We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a little extra - very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
Ranked #22 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a little extra - very good staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in an executive suite for 3 nights. Was a little pricey but if you want some nice extras choose the executive rooms. They are on the higher floors & there is access to their lounge where complimentary coffee & drinks, including afternoon snacks etc are available. Also you are further away from the busy street noise. We started off in the river view room but found night club noise very disturbing. The management quickly moved us to a room on the city side where it was quiet. Personally I would choose the city rooms as they are cheaper & the river view is not impressive. Also they are away from the busy road below. Breakfast was excellent & there are free shuttles to some sites. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floors 14 - 17 & city view if you want quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherieRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is delightful that you enjoyed your 3-night stay in our Executive Suite with all benefits at the Executive Lounge as this is certainly an area of pride for us. We are also proud of our location, products and services, and it was really our pleasure to provide you a little oasis from all the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City.

Regarding the loud music from the newly-opened bar next door, rest assured that necessary actions have been taken to avoid any unsatisfactory experiences for our valued guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    411
    73
    20
    8
See reviews for
216
481
88
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Firstly, the positives. Breakfast good, executive lounge good and staff there very polite and helpful
Pool good and empty, why- it's really a business hotel.
Reception staff indifferent
Paid extra for the river view which was a total waste as the view is shocking and even better you get to hear the disco blaring all night. Had to move at 1am to get some sleep. Also check out the beds. One we tried was like a plank!
City view not great but at least quiet
HCM city, lots of security on the streets which says it all. Ok for a visit but no more than a day or 2

Room Tip: Avoid river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate that you found your stay comfortable with good breakfast, good Executive Lounge, good pool as well as polite and helpful staff as we continuously strive to improve our products and services.

We really regret that we have disappointed valued guests such as yourself on the issue of the beds’ hardness and reception staff 's indifference. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been reviewed by the team and we will do our utmost for improvement.

We would also like to sincerely apologize for the loud music from the newly-opened bar next door. We assure you that necessary actions have been taken to rectify the unsatisfactory experiences for our valued guests like you.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Meanwhile, should you require any information or assistance of any kind, please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having lived in Japan, I was excited to book into the Lotte Legend for my last night in Saigon. This was one of three hotels I stayed in in the city.

There is a certain quality to many hotels in Vietnam – grand entrances with shiny ornate furniture and crystal chandeliers and small rooms, many with no windows – which gives these places a certain ‘faux’ feel. None of that here. This is a large, world-class hotel, delivering quality with confidence.

It is understated in many ways. It knows it has the best breakfast in town, with a made-to-order juice station, and not just pho, omelette and pancake station, but also the Japanese options: not just onigiri but choice of fish cooked to order! with rice, miso soup, etc, the usual assortment of dinner foods. The choice of fresh fruit is spectacular, and they go all out. There is homemade yoghurt, delicious homemade jam in 5 or 6 flavours, choice of white and brown breads, attentive service taking away used plates. I wish I could spend all day eating breakfast here! Too bad it closes at ten.

I had a river-view room. Not sure it is worth the price premium but the river is alive with a moody scape of industrial cargo boats and floating foliage, which to me was somehow very evocative of Saigon. I was on a non-smoking floor (so nice). The furniture is conservative and possibly a little tired. The bedding is superb – choice of pillows and delicious whiter-than-white sheets. There were two types of robes to choose from and 2 water bottles per person and real Japanese green teabags. The toilet seat was heated (Tokyo memories). There were thoughtful extras – a little stool in the bathroom, a scale.

This hotel is just pure quality. The pool looked very inviting (it rained before I could try it out). It is among the bigger hotel pools in the city. For children, they had the big plastic ball walking on the pool activity, in addition to a dedicated children’s club. The gym overlooks the pool and looked well-equipped – as with the breakfast, locals actually pay to come here just for these facilities. The Japanese restaurant is reputed to be among the best – I was sadly too full to try it out for lunch. There is a free shuttle bus (must book) to drop you off at the main attractions. The hotel has its own driveway with its own taxi rank (reliable Vinasun). It is just a notch above the rest of the modern hotels in town.

Speaking of understated luxury – I was the only person on the shuttle I booked so got a luxury Mercedes limousine with a chauffeur, who pointed out the sights along the way!

Turning to things that could be improved: price! It is pricey by local standards. Also, the booking system linked to on Tripadvisor did not seem to work.

Service: overall this feels truly luxurious. There are staff employed just to bow and say hello when you go through the door. However, when I arrived shortly after midnight, it was a different story. There was no one to assist me with luggage out of the cab, and I received limited info at check in (e.g. no mention of free shuttle to main sights). Small points: toiletries could be more luxurious, the maps in the hotel directory are very confusing, switching orientation between pages in order to make the hotel location appear more central (rethink!), access to the pool is mainly through a small glass door in the restaurant – that’s a bit awkward as pooltimes/attire are informal and the restaurant area is more formal. And it would be nice to have free airport transfers.

Overall, certainly recommending this hotel – a real highlight for me. It is a comfortable walking distance to sights while being a little out of the way. And there are two must-visit places nearly adjacent to the hotel: 1) the vegetarian restaurant, Hum, just around the corner – an absolute favourite with heavenly food and great atmosphere and 2) a newish totally non-touristy independent design shopping destination (google Sadec) with little boutiques, a café, an interiors store – trendy for young locals and would not be out of place in any European city. Just turn left when exiting the hotel, and take the first left into a cul-de-sac.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Lotte Legend Hotel for your last night in Saigon and taking the time to write such a detailed review.

We are delighted that you found us a large, world-class hotel, delivering quality with the best breakfast in town, and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding no assistance with your luggage out of the cab late at night. Please rest assured that this is definitely not up to our standards. We assure you that this experience will not be repeated for future guests.

We are also very grateful for all of your constructive comments pertaining to price, furniture, toiletries, maps and booking system link, which have been reviewed by our team and necessary actions have been taken accordingly.

We apologize, once again, for all unsatisfactory facets of your stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to show you our improvement on your next visit. Meanwhile, if there is any way we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose this hotel based mainly on the amazing pool and we weren't disappointed, it's lovely and gets a lot of sun unlike other city hotel pools.
The rest of the stay however was pretty average, we booked a city view room as it was cheaper however we were kindly given a riverside room (I presume it's because we said we were on our honeymoon), however there is a bar/club on this side of the street and it's SO loud, we had to wear earplugs due to the doof doofing of the bass and this went on until at least 4am, when we informed them of this the next day it seemed like they'd had this complaint before so it would've been nice to have been warned when we were given the room. After this they gave us a city view room much higher up and that was fine.
The room decor is okay but a bit dated, we stayed in the majestic previously which has much nicer rooms for the same (if not cheaper) price.
So unless you're really passionate about having an amazing pool then I'd go for one of the other fancy hotels in the area.
We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper either book a city-view room or a very high up riverside room due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

We are glad that you made use of the hotel's facilities and enjoyed our swimming pool, which is regarded to be Saigon’s largest hotel pool.

However, we really regret that we fell below your expectations in other areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for the loud music from the newly-opened bar next door. Rest assured that the issue you have raised has been documented and necessary actions have been taken to rectify the unsatisfactory experiences for our valued guests like you.

While we understand that your stay was not unsatisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Should you require any information or assistance of any kind, please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've been staying here many times and one of the reason I coming back here is the attention I have from the staffs at the club lounge, they recognized your need , friendly, giving personal touch in every service provided. I have good experienced with Mr.Andy, Ms.Sang and others. For other facilities, as a business traveler, I don't have much experience with but from the look in some area need renovation and refurbishment such as swimming pool, dinning area and the room's carpet.

Room Tip: Reserve the room in advance thru Internet and see for some promotion and credit card discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pracha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review as a loyal return guest.

We are so happy to know that you have been coming back partly because of the attention from our associates at Executive Lounge. There is no greater feeling than receiving such a feedback. Mr.Andy, Ms.Sang and others over here will be very proud to hear of your praises, as are we.

Regarding your comment that some areas at our hotel need renovation and refurbishment, we are delighted to share with you that fresh renovations have been recently completed at our corridors, Fitness Club and Function Rooms. Next phase of our renovation plan is coming soon at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon to make your stay with us better than ever.

We look forward to your next stay with us. If there is any way we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Good food, variety and taste in the breakfast buffet, convenient location is in district 1 just 10 - 15 mins walk from must visit places like Ben Thanh market, Notre Dame Cathedral, Pasteur street, etc, best in class service, complimentary fruit available when you get out of the elevator on your floor, this is in addition to the fruit basket in the room, real large King size bed, good river view, huge lobby, clean and spacious bathroom

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gk668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate that you found our location convenient, food, variety and taste of breakfast buffet good, lobby huge, bed large, river view nice, bathroom clean and spacious, and service the best in our class. We are always grateful for feedback that we receive to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can offer to our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were looking forward to our first time in Saigon. We flew to celebrate the 50th birthday of my husband. Our stay in this hotel destroyed it. First, they charged higher for the river view so we assumed it was nice. It was a big disappointment, there was nothing scenic about it. It was a muddy empty dirty river that was an eyesore. Next, our bath was leaking, water poured into the floor no matter how you position the shower. The sink faucet was also leaking. The aircon during our first night was warm, we didnt get a good night sleep. So we requested for a room transfer. Inspite of the bad experience, the hotel didnt make any effort to upgrade us. Next, I was trying to arrange for a special little token like a cupcake with a candle to surprise my husband on his birthday. We had trouble understanding each other and it took so much effort discussing it with them that i decided to trash it altogether. This hotel which claims to be 5 star , don't even have personnel who can speak and understand English well in their coffee/pastry shop. I have been standing for hours, so tired arranging for it that i just gave up!

As of writing, i am still here miserable. As much as i want to transfer, i know. Booking.com wont return my money so. I might as well stick it out. This hotel ruined a vacation we were looking forward to. The room itself was so blank , plain, old and undecorated. I was willing to pay, hoping it delivered on its promises on the internet. I should have booked Rex, Majestic or Norfolk. What a shame. And please, it isn't near the city centre as it claims. It is surrounded by bars and spas more than shopping, contrary to claims.

Worst still, hardly any effort was done from their end to compensate for the bad stay. We had to demand it and make noise about it. Huge disappointment!

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annabanana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte-Legend-Hotel, Marketing Communications Manager at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your husband’s 50th birthday celebration. Best wishes from all of us at Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon!

However, we really regret that we fell below your expectations regarding our location, river view, room interior, air conditioner, bath, sink faucet and staff’s communication skill, which do not reflect the quality that our valued guests like you expect from our hotel. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Please rest assured that your feedback has been reviewed by the team and we will do our utmost to improve our facilities and services to provide the best guest experience possible.

While we understand that your stay was unsatisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Meanwhile, should you require any information or assistance of any kind, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#21 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,593 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#15 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Property: Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting the scenic Saigon River and only 3-5 minute walk to famous Opera House, Dong Khoi Street and Le Thanh Ton Street for shopping, dining and entertainment, Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, the most beloved 5-star hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, combines natural beauty and sheer opulence to provide the best for the discerning traveler. The breathtaking resort-setting and its distinctive architectural interior gives a feeling of luxury and tranquility. A legendary hotel inherits good and ancient Vietnam with garden falls, pond and fountain. The top pattern of the bronze drum, symbol of the sun, from ancient times, frames the entrance of guest rooms. The twelve horary signs in the atrium, the lobby surrounded by colonnades and the giant horse sculptures all of which induce you to meander in the space of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing