We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good after all these years”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #17 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location by the Opera. Stayed in the new wing in a large room.
Sumptuous breakfast.
Avoid the restaurants (in this as any other high scale hotel) in the evening as they are grossly mispriced compared to alternatives available with a little homework.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Vigorish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,742)
There are newer reviews for Caravelle Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just come back from a four night stay at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh City (or, Saigon as the locals prefer). This is truly a wonderful hotel, the location is brilliant and the staff are amazing. I have to say the staff all seem to genuinely love their jobs, have pride in their hotel and want you to have an amazing trip.
The only downside (and its very small) is, the Air Con could be better in the corridors/ main areas (although its brilliant in the rooms).
The Saigon Saigon Rooftop Bar is a must, the staff are so attentive and friendly- you get used to the humidity after the first drink or three! Also, you get some grate insider tips on where to go and what to see in Saigon.
The pool & bar area is lovely, with cold face towels and complimentary fruit on arrival a nice touch- order the organge juice, its delicious.
We ate and had coffee, watching the world go by in the ground floor cafe, again the staff are amazing and you can watch the crazy Saigon traffic in style! Food is delicious too with everything from a phenomonal burger to delicious asian food on offer.
All in all, a wonderful hotel, right in the centre of Saigon so close to everything. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Outstanding hospitality. Great good taste and absolute luxury in the rooms. Fine, exotic, classy, well located. It's a MUST.
Also the bars the shops, all of it deserves a special mention.
The swimming after work, an oasis in the middle of town.
What else do you look when your are outside home, that by the way... they make you feel like home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro Esquivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our stay here wasn't what I would describe as exceptional but it was perfectly comfortable with very adequate facilities & the staff were extremely helpful & friendly. I would describe it more as a business type environment for company conferences as the lobby was always buzzing with people. I did however feel that their breakfast area was a little small for the number of people it is intended to accommodate & one morning we ended up having our meal in the coffee lounge - not really a problem though as the staff were quick to find a spot for us. We found the location a bonus & we're able to walk easily to some of the places we were keen to visit. All in all we considered this a pretty good choice for Ho Chi Min City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisabethM527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here several times and always the best choice. Perfect location in the city. The most impressive about this hotel is warm welcome like a family for all service staff. The service here make you feel like family... very friendly, polite, smooth and very simple talk and well understood from service staff. In that good service point, most of security has low level of English and usually ask offensive questions. Both area of Car park and Saigon Saigon bar.

Good variety of buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Last year, I enjoyed the best buffet brunch and no longer offer, it's shame decision to remove such great product from your menu. Asian food in buffet breakfast always a flaw.

The room is alway comfortable, clean and spacey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the hotel and have to say that the arrival was already great as all was done very simple and with a great attitute. The staff in this hotel has a great attitude. The breakfast we had this morning was perfect and we where very impressed by the bread as it is like being in France congratulation to the chef. The room is also very nice and very spacious and what really impressed me is that the hotel had a Lavazza coffee machine and I am a fan of Lavazza. The fruit and flowers in our room are really nice and we had a 90 min Vietnamese massage that was great great sauna, steam room and the gym is really professional with very up-to date machines

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MHWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great hotel in a very good location. Took a taxi from airport (US$15) ....as you exit, taxi kiosk on the right. Our rooms were modern and well furnished. Comfortable beds & great views overlooking the city. The Saigon Saigon bar is worth a visit, especially as the sun sets, live music later in evening.
Breakfast was not included in our room rate and was a bit pricey at US$28. One of the days We ate Chinese dim sums for breakfast at the dept store food hall a min walk from hotel , yummy.
Easy distance to walk to post office & cathedral, but hot & sticky. We hired cyclo to take us around to major attractions. Cathedral closes at 1 pm opens again 3 pm. We had agreed on VND 200 per cyclo but at the end of trip they wanted 200 per hr per cyclo. Perhaps something got lost in translation or....
Lots of restaurants & massage / beauticians right outside hotel. Hotel staff are very approachable & friendly. We arranged a Mekong delta cruise thru the concierge. High powered speed boat, alternative was to take bus inland ( a few hours ride) than transfer to smaller boat. The speed boat tour was pricey at over AUD $100+ . It included light breakfast, lunch at a orphanage, walk in local market & village. ( take something for the kids, books, pencils, food or cash donation to orphanage when you visit. Nice way to give back to global community).
I would definitely recommend this hotel as we had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £93 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing