had trouble sleeping.

  • Liked — position
  • Disliked — Night club noise
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BendigoGlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

This hotel location is good, but I advise you to stay away from this hotel. The reasons are:

1. At night, they have night club right on the first floor, and I stayed in 4th floor and the music is too loud all night long. You won't be able to sleep at all. This is the worst of my trip

2. Thinking about exchange some currency at the hotel? Think again. I wanted to exchange $100 with only 1 little dot of ink on the bill, they did not want to exchange for me. So I went outside to antoher bank and exchanged it, no problem. So make sure all your USD bills brand new or they won't exchange for you. This is sick.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service is terrible and loud music
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bizroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langenberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

This is not a hotel - this is a disco with rooms attached to it!

Many members of the group we travelled with complained about the disco noise ( 9 p.m. to 2 a.m., heavy metal music) in their rooms on floors 3 and 4, and asked for rooms higher up in the building. The management was more than reluctant to upgrade!
After a very hard discussion ( staff not always really polite!) I was finally given a suite on floor eleven - very pleasant rooms - but even there the noise from the disco was still very disturbing!

Unfortunately we had to come back to this place two days later and found the same situation again: rooms on floor 3 and 4 for many of our group members - although we had given the management a warning that we would not accept this again!

The general attitude of the management is a disgrace! I wonder how they can run this hotel at all! Nobody will ever dream of coming back to this place where sleep is not possible.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank UlrikePanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#98 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#174 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#60 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#48 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Property: Palace Hotel Saigon
Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing