We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Hotel Saigon
Ranked #156 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Aussie in S'pore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Central, clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

Went to the Palace hotel over the last weekend. I initially booked a suite room here as they looked quite roomy. However after reading some of the previous reviews and worried about the state of the room, I ugraded to the next room category up which is the signature, I stayed in the deluxe which had a balcony which was quite cool looking over the city. though the signature superior might have been a better option with a shower.
The room was fine, nothing special, it had been renovated simply and functioned ok. There is free wifi in the rooms which was great especially when trying to look for places or addresses in HCM. The beds were not extremely comfy, but overall the room was ok for the price (though it could have been a lot cheaper). Check in was easy, and there is a tour desk downstairs, though be careful, some of their info on restraunts and clubs is a little outdated. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor in the old wing, and is brilliant. The pho with chicken there beats the fast food pho's around town.
The hotel location is very very central, it's around the corner from the Sheraton, Caravelle, Rex and is central to the shopping district. It's also safe to walk around this area any time of the day, and the sights are interesting. Apparently this is one of the first hotels in the city with the above mentioned. And there used to be an infamous nightclub in the hotel which is no more.
There is a restraunt in the building, but we ate out for lunch and dinner. There is a lovely little quaint french cafe that serves good food called La Fourchette located around the corner at 9 Ngo Duc Ke which serves pretty good french food at a decent price. Do note sometimes it's cheaper to pay in USD which is also listed in the bill.
For nightlife, try the top of the caravelle which is bustling with atmosphere as you drink your cocktail of your choice, whilst being entertained by the latino band with sensuous dancers (seriously) and salsa dancers. For the ones that want more noise try "Seven Saloon" or "Apocalypse Now" which are your typical disco's or try Allez Boo in the backpacker district for a more relaxed atmosphere (still overpriced).
Ok, I'll stop there... but you can't go wrong with this hotel if you want a good 3 star location and decent service and safety. But stick with the superior rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lost_in_Civilisation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    253
    146
    73
    57
See reviews for
81
185
65
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

stayed overnight just to see if it has improved. was not disappointed. attentive staff, nice clean rooms. however, there is no gym so if you are looking for a hotel with a good one, you may be disappointed. otherwise, it's a good value for money, well located so you are near where good shopping and restaurants can be found within walking distance.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vavski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

I went here on two separate occasions within the space of five days - it was booked by my tour guide for both times. I was booked in for a suite.

On the first occasion, I got a "Superior" room ($5/night more expensive than the old suite) - apparently it was recently refurbished, but it's a small room, and shower only, no bath. The room stunk of something stale and whiffs of sewage occasionally can be smelt in the corridor. There was no view, just walls and windows all around. The decor is ok. Free wifi is available in the room but give it a good 10-15minutes to get a valid IP address - the signal's ok, but the network seems to be very busy and download speeds are slow.

On the second occasion, I was in the suite as originally booked. This time the room was much aged and is in dire need of a revamp. It was also very very sparsely furnished for such a large room. Again, the room smelt very very stale and also seem to be a strong whiff of something that has not dried out. I asked for an "upgrade" from my suite to a smaller "Superior" room but the reception said the hotel was full up (this was in the low season, mid-week, so that was hard to believe. There's no wifi signal in the "old" side, and no network ports in the room.

Both rooms were very noisy - the Superior room had a huge gap under the entry door letting in light and noise (and of course the unexplained funny smells). The suite, I had was on floor 4 on the "old side" and directly under floor 5 restuarant. The noise of footsteps and scraping chairs was relentless. Avoid floor 4, old side if you must stay at this hotel.

Out of the two room types, go for the newer ones, even if it means downgrading size for the same price.

Some receptionists give very short shrift with people, treating them like cattle while others are more humane.

The good things - food, especially buffet breakfast ranging from the usual breakfast stuff to full meals that you'd see in the evenings. The rooftop bar is also very good, bar staff can be a bit slow, but they are much more friendly and approachable. I found the bar to be empty most of the time. Drink/food prices are reasonable for Vietnam - between 69,000 and 99,000 dongs for a good meal at the rooftop bar.

The bad: smells, noise, the old rooms, reception staff (most of them).

If you can, stay somewhere else. I know I won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Food and rooftop bar.
  • Disliked — Smelly rooms.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KyleSterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

stirling
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

This hotel looked nice enough but seemed to have few 'aroma' issues. Reception smelt awful - almost like mix of sewage and mothballs and our room absolutely stank of that nasty 'wet dry wet dry cheap shower curtain' smell - nothing we did got rid of it. Added to that, the room we were in had apparently been recently refurbished but it was SO depressing. Furniture was sparse at best and would put even the most travel lodge to shame. Having said that, it was clean (apart from the shower curtain).

Also might be worth mentioning that if you have mobility issues there is a huge step down out of the shower/bath. We are both physically fit and still found it a bit of a challenge.

On the plus side, breakfast was one of the best we had, the rooftop bar has great views and the location is good.

I guess it depends what you're looking for. We don't tend to spend much time in hotel rooms but for the small amount we did spend here, I really wish we'd stayed elsewhere.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed at the Palace Hotel in Rooms 909 and 1009 (2couples) and couldn't fault it. It was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and a good size. We enjoyed the rooftop pool and bar where we had a view over the city. The location is great - close to Ben Thanh market and the Lucky Plaza/Russian Market is just a few doors away. Breakfast was fine, lots of variety, but we ate other meals in restaurants close by. We would recommend it and not hesitate to go back there.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The business centre was being renovated so there was no public internet access - WIFI available in rooms.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

I stayed at the Palace Hotel during the first two weeks of February, 2008. It was during the TET holidays. My friend and I had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly, especially Ms Phuong, the Front Office Manager. She was very professional, and could speak fluent English, which was great because we couldn’t speak any Vietnamese. We celebrated the New Years with an eight course dinner at their restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. It was a great place to watch the fireworks. We could see everything. We also ate breakfast every day at their restaurant on the fifth floor. The breakfast is complimentary and includes a variety of foods, including omelets. Granted, it is not a four or five star hotel, but if you are looking for a nice clean place to call home for a couple of weeks and enjoy downtown Ho Chi Minh City without spending an arm or a leg, I suggest you give it a try.

  • Liked — location, within walking distance to big Market and shops.
  • Disliked — for the price, I liked everything. I have no complaints!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EBTRIPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon - Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

I had a group of pax staying in Palace Saigon Hotel, then I rang 3 of them in three different rooms but the third time of my calling the receptionist named Ms. Phuong - a Northern dielect voice reply me: " Why do you call so much? You really annoy me!" I can not believe a four star hotel receptionist could treat their clients like that. They should take off 2 stars to be a 2 star hotel. What an awful hotel!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kevintangsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#97 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#186 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#58 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#116 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northern Hotel Saigon
Northern Hotel Saigon
#101 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Property: Palace Hotel Saigon
Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing