We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here as a family of 5 (mum, dad, 11yr old and twins of 6) with 2 adjoining rooms as requested. The check in was quick and easy with a lovely cold flannel to refresh the face. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff consistently helpful. The food in the rooftop bar was acceptably priced and delicious - bonus of good views. Restaurant Nineteen was where we had breakfast - a buffet that had everything and more. We ate there a couple of times in the evening too as it was a good way for the kids to sample all the new foods. We had 2 stays there with an intervening trip and the hotel had no problems looking after the majority of our luggage. At the end of the day this is a 5 star hotel with 5 star prices compared to the rest of Saigon but if you are after a bit of luxury I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. (They even iron your laundry, wrap the item around cardboard and put each item in a cellophane bag - hilariously over the top for us considering that we were 'travelling' and our clothes after a year looked more fit for the bin! All the bags and cardboard had to immediately go in the bin so everything would fit in our backpacks!)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    821
    190
    39
    22
See reviews for
348
1,074
156
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Attention to the details of every aspect of our stay made this a must do again experience. We spent a little extra staying in a signature room, but this paid for itself in so many aspects. From the lovely staff in the club to guest relations to concierge. Wow. Treat yourself to this amazing place. Drink a mohito on the roof bar. Have a massage in the spa, (forget the manicure and pedicure they were rubbish.). Listen to the piano in the martini room, whilst drinking a martini, of course. What more could gods little creatures ask.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked Caravelle Hotel in Ho Chi Minh and had an Executive Suite with access to the Executive Lounge. We were escorted to the room which is always a nice touch. The rooms were decorated in hues of beige. There was some nice fresh fruit on arrival also.The Executive Lounge is lovely and in the same style as the rooms and looked after by very warm and gentle staff. The breakfast spread was also excellent and have many options. The pool is nice but tends to be a bit shaded as it is in between towers. The location is right in the middle of all the places of interest and within walking distance of many shopping areas. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.We were so happy with the hotel especially the gym and spa facilities and the great rooftop bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millier_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Had a great time with family as everyone was joyous by the entertainment. I felt a good feeling in the hotel with many good extra things being supplied in the hotel. The staff at the Caravelle are the nicest i've ever seen and by this i felt far away from my worries. When catching taxis' and buses we would always be picked up early, compliments to the Caravelle for this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Creambunsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Staff are well trained and lovely smiling, obliging and efficient.
My wife and I were stunned by the selection of beautiful food at breakfast and also the seafood smorgasbord for dinner on 2 nights. The wine selection from the main wine growing countries in the world, was also a nice surprise. We enjoyed a french red, a spanish red and a moderate Chilean red. Not all on the same night!
The food was on the expensive side but I guess we paid for quality.
The "fixed price" smorgasbord included the wine so that was good value for money. Don't go to the Saigon bar if you object to smokers inside.

Room Tip: A deluxe room on the 9th floor overlooking the busy street was very quiet. WiFi is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We booked this hotel for our 1 night ,We were not let down! From the moment we checked in to the time we left, the service we received was excellent.
We arrived, were greeted with a welcome drink, and were shown to our room. The room was not very big but very nice and clean with everything we needed.
The location was right in the middle of the busy city- which had many shops and restaurant. We left after our first night only. We had breakfast included before we left and it was great
Overall we were very impressed with everything about this hotel and could not speak more highly of it! It was so well priced too!! The service was some of the best I have seen anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laziz085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at Caravelle for 2 nights over a weekend, and we are happy with what the hotel offered. The decor of the hotel looks like it's stuck in the late 80s, but that's just superficial. All that mattered was that the room we had was clean & big and had a huge & comfy bed.

I tried out the swedish massage at the hotel spa, and loved their skill. Although their spa is renowned in HCM, don't expect it to be a swanky 5-star hotel spa. It's basic and does what needs to be done.

What's most important for us during this stay (and what we are really grateful for) is the helpfulness of the staff when we had our brand new camera snatched by a thief on a bike. The security person followed us from one police station to another for 3 hours just to file the report. He was patient and assisted in translation from English to Vietnamese.

If we do go back to HCM, we will definitely be returning to Caravelle.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing