We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, older hotel.”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days on meetings. Location has everything that you need, located right downtown on DongKhoi. The hotel is so-la-la. The rooms are quite basic and not very modern, and the beds were way to soft for my liking. Other than that and the terribly slow lifts, it was ok for the meetings. Conference room and such were ok, but nothing to shout about. I would be very interested to stay in one of the newer hotels next time -- either the intercom or novotel -- if traveling on a personal budget. The balcony bay is very nice this time of year, despite the awful band, but the extensive beer selection was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise (lots of motorbikes in Vietnam) is a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Charles H,

Thank you for your note and recognizing our central location. We are currently undergoing an elevator modernization program and we apologies for the inconvenience this caused during your recent stay. You will be pleased to know we are planning to commence a hotel wide refreshment program in the New Year. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Currently writing this from the legendary Saigon Saigon 9th floor bar on our second and sadly last night at the Caravelle.

We arrived in Vietnam and Ho Chi Minh is our first stop. We arrived at the Caravelle quite early in the morning so our room wasn't ready but they let us up to the 7th floor so we could freshen up (there's showers etc up there) and then they said to come back for 11. They were super friendly and gave us some good directions for cafes to go to.

The Caravelle is in a great location right near Notre Dame, the Post Office, the Opera House and two of the other great hotels the Rex (terrific roof top bar) and the Hotel Continental (lovely colonial feel).

We're spending time in Vietnam in all different types of hotel / hostel but have to admit that spending the first 2 nights here after a long flight is great. We also seemed to get a great deal paying a lot less than what the hotel is advertised for.

When we got into our room (17th floor) we were super impressed - it was really big -lots of wardrobe space, big bed, views over the river, tv with good channels, tea and coffee facilities, free water etc etc really nice - had a great sleep last night!

Cocktails in Saigon Saigon are really good - I had the tequila based Saigon Legend - yummy! I know it's more expensive than anywhere else you will go for drinks but still the equivalent of £7 which compared to London prices is still good! There is live music - there's been a few people complain on trip advisor about it but we thought it was fine - and actually quite quiet without it!

Haven't had any food throughout the hotel so can't comment on that. However, some very good places locally - L'Uisine is fabulous for breakfast and the Vietnam House was good for dinner - terrific value on the set menu with the special hotpot being a particular favourite!

Wifi is really good - it's free and has very good coverage.

The hotel pool is nice although because it's in between buildings it loses the sun quite early on so you're just as well coming up to the bar and sitting in the sun here (although prob best not in your bikini!)

We asked about tours to the Cu Chi tunnels etc but the hotel does charge significantly more than say the Saigon Tourist Agency or the Superstar Jason tours (yet to give our verdict on those as not made them yet!) so do shop around.

Try and get a room as high up as you can. Avoid the 9th floor particularly those with lower end numbers - you'll be close to the bar.

All in all - a terrific place to stay - would definitely come back here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear TerriLondon,

What a fabulous endorsement! Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed overview and so many positive recommendations. We are glad you enjoyed so many great moments with us and hope to host you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I go to this hotel a couple of times per year, and even some friends reccommend me other places, i cannot change. Everything is perfect, since breakfast to dinner, from rooms to pool and gym. And nothing to say about service .. EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: All are great, do not worry about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelmar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director or Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear angelmar73

Thank you for your ongoing support. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Your endorsement of the Caravelle is such a positive reinforcement of what we aim to accomplish.
Once again thank for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

From my first stay at the Caravelle in the early 90's I've been a loyal customer. The hotel just does everything right - the rooms, restaurants, The Saigon Bar, the health club - coupled with a friendly, caring staff and a great location, it's consistently great - it's the only place I'd stay in HCM City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Carl G,

Thank you for your kind comments Carl. We are so pleased you have chosen to return to the Caravelle over the years. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our regular guests who call the Caravelle their home away from home when travelling to Ho Chi Minh City. Merry Christmas and best wishes for the New Year.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed three nights during November. This is a charming, classic hotel in the heart H.C.M. City. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast buffet is first class with a very large selection of food. We loved the Saigon Saigon bar on the roof top especially sitting on the terrace with the view of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Norm C,

We are always pleased to receive such positive feedback. Thank you for recommending the Caravelle to other travelers and we hope you will have the opportunity to return to the Caravelle in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent a fantastic weekend at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh, we were in one of the suites with a view over the square. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the suite was fantastic and the access to the Signature lounge for breakfast made us feel very pampered. A foot massage, a swim in the pool and a drink on the rooftop bar, after traipsing around the sights all day, added to the whole Caravelle experience. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear lbhk,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend escape at the Caravelle. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ho Chi Minh City in the near future!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I like this hotel !
It is located few meters from the Opera House in the very center of Ho Chi Minh City.
From its window you can see the gardens where people do Tai Chi in the morning and you can imagine the old times when journalist were used to stay in this hotel ... in the old building , though, which do not exist any more today.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marioviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Marioviaggiatore,

Thank you for the note on your stay with us and for recognizing our central location. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £90 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing