We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here recently with friends and really had a great time, even though the Hotel is going through renovations at the moment it didn't affect us at all. The staff are amazing and friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was large and very comfortable with a bed to die for, they even have a pillow menu, so if you don't like your pillow they have about 7 different ones to choose from, all i had to do was ring housekeeping and they bought it straight up. The pool is great and they have a pool bar and a gym, spa and hair salon on the 7th floor. The Hotel is in a great position and you can walk everywhere, if you don't want to eat at the Hotel there are plenty of other places to eat. The Hotel has its own casino thats open 24/7, I can't tell you what thats like cos we never went there. Its a beautiful Hotel and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty_trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Rusty_trace,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. We know our staff are amazing, friendly and extremely helpful, so thank you for recognizing their efforts. We truly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    833
    194
    40
    24
See reviews for
361
1,092
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, located in the heart of downtown Ho Chi Minh City. Literally steps away from great shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. The breakfast buffet, served every morning, was outstanding. Combining a mix of Asian and Western breakfast staples, there's something for everyone. Highly recommend the Caravelle to people traveling for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper level to diffuse street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Lorraine N,

Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our buffet breakfast outstanding. I agree that our location is fantastic and only steps away from great shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed from11th to 14th July. Great central location. Staff great, attentive. Rooms nice, comfortable clean. Recommended

Seems to be a casino but its not intrusive and I avoided that. Nice views from Saigon Saigon bar. Seems a little dated and needs some investment. Staff really nice though and views great.

Major refurb on lobby area going on when I arrived - so investment happening and the hotel had successfully moved reception around so it did not cause any inconvenience and there was no noise

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehobday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mikehobday,

Thank you for the wonderful recap of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the Caravelle experience and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We couldn't have asked for more during our stay at the Caravelle! From our initial welcoming (with a cold cloth, fruit drink and then a fruit platter delivered to our room) until the day we left, the Caravelle was the perfect place for us! The location is fantastic and located close to all of the major sights. There was some construction being done on the lower level, but that did not impact our stay at all. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best we every had and the selection was amazing!! The price to stay here was a little more than other hotels, but I would not hesitate staying again as it was SO nice!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mary P,

What a fabulous endorsement! We are always pleased to receive such positive feedback from our international guests. Thank you for recognizing so many positives aspects of your stay and recommending the Caravelle to the TripAdvisor community! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by Travel Indo-China and Flight Centre Freshwater as a Deluxe 5-star stay for our family holiday which included 2 nights in Ho Chi Minh. The hotel is in fact a 23 storey corporate style building with decor and finishes dating from the 1980's. The reception area is currently makeshift on the 3rd floor and we were shuffled around on arrival from the front door and up in the only 2 working lifts to the 3rd floor before waiting to be told only one of our 2 rooms were ready. It was 1.30pm and we were disappointed that we were taken to one room on the 9th floor which was tired, dirty, the toilet seat was broken, the shower over the bathtub had a shabby, stained shower curtain hanging off broken rings on a rusty shower rail. There were broken tiles on the floor and around the bath/shower, the carpet in the living area was stained and the furniture tired. The room like the hallways had an overpowering smell of staleness - body odour, smoke and cleaning chemicals combined.
We were booked on an afternoon tour and as we departed for that at 2pm requested our rooms be changed due to the poor standard of the room we had been shown.
The staff apologized and showed us to another room on our return to the hotel at 5.30pm which was on the 16th floor. The decor was the same, just slightly less tired and cleaner. We were advised that they had upgraded us to a Premium room type. The bathroom was still needing repair work to tiles and there was still an old shower curtain hanging over the bathtub, but we were over it by then.
We did not eat at the Hotel as the prices were really expensive and there were plenty of lovely restaurants nearby that we preferred to walk to. The rooftop cocktail bar was ordinary and open air so extremely hot and uncomfortable. Overall the place is a rip-off being hardly a 3 star property being sold as a deluxe 5 star tourist hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GlenLorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear GlenLorne,

Thank you for your note and taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Caravelle Hotel.

We sincerely regret that you found our guest rooms not up to standard and that we did not meet your expectations. We have commenced a refreshment program which will include a complete upgrade of our guest rooms including a modernization of our bathrooms.

Once again thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and we do hope we can host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location! An excellent hotel in the middle of HCMC. Good breakfast, very cool pool and within kicking distance of everything! We had connecting rooms on the 20th floor...great views.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for your note and recognizing our fantastic location and great guest room views. We are so glad you enjoyed our swimming pool facilities and buffet breakfast! We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to host you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport, hants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, on arrival at Ho Chi Minh, it's a nice hotel, with friendly staff. Easy access to the city. I just thought it was over priced at £150 + a night. Bed was comfy. Roof bar is worth a visit but again expensive, small bottle of water $ 5.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jojo260

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly staff and location! We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing