We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Def not a 5 stars hotel but with a 5 stars hotel price!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #12 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Def not a 5 stars hotel but with a 5 stars hotel price!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

i heard so many things abt this hotel, but i stayed there in feb and it was a total disapointment .
from the outside this hotel looks so nice but inside the room is old and small, the bathrooom didnt inpress me at all, but i got to admit, the bed is comfortable. this is def not a 5 stars hotel but it is expensive though. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to my friends.

the location of this hotel is good, it is in district 1. but theres so many 5 stars hotel in this district , so do make your choice wisely.

the spa was just average, and the services through out the hotel was just average as well. this hotel has nothig to make me stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raindrops2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    810
    185
    39
    21
See reviews for
338
1,053
154
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

I've never had the pleasure of being able to give any hotel a perfect score but the Caravelle gets it for extraordinary effort and extraordinary attention to detail. Our three night stay in an eighth- floor Signature Suite in the old building overlooking the Opera House and the legendary Continental Hotel was faultless from beginning to end. How the staff of this place do it, I don't know. But you only get to reach this level with a huge commitment to excellence from the top management down to the most humble dish washer. We booked through the Caravelle's website, which seemed to offer better deals than Expedia and the usual websites, and chose the Signature floor to get the extra space and the extra service that comes with it. We also chose the airport limousine pick-up, which at $60 is expensive by Saigon standards but not ours and was well worth it. We emerged from customs right into the arms of a friendly Caravelle staffer, who whisked us into an immaculate Mercedes and handed us cold towels and drinks and provided a running commentary of the major sites we passed. Then straight up to our suite, where the checkin was done at our own dining table, along with more commentary about the room and the services available. The suite was faultless, practical, comfortable and with every possible luxury touch. But the best thing was the two balconies right over the most iconic view of old Saigon. These rooms were where many of the correspondents who covered the Vietnam war had their offices so the place reeks of history. The service at the Caravelle is in a class of its own and we just needed to walk up a flight of stairs right into the Signature lounge and the equally welcoming arms of staff able to cater to our every whim, whether it was restaurant bookings or finding a tailor capable of whipping up shirts in 48 hours ( they could and the shirts, at $40 each, are brilliant ). Access to the lounge also gets you a full breakfast with a faultless choice of fare, all day coffee and tea plus a full bar service ( brilliant, free-flowing French wine ) and canapes and snacks from 5.30 pm. This offering was so substantial that one could easily eat here and not go out at all but then you'd be missing out on the vast array of restaurant choices that Saigon offers, all booked for you by the gorgeous, smiling young women the Caravelle provides to smooth your way. The hotel restaurants are also worth trying, especially their signature restaurant on the third floor which, again, was faultless ( Try the Vietnamese tasting plate. Sensational ). We also had a brilliant evening at the Caravelle's rooftop bar, Saigon Saigon, where a foot tapping band of young Cuban musicians called Luna Negra plays every night and you can sit on the balcony looking in at the stage and out at the spectacular view. You should also try the Caravelle Spa, where we both had the most extraordinary massages for about $60, again higher than average prices for Saigon but at a completely different level of luxury and competence. One of the best things about the hotel, of course, is its location, overlooking the main square and right alongside tree-lined Dong Khoi or the old Rue Catinat in French colonial times. This means that some of Saigon's best shopping and eating is right outside and you also have easy access to some of the other landmark hotels dating back to the war years. We had drinks on the rooftop bar of the old Majestic down by the river ( great view, badly dated ) and the famous rooftop bar at the Rex ( ditto ) just to soak up the ambience. But as Dorothy said, there's no place like home and nothing beats the rooftop bar at the Caravelle. Don't miss it if you like perfect cocktails and Cuban swing, which you can dance to if you choose. Truly, we had such a ball at the Caravelle and Saigon generally, by far the better choice in our view of the traditional Asian stopover destinations like Singapore or Bangkok. Ho Chi Minh now has a spanking new international airport and we found Vietnam Airlines surprisingly good. So if you want somewhere to unwind between Europe and Australasia we can't recommend this place highly enough. When we piled into our Mercedes for the trip back to the airport, we wished we could have stayed longer at the Caravelle. But we left with fantastic memories and a determination to come again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talanoaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

After traveling several places in Vietnam my husband & I were ready for 5 star all the way! Everyone who was local suggested Caravelle. It was a nice hotel, the price was great during the new year, loved the rooftop bar, and breakfast buffet. The only thing that lacked was at the pool. Two days in a row we had issues with the pool staff. One day we asked them to move loungers, they did, then gave ours to an older couple. The next day we invited our vietnam family we were visiting to out hotel at 2pm to say goodbye. We bought drinks & food from the pool bar, yet they wanted to charge $15 per family member hanging by the pool, it was absurd!!! After a long arguement with front desk & pool staff they ony charged $30.00 for everyone. If it was not for the bad pool staff. I could honestly say the service was 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfikert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Although the Park Hyatt is more our style, we stayed at the Caravelle because we wanted to experience a piece of history. We spent three nights here in a Signature level room and absolutely loved it. We had a very positive experience and didn't have any of the issues mentioned in the other recent reviews.

COMMON AREAS: The hotel is beautiful and much more modern that I expected. The pool area look kind of small, but still nice. There was a pool bar. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The upper floors were only accessible by key card.

ROOMS: Our room was completely smoke-free (we requested this). Furniture and amenities were relatively modern and nice. Bed was super comfy. (Best sleep I had during our 15 nights in Vietnam.) You could hear a murmur of street noise and car horns from downstairs, but it was not overwhelming enough to wake us up. Free wifi worked well and the best part is that it was free! Like every other of our VN hotels, free bottled water was provided in the rooms.. A plate of fresh, uncut fruit was also delivered daily by housekeeping.

SIGNATURE LOUNGE/BREAKFAST: We had no issues with booking our Signature Level Room (went through a travel agent). We checked in at the desk in the Signature Lounge, so there was no wait. Any subsequent issues were also handled through that desk (i.e., money exchange, check out). Loved the Signature Lounge breakfast each morning. A combo of Western and VN food, but more of the former. The lounge was relatively small and not crowded. There are only about 20 tables in the whole place. (We walked past the main breakfast on the first floor and, while both the buffet and seating area looked much larger, it was packed.) And the best part was that there were never any kids there, so you enjoy a nice quiet breakfast while reading the paper and watching CNN on the lounge's TV. Appeared to be a lot of business travelers there, probably because the Signature Rooms also come with free use of conference rooms and a business center. These rooms start at about $100/night more than the regular rooms. Compared to other hotels in Saigon, the Caravelle is on the more expensive end of the range.

OTHER STUFF: The service at the hotel was stellar. We had opportunity to interact not only with the Signature Lounge staff, but also the front desk, bell staff, and concierge, who were all equally friendly and helpful. For example, I asked the front desk for a map and was offered unsolicited but welcomed safety advice. The rooftop bar is great and a must visit, given its history. The view is good. It was packed with people, many dancing to the live Latin band. Beware that the drinks are pricey, not only for Vietnam but by Western standards. I ordered a Coke that was $5 US. Didn't try the hotel's lobby restaurant or bar, but neither looked that exciting when we walked past them them.

Overall, we loved it. When we return to Saigon, we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meheartsthevacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Kudos to Caravelle Hotel. A hospitality experience you will always remember. A 5-star hotel with 10-star service. The WOW service with dedicated staff going an extra mile for their guests. All the staffs are the role models for Ho Chi Minh City – Great smiles! Guaranteed choice to have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in HCMC. The buffet line during breakfast and room service menu offers a variety of excellent food. The hotel is also dedicated to play a part to go green with its environmental policy. The room is clean and nicely decorated, minibar with coffee machine, bathroom with a range of Green Tea bath series. Nice big pool and full-fledged Gym facilities near to the spa.

My mum and I checked in to Caravelle for the first 3 days (9th – 12th Feb). Our itinerary was to to proceed to another district on the 12th Feb, we checked out but left our bags at the secured baggage room, as we tour around this area like Notre Dame Cathedral, before moving out of this district. While away, we met with a mishap being snatched by a couple on their motorcycle. Flustered and helpless, we hurried our way back to Caravelle. The staffs were observant and saw my mum limping and approached us to ask if we were okay. Immediately they settle us in a cosy corner to calm down, prepared 2 glasses of iced malt tea and notified their security officers. They assured us with sincerity that they will assist us in every way they can. The security officers see to every procedure we need, writing down the statements and bringing us to the police station and back to the hotel. On addition, the same lady security officer helps in the translation throughout and helps my mum. What really touched us were her caring actions and every staff in the lobby sincerely offered help like a family to us. They suggested us to call them if we need any assistance, even if we were not staying with them for the next few days. Examples like taking my mum to hospital or clinic, or we need advice for our self-plan destinations.

With the sincerity, assurance of our safety, and warmth from the helpful team, I decided to check in again for our last few days. My mum and I feel so at home – the staff members are like a family to us. The caring voices of checking with us if we are feeling better, and even offered to pack dinner for us (out-of-pocket), as they know we are afraid to step out in the evenings to try the local street foods due to the traumatic experience.
“We want to do everything we can to ensure the remaining days in HCMC is well taken care of!” the team members assured us of this every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Before booking we contacted the hotel to confirm what the best room would be for a family of four. We were informed that a Signature Premium Deluxe would be suitable. The booking quoted an occupancy of "2 adults 2 children". On arrival we were surprised to be informed that there was one double bed and that we were expected to share this with our children (aged 7 & 4)!! Fortunately after a prolonged period of "negotiation" the duty manager agreed to supply two extra beds cost free (initially they requested $60 per bed!). We also discovered that children are not permitted to enter the Signature Lounge, again something that we had not been informed of when booking.
This initial impression tainted the rest of our stay in what was an otherwise great hotel. The breakfasts were fantastic and the staff were exceptionally child friendly. The situation is very central with all the major tourist attractions in walking distance.
This hotel is ideal for the business traveller but if you're travelling with family, think twice. If you do decide to stay here, confirm how many beds will be in the room (occupancy and number of beds seems to be completely different at the Caravelle) and remember not to pay for all the advantages of "Signature" as you can't use them all with your family

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscoscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Great location, wonderful breakfast buffet, staff pleasant and accommodating, good English language skills, clean, nice room. Will stay here on our next visit to Ho Chi Minh City!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing