We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel friendly staff”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Our room was lovely. It is in a fantastic location. Great facilities.

Pool is lovely but shaded by the hotel next door.

We upgraded to the 9th floor with private lounge (signature lounge) including breakfast, evening drinks and gorgeous canapés on arrival for the price of the breakfast alone pre-arrival. This was a great addition to our trip. I would have been disappointed if I had paid this for breakfast alone as the range wasn't extensive. However, this is based on the breakfast in the 9th floor lounge there may have been a better range at the ground floor breakfast. I would definitely recommend the signature lounge.

We had a fantastic time at the Caravelle and would highly recommend it!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear E D

Thank you for this wonderful feedback - it is much appreciated. Your endorsement of friendly and attentive staff really pleases me. It’s nice to hear you enjoyed our Signature Lounge experience and your overall stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Caravelle in the near future

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,745)
There are newer reviews for Caravelle Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have mixed feeling regarding this Hotel with its ideal location in HCMC. While the service and offerings in the several restaurants, lounges and bar fully met our expectations this unfortunately can't be said about the rooms. We had a signature room with an acceptable seize and all the modern electronic devices you usually find today. However, the rooms are very clairaudient, i.e. you will hear the noise of the street/Opera Place, each cough in the neigbour room as the staff's cleaning preparations in the hotel aisle etc. So not really a good basis for a recreative sleep. Our bath room was rather small and did not have a real shower but a bath tub only. However, the worst thing have been the beds. We do not know how old the mattress was, but its deep hollows caused not only a rather bad sleep but also massive back pain. Summarized we think there are better options in HCMC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear MiroSu,

Thank you for your note and recognizing our ideal location and service. Sorry that you found our guest rooms not up to standard. The hotel will commence a refreshment program in the upcoming months which will include a complete upgrade of our guest rooms including a modernization of the bathrooms. Please note that our mattresses have recently been replaced and the comforter is specifically designed for Hotels. I was surprised to read your comments as we consistently receive positive feedback about our comfortable beds.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We returned to the Caravelle with our family (5 adults) for 4 nights in February and we were delighted with our stay. We had one large suite and an adjoining suite to accommodate 5 in comfort. Plenty of space with comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms and even a dressing room which was helpful for our 3 adult children sharing.
The gym was excellent, and the pool fun if a little cold in the water.
The great benefit was the Signature Lounge - a couple of hours of drinks, and really excellent food was a great start to a fun night. One night having visited the Water Puppet Show, we decided to eat here and everyone was very happy with the decision. We thought for our family the Signature Club was real value for money.
Although we could breakfast in the Signature Lounge, we decided to eat downstairs where the choice is fabulous. Each family member chose different food, and there were no complaints.
The Saigon Bar has a great atmosphere, and we especially enjoyed the Tuesday night duo.
A standout at the Caravelle is the staff - after 2 years, people actually remembered us when we walked in! Every staff member was extremely helpful, could not fault their attention to detail.
It is true that the hotel is about ready for a spruce up if it is to retain 5 star rating, but we were more than happy with our experience and will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear KateMSydney,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are so pleased you have chosen to return to the Caravelle Hotel. Your endorsement of our staff and their recognition of our loyal guests is such a positive reinforcement of our team’s goals. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Why here
We stayed here for our first visit to Saigon during January, as part of a two week trip into Vietnam and Hong Kong. We chose this hotel based on a shortlist, trip adviser reviews and the fact that we wanted to be in Zone 1 and this hotel met all that criteria being within walking distance of all the main tourist sites.

We were very pleased with our choice and the price we paid, we also decided to up grade to the Signature club (for not much extra), which made the stay even more enjoyable, right from arrival when we were whisked up to the signature lounge to check in.

Room
Our room was a good size, and despite other reviews we did not feel it was dated. It was clean, tidy and functional with a very comfortable bed jut what you need from a city hotel.

My wife was also very impressed by the addition of a coffee machine in the room, we have stayed at some great hotels but this was a first and a big tick in the box. The bathroom was a good size with a nice adjustable shower head. We did not use the pillow menu, but I guess for some guests it's a nice idea.

Signature lounge
The lounge itself was indeed impressive, a warm welcome everyday. It was nice to have breakfast here (included in our rate) rather than going to the main restaurant and there was always plenty of choice and very few people on the days were stayed.

Because we were here to sightsee, it was handy that we could pop back in, to take advantage of the all day soft refreshments on offer.

Also between 6pm and 8pm, complimentary beer, wine and spirits were served by the staff along with hot food, as much as you would like. Again for us this worked out well in particular the first night of our arrival we did not fancy going out and the hot food on offer was pleasantly sufficient for us not to have to worry about finding a restaurant, we also did this the following night. We could then go out into the town after having a nice drink and something to eat. Might not suit everyone but perfect for us.

The staff were outstanding and made us feel very special and we were surprised that not many people used the Signature upgrade.

Rooftop Bar
There are probably higher bars with better views but we found the rooftop bar really nice, there were some good views with really nice private seating areas on Juliette balconies. At night in particular they had entertainment and a really good atmosphere when we attended, some have said the drinks are a little expensive but this is a hotel after all and you expect to pay a premium. We felt that they were reasonably priced.

Lifts
We were told there was some lift maintenance going on but we never heard anything and it never actually affected us


We would certainly recommend this hotel but would suggest you do your sums to see if the Signature lounge is worth paying for. In our opinion we felt it was value for money not just for the complimentary food or drink, but for the convenience and privacy of breakfast in a more low key environment and the ease of check and check out, this all made our stay even more memorable and thanks also to the Staff for making us feel so welcome and to the Management for doing such a great job. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mumfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mumfy,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and recognizing so many positive and memorable aspects of your stay. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a detailed review of this nature and to know our team goes beyond to accommodate our guests. Thank you for recommending the Caravelle Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vietnam.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The room we had was very nice and comfortable. It overlooked the Opera house and was in a very nice position. Their service was first class, we ate in the restaurant and it was great. We had a deal including breakfast and the buffet breakfast was all you could ask for and eat. There may be nicer and more modern hotels around Saigon, but for character and service I don't see how you could beat this place. Would definitely recommend it and stay again if coming back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jokerana,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our first class service and the character of the Caravelle. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to host you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Last time I stayed at the Caravelle Hotel was 39 years ago, one month before the fall of Saigon. Many things have changed, but I was very pleased with a comfortable, well appointed room with a view of the Saigon River. The staff are extremely professional and friendly. A few small touches to the room "bed turndown service" made me feel extra welcome. Spent several evenings for a snack and drink at the Saigon Saigon Bar. Changed from my visits from 1973-75, but still lively with excellent live entertainment.

Room Tip: Had a room with a view of the Saigon River on the 23rd floor. Very pleased at sunrise and sunset.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWW59LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear PaulWW59LD,

This is what the team at Caravelle really loves to hear. We are simply thrilled we were able to host you again 39 years later! No doubt many things have changed since your last stay, but I am pleased we were able to leave you with such fond memories. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at Caravelle , been to HCM few times and decided to check it out fr myself. The roof top bar is very nice, live band .. Nice hang out, packed both nights I was there ( Sunday and Friday )
The pool area is nice but a bit chilly in Jan. Those caring fr a decent gym won't be disappointed. Breakfast buffet is really nice. Beds are comfortable - no complaints. In the heart of the area,walking distance to pretty much everything ... District 1 - everything is in walking area but if u take a taxi to THE NIGHT LIFE (duong bui Vien) area it's a few dollars -usd$ - taxis are cheap so don't fuss too much .. This is def must go too area fr those wanting a bit more local scene than district 1

However for those seeking cheaper accommodation but same area- there are many other hotels literally across the street that maybe cheaper IF U Care not fr gym - or pool or intending to spend much time in hotel. Continental is across the street ( literally) so is the Hyatt so are many other hotels across the street and 1-2 blocks away from caravelle ...if ur main concern is location & $$ BC the cost for bfast and drinks are based on standard us prices at caravelle- same goes fr Sheraton .. Bfast approx 20- 25 pp..
If ur concerned abt western comfort .. This is a good choice... I've stayed at Sheraton also in hcm( 2 blocks away) and same level I feel as caravelle .
On this trip I also stayed at The Majestic hotel which I will write a separate review ...
P.s there are many many rooftop bars in Hcm .. It's common so pls don't take the caravelle rooftop bar as a deciding factor fr choosing this hotel .. Lots of hotels have rooftop bar so keep searching . But it's a def stop in at caravelle roof top !

Hyatt has 50% off happy hour and bar appetizers from 5 pm to 8 pm - nice bar and a must go !!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank NRamsoomair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear NRamsoomair,

Thank you for the recap of your experience at the Caravelle. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I completely agree that we are “in walking distance to pretty much everything!” Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers requiring western comforts when visiting Ho Chi Minh City.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £93 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing