We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #17 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Don't look further, I have travelled to Vietnam for about 4.5 years and honestly, Caravelle hotel is best in class. Their pool and gym is amazing and room is needless to say that everything is great! Most importantly, breakfast was great and not forgetting their wifi connection is very strong. Will be going back to Caravelle hotel soon.....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Malcolm C,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are pleased you have chosen to return to the Caravelle so frequently and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,747)
There are newer reviews for Caravelle Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perhaps the renovations were why we got a great price- perhaps it was the season- perhaps it was both.

That said, the Caravelle delivers where it matters (to me) for this stay:
The location just cannot be beaten
The rooms while not huge are spacious enough
Bathroom with all the amenities - special note to the great water pressure in the shower
Comfortable beds and a flat (albeit slightly small) TV
Wifi coverage was everywhere and excellent strength of signal- even in gym and by the pool + lobby.
Very nice gym and decent pool area- but we didnt come here to be in the pool all day

Niggles?
If you get a room facing the (beautiful) Opera House- be prepared for some more noise 'leakage' through the glass- it can get noisy in HCMC.
The setup of the lobby/lounge/reception is a bit off given the renovations
The overall feel of the hotel is 'older' especially by Asian standards- so if you want spic n span new- the Hyatt across the street might be better for you- but the price-point follows too- all depends on your priorities.

As for the staff, I consistently found them to be warm and engaging and most of all- helpful.

Would return and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear LeDude13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Caravelle. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Caravelle for 3 nights in mid July and couldn't have been happier. We were travelling with 2 young children (5 and 20 months) and the room was very comfortable and accommodating for a family of 4 (one king, one single and a cot). The king bed was very very comfortable. We had a great view of the Opera House and the kids loved watching the traffic from the windows. The hotel is ideally located to all main attractions. We enjoyed the large hotel pool and bar service. All staff were very attentive (they particularly loved the kids) and assisted us when required. We used the hotel airport pick-up service which was very professional and comfortable (a good option when travelling with small children and arriving in a new country).The renovations didn't bother us at all and I'm sure the new areas will look superb. We loved HCMC and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mossfjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Mossfjo,

Thank you for the your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff very attentive. I agree that our location is fantastic and within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed in the Caravelle at the end of July, while the renovations were going on. While the shortage of elevators going to the first floor was mildly annoying, that was really the only thing that detracted from our stay. We had a room with access to the Signature Lounge on the 9th floor, and the service and food options there were fantastic. The lounge manager, Bui Thi Anh Phuong, helped us with tickets to the AO Show and some tours, and she was wonderfully helpful and gracious. The pool/gym area was beautiful, and I had an enjoyable pedicure at the spa. We also had a drink at the rooftop lounge, which was a very cool spot. This hotel is a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aventurera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Aventurera1,

What great feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Your endorsement of our staff is such a positive reinforcement of what we aim to accomplish. Thank you for recognizing Ms Anh Phuong, I was delighted to share these comments with her. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The Caravelle Hotel met all our expectations despite renovations taking place which impacted the lobby and a couple of floors. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and easy to use. Free wifi and access to gym and pool made for a relaxing stay in this busy city. A great way to relax after a hectic day of sightseeing. Good location near shopping malls and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank HardMoneyMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear HardMoneyMofo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommending the Caravelle to other travellers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had 4 nights here and found many good things about the hotel. The rooms are a good size, the bed was fabulously comfy, pillow menu (yay), the room service and turn down in the evening was awesome, little extras in the bathroom were great, breakfast was really good, gym very well appointed although a couple more bikes would be good, pool was pleasantly colder than most which is how you want it in a hot environment so good on you Caravelle! Staff were very helpful. Renovations are underway and the hammering at 6.15am was a little annoying but hey, it didn't last long and reminded you to get up and enjoy the day early. We found the toilets annoyingly loud (and scary like an airline toilet) so you heard the neighbours flushing and they heard ours! Sadly our room had a large stain right by the bed where someone had spilt a coffee - caravelle you could have cleaned that up before you let anyone back in there. Other than that it was an enjoyable stay, in a great location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Kerie5775,

Thank you for the review and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by our refreshment program and we trust it didn't impact your overall stay. I was disappointed to read the comment regarding the coffee stain within your room. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I have discussed your comments with our Housekeeping team. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay and recommending the Caravelle.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days. I occupied a club room which had extra privileges such as drinks and snacks at anytime and an evening high tea. The room was spacious and well presented. The club lounge was well furnished and the food was great. Breakfast was also in this lounge. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of Saigon and close to shops, restaurants,markets and historical attractions. I would safely recommend this excellent hotel to all. Professor David Thambiratnam, Brisbane, Australia.

Room Tip: Choose a club room, it's worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Professor Thambiratnam,

What a fabulous endorsement! We are always pleased to receive such positive feedback from our international guests. Thank you for recognizing our friendly and helpful staff and for recommending the Caravelle to other travelers. We hope you will have the opportunity to return in the not-too-distant future .

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,630 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £95 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing