We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
Ranked #191 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights 4 days in Empress hotel. Hotel location is good. Walking distance to the main market and super market. Rooms are very clean. Local breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful and friendly . Would recommend if your looking for budget hotel ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivalingamsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    82
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
15
37
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very clean freshly renovated rooms.Hotel still undergoing some renovations with minimal disruptions to guests.Location perfectly suited with supermarket nearby,great coffee shop right next to it and not that far from central district 1 and all the major attractions.Staff are very friendly and helpful always smiling.Would choose this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mladen-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This property is freshly renovated (some minor renos still going on). The room wasn't very big but it was fresh and classy. The only thing we didn't like is that the window could not be opened to air the room out. The Saigon breakfast was tasty, better than the western. The staff was friendly and always smiling. Good location as it is only a five minute walk to the bars at "backpacker alley", a ten minute walk to the market, War Museum and 20 to the Opera House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Check in was a breeze. Located in room 505 I assume its one of the renovated rooms. Rooms are your average size. Queen been with flat screen tv in rooms. Walk in showers, bathroom over looks room, however you can pull down the blind for privacy... Only a couple of minutes walk to the night life... The service at this hotel is great. Would recommend if your looking for something cheap and cheerful... There is renovations going on at the hotel, however your out most of the day anyway and when you come back in the evening it's finished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I booked initially for 2 nights but stayed for 6 in the end. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the room, though a little on the small side, was very clean, very modern and the bathroom was fantastic. Location wise I found it to be ideally situated, not too noisy and away from the crowded backpackers area and only 20,000 max on a xe om. As mentioned there are renovation works going on, but I did not find they affected me too much as I was out and about most of the time and they seemed to try to put guests as far away from the work as possible.

The coffee shop next door is good and the staff there are exceptionally friendly too.

The only negatives were that the mini bar was understocked (a packet of crisps, a couple of soft drinks and one beer), and the breakfast was uninspiring. However at the price I have no complaints and will certainly consider staying here on my next visit in October.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend or to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Newly renovated rooms coupled with a relatively well accessible location. Food is good and service is great - commendation to the service staff, Van. Overall fantastic value! One down-side if any is the ongoing renovation works. This however is offset by the special rates that are presently in placed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalHostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I would like to see thank you very much @ Ruby river hotel,i really appreciate all the staff.i really feel the warm enthusiasm welcome,specially the guy who assist me when i arrived his name is [hung]-he is very polite and helpful..the hotel is pretty nice,clean and has a very Good WIFI connection..WONDERFUL.and its really convenient along the city.and no worries about the taxi is always Available.i consider this experience one of my unforgettable Journey!!! thank you for making me feel @home and safe!,'-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akram816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#114 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#106 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#174 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dinh Phat Hotel
Dinh Phat Hotel
#175 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#72 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#97 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Property: Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
Address: 136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing