We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Ranked #101 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A nice hotel spoilt by some bad business practises. We asked for a late check out to make our evening flight but were told that the hotel was full and no rooms available. When i asked if we could pay for an evening check out we were promptly told no problem and amazingly our same room was now available?? When we asked about that we were laughed off like they could not understand, despite speaking great English a few seconds earlier. Poor front reception staff and overall an okay hotel in a goodf location but next time i'll give my money elsewhere

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allanrocks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our apologies for any the inconveniences you have experienced during your recent visit at our Royal Hotel Saigon with our services.

Due to the Hotel Policy, in some cases when the hotel is not full, the staff can resolve the latest check out is at 14:00 without charging . After this time, the hotel will have to inform guest late check out charge which is half-day (until 18:00) or full day (after 18:00).

We are sorry that the room you check out did not reach your expectation. Our Manager was aware you of comment.

Our success is measured by our guests having a pleasant stay. We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can work to maintain high standard.

I again apologized for any problem and disappointment you encountered.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked one double room and one family room. We had a major time-wasting dispute at check-in when we were requested to pay extra for a single bed in the family room. Our booking clearly stated, in writing, that the room had a double bed and a single bed and it was appropriately more expensive than the standard double room. The hotel's view was that the family room was big enough for an extra bed but if you wanted one you had to pay extra. We asked for duty manager but she was not on duty. Eventually we got to the room but it was a great disappointment. Old and tired the room (not us) on the 4th floor looked on to a solid blank wall 2 meters away. The bathroom was from the soviet era and a brown sludge was left after showering. We stayed a night, cancelled the remain two nights and moved to the excellent Novotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkmorganfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for your comments. We always appreciate our viewers' feedback.
We apologize for the inconvenience, disappointment created by our hotel facilities.
About your booking through Asiaroom.com: there is clearly a double room and single room. If the child is under 12 years old share one room with their parents, hotel do not charge.
But because his son was 13 years old and the hotel also accepted “NO CHARGE” if you do not collect more extra bed.
We were forced to inform you about the price of extra bed when you had the requirement.
And you were not satisfied and then hotel also provided one extra bed without charging any fees.
We greatly appreciate all of your instruction and comments on our services.
Sincerely yours,
On behalf of the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Another late review. The Royal Hotel Saigon is a four star hotel located along Nguyen Hue Avenue where you find most of the finest hotels, shopping malls and attractions within the area. I booked a De-Luxe family room for myself and three family members. The lady at the reception area was very cold and did not know the importance of giving a warm welcome to arriving guests. I wonder if she is just trying to be more businesslike but a believe a little smile can make a lot of difference.

The de-Luxe room was spacious and beautifully designed. Even the furniture were classy, mostly teak wood and varnished. The wooden floor matches with the furnishing. The beds were big enough and comfortable. The minibar is well stocked.

Buffet breakfast was a big treat. Plenty of food and drinks available at the buffet table spread. The restaurant manager and staff were all warm and friendly. They are always ready to respond whenever you need anything. They never forget to wear a smile whenever approached by the guests.

There is an indoor pool where you can have a dip after a long day of sightseeing. There were enough equipment at the gym but we did not try using these due to time constraints.

A grand piano is parked at the lobby and my sister had fun playing some of her favorite piano pieces. The lobby has enough sofa seats where you can relax while waiting for ride or simply to pass time.

Over-all we had a pleasant experience at Royal Hotel Saigon.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with city view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear traveler,

Let me start by thanking you for sharing with everyone your experience during your recent stay at our Royal Hotel Saigon.

Thank you for the nice comment toward our property. We are happy that our shuttle service was convenient for you!

We are sorry about your disappointment regarding the service by the reception.

We hope to see you again,if we can be of assistance in the future, do not hesitate to contact us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Was here recently for a company retreat and it was my first time in Vietnam so wasn't expecting much. Was sharing a double room with 2 colleagues and the room was very spacious and big. The only drawback was the additional makeshift bed that I had to sleep on since it was 3 to a double room. It really wasn't too comfortable and kept shifting and threatening to fold up onto me when I was sleeping in it so had to be extra careful.

What I really liked about this place was the central location, just next to the Tax shopping mall where there's a supermarket for you to buy necessities and to pack back a few more boxes of Vietnamese coffee as souvenirs. Spas and food options surround the area so all you need is a short walk. Ben Tanh market was also only about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. There are also many street vendors selling the intricate pop up cards but do remember to bargain if you're buying.

Breakfast was nothing fantastic and ends by 9.30am, which I felt was a little too early, was hoping that it could at least end at 10am instead. Variety wasn't huge but still edible. Would return to stay at this hotel again if I go back to Ho Chi Minh someday due simply to location. The friendly staff at the reception and housekeeping were a plus too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear valued guest,

The Royal Hotel Saigon team wants to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at our property, your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am sorry to know that the time for breakfast buffet did not meet your expectation.

Once again, we really appreciate your good feedback; our success is measured by our guests having a pleasant stay.

Do not hesitate to call us for information, or for a future reservation.

Thank you and happy new year from our team

Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

4 stars due to locality & the Doormen. The latter are the friendliest and most helpful staff. Not all cabbies speak English so if you need a cab, let the Doormen know. Besides getting the fare-by- meter-run MPV Vinasun cabs, they'll tell you the approximate cab fare you'll need to pay lest dishonest drivers intentionally take a circuitous route. A 7-10mins' walk to Ben Thanh Market. Duty Free tax Department store's just next door but do check product expiry dates. Had stayed in a Deluxe Oriental room on the 5th level - a bit old-fashion but very clean & spacious. Beds were firm but large; good wifi connection & flush mechanism. Don't expect good views of the streets, hotel's not tall. Morning buffet spread-almost the same daily. Walls are thin & December's a mad month - firstly lots of weddings are held in the hotel during the weekends, you might hear karaoke singers. Secondly the hotel's external Xmas deco's popular with the locals, you'll need to 'barge' your way through at times. Hahaha.

Room Tip: 5th floor upwards. Doubt the lower floors have much daylight.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veldalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is in the best location. We found it central for us to go to museum, cathedral and Ben thanh markets also close to saigon square, saigon center and both the vincom centers, all walking distance. There is also a tax shopping center next door which was convenient. The Staff are very friendly and can all speak English quite we'll however it is definitely not luxury, the rooms could do with a refurbishment and always had a musky smell, lighting was very bad. Stay here if you want good location and value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Micksom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here last year and were not very impressed with the hotel but, mainly because of its location, we chose to stay here again over the last couple of weeks and give it another chance.

The hotel is located next to the Tax Department Store where anything can be bought for reasonable prices - wine, food, bread, clothes, coffee shop etc etc.

We chose a superior room [specified above 6th floor - we were on the 8th floor] to ensure that you get some outlook, last time we looked at a concrete wall. As a central city hotel, even if you are higher up the building you still only overlook the tops of other buildings.

I agree with some of the previous comments - yes, the beds are REALLY hard, but that seems to be pretty widespread within the country, the bathroom is small with a bath that is very slim for European-sized posteriors to sit and the bath and floor are extremely slippery. Last year, a friend travelling with us slipped and caused considerable damage to her jaw and this made us particularly careful when using the bath/shower. There is a smell of smoke that is very noticeable in the rooms.

We were booked for a double room and when we arrived the room was a twin. We were tired and couldn't be bothered changing to a double room but I wish we had. We stayed for a week and found the room quite small - when we returned to the hotel after travelling north, we insisted on a double room. We found the second room we stayed in to not only have a double [two huge singles together] and a single but to be two metres longer! Room to move - a reminder that if something isn't right when you arrive, say something straight away.

All in all, we found the staff friendly and helpful when they could be. Only disappointment was with the massage staff. My husband and I had a great massage, which was to be followed with a sauna, steam and swim. Because we would be wearing swimwear, we did not bring any money with us to the massage area. When my husband left the massage area to sign for the massages at the office, the two massage therapists followed me into the change room and demanded [yes, a strong word but that's how it was] "I give you good massage - you give me money!!" I felt both annoyed and a little intimidated and left without having the rest of the planned treatments. My husband did return with a "tip" for both of the staff members and they both apologised to him for their behaviour, but I'm afraid they had ruined a good experience. They spoilt it for themselves as well, as we had planned to have more massages, but not there!!!

Thank you to hotel management who supplied my husband and I both with birthday floral arrangements on the appropriate days. Most appreciated.

Room Tip: Try for a room above the 6th floor - it is good to have some outlook.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarryonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#157 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#53 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Prince Hotel
Saigon Prince Hotel
#66 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#122 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#54 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £39 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of the Ho Chi Minh City - Nguyen Hue Boulevard - The most modern pedestrian square of Vietnam. Royal Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4-star hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing