We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is in a central location overlooking the Opera House and close by all the local sights. We stayed in a large well appointed delux signature room with a wonderful view of the square and Opera House. The signature lounge was excellent and well worth paying the extra money for. The breakfast was varied and delicious, evening drinks and food fantastic. We got a hotel limousine from the airport, it was air conditioned and the driver Trung spoke excellent English. He answered all our questions and gave us hints and tips of places to visit. The staff in the hotel reception and signature lounge were a delight, nothing was too much trouble. The swimming pool was an oasis in the city, clean and well attended. Enjoy a drink at the poolside bar. There is an open air rooftop bar with live music at night. This is a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front facing the Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bloxhambebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Bloxhambebe,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Caravelle. We greatly appreciate this kind of response as all the staff work very hard to ensure each guest’s stay is pleasurable and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is well-arranged and good facility, I stayed there for three nights and have very good city tour connection and location with many good resturants around and nearby since we stay at street view side, it was noisy since a lot of outdoor activities on going during that weekend but basically no big issue for me, the breakfast was very good as well as the rooms, however the hotel has very great outlooking but with small lobby entrance...it was great laisure experience so to say!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and backward view if you need a slient sleeping room condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy-DP8389TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Teddy-DP8389TW

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay and recommending the Caravelle.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived at the Caravelle after spending 7 nights cruising down the Mekong River, so it was pure luxury to stay in a city centre hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view over the Opera House. Although extremely efficient, the hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere. The pool area was like an oasis in this bustling vibrant city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Jack H

Thank you for all your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you, the Pool area is a great place to escape this bustling vibrant city! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband,15 year old son and I spent 5 nights here and loved our stay. The location is excellent and the staff were great. We had a junior suite, with club access, which was huge with a lounge, separate bedroom, kitchen and two toilets. The club facilities are fantastic - great food and cocktails well worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Julie P,

We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and our Signature Lounge experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Caravelle in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had had the wonderful experience of staying 4 days at the Caravelle, Ho Chi Minh City. The rooms are spacious , very clean and confirtable !
The food is supertanker and they do have a great Spa and pool !,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ABUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear ABUE,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Caravelle someday soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My Vietnamese partner and I had not been to the above mentioned restaurant for some years but because it was a special birthday, we decided from past memories of value, ambience and service to revisit.
As we mostly dine 'local', we initially shuddered at the wine list prices so, at that reaction, we were immediately offered an unlimited supply of bottled, off wine list, extremely reasonable French white wine which was very pallatable and complemented the Japanese, Vietnamese and Western dishes.
The service was excellent, however, the highlight for us was carried through by waitress Trinh who, upon request for back-up singers to my inevitable off key version of Happy Birthday, gathered a dozen or so waiters and waitresses in the kitchen. On an audible countdown of three, they burst into the restaurant smiling, clapping and singing in a conga line, led by one waitress carrying my chosen mini 2 cm square cake complete with lit candle.
Value, great service and fun. Very minor point: there are better choices of background music.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopard335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear leopard335,

Thank you for the lovely review of our Nineteen Restaurant. I am pleased you and your partner enjoyed the dining experience. Thank you for recognizing Trinh and the team, it’s a pleasure to hear they made your experience memorable! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a club room. Excellent cocktails and canapes etc. Beds were great to sleep on and had a nice view of the Opera House and Intercontinental across the way. Some lifts were out of action for maintenance which can't be helped. While the pool was nice it barely receives any sun so being in the water was a bit nippy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FozziebBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear FozziebBear,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your enjoyed our Signature Floor experience and our nice views over the Opera House. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £90 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing