We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravelle Saigon
Nearby Hotels
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Nikko Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Silverland Yen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,956)
Filter reviews
2,956 results
Traveller rating
1,748
917
213
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,748
917
213
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature loungeopera houserooftop barvietnam warpillow menuexcellent locationbreakfast buffetwithin walking distanceluxury hotelfantastic hotelthe ground floorcentral locationpark hyattan upgradethe heart of the citynotre dame cathedralpost office
Filter
Updating list...
1,275 - 1,280 of 2,956 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Back at the Caravelle for a week on business during July, with my wife.

Still as excellent as ever despite the ground floor lobby renovations taking place. The smooth transition to temporary reception on level 3 is very smooth and well managed.

We stayed in our usual room 2308 on level 23 which has great views across the Opera House, local hotels, and up to the cathedral.

Room once again comfortable and very clean, although the renovation in due course will be very worthwhile.
While we were staying we used the level 9 Signature Lounge facilities which were very very good as always. I highly recommend same.

We also ate dinner at the two restaurants this time around. I'd have to say the meal at Reflections Restaurant was okay, not great, as was the service. The pianist and singer were too loud. The meal at the temporary Nineteen Restaurant was superb, as was the service. It's amazing coming from Australia to be able to get an Australian steak of much better quality and cooking than what we can get back in Australia.

Overall excellent, with staff and management consistently providing service and attention at a very high level. Renovations are a minor inconvenience and I'm sure will be a great outcome.

Look forward to next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Greg B,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. We are pleased that our refreshment program didn’t impact your overall stay. We also appreciate your comments regarding your experience in Reflections which will be address with our Food & Beverage team.

Once again thank for your feedback and we sincerely hope you visit us the next time you are travelling to Ho Chi Minh City.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Don't look further, I have travelled to Vietnam for about 4.5 years and honestly, Caravelle hotel is best in class. Their pool and gym is amazing and room is needless to say that everything is great! Most importantly, breakfast was great and not forgetting their wifi connection is very strong. Will be going back to Caravelle hotel soon.....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Malcolm C,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are pleased you have chosen to return to the Caravelle so frequently and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perhaps the renovations were why we got a great price- perhaps it was the season- perhaps it was both.

That said, the Caravelle delivers where it matters (to me) for this stay:
The location just cannot be beaten
The rooms while not huge are spacious enough
Bathroom with all the amenities - special note to the great water pressure in the shower
Comfortable beds and a flat (albeit slightly small) TV
Wifi coverage was everywhere and excellent strength of signal- even in gym and by the pool + lobby.
Very nice gym and decent pool area- but we didnt come here to be in the pool all day

Niggles?
If you get a room facing the (beautiful) Opera House- be prepared for some more noise 'leakage' through the glass- it can get noisy in HCMC.
The setup of the lobby/lounge/reception is a bit off given the renovations
The overall feel of the hotel is 'older' especially by Asian standards- so if you want spic n span new- the Hyatt across the street might be better for you- but the price-point follows too- all depends on your priorities.

As for the staff, I consistently found them to be warm and engaging and most of all- helpful.

Would return and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear LeDude13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Caravelle. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Caravelle for 3 nights in mid July and couldn't have been happier. We were travelling with 2 young children (5 and 20 months) and the room was very comfortable and accommodating for a family of 4 (one king, one single and a cot). The king bed was very very comfortable. We had a great view of the Opera House and the kids loved watching the traffic from the windows. The hotel is ideally located to all main attractions. We enjoyed the large hotel pool and bar service. All staff were very attentive (they particularly loved the kids) and assisted us when required. We used the hotel airport pick-up service which was very professional and comfortable (a good option when travelling with small children and arriving in a new country).The renovations didn't bother us at all and I'm sure the new areas will look superb. We loved HCMC and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mossfjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Mossfjo,

Thank you for the your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff very attentive. I agree that our location is fantastic and within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed in the Caravelle at the end of July, while the renovations were going on. While the shortage of elevators going to the first floor was mildly annoying, that was really the only thing that detracted from our stay. We had a room with access to the Signature Lounge on the 9th floor, and the service and food options there were fantastic. The lounge manager, Bui Thi Anh Phuong, helped us with tickets to the AO Show and some tours, and she was wonderfully helpful and gracious. The pool/gym area was beautiful, and I had an enjoyable pedicure at the spa. We also had a drink at the rooftop lounge, which was a very cool spot. This hotel is a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aventurera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Aventurera1,

What great feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Your endorsement of our staff is such a positive reinforcement of what we aim to accomplish. Thank you for recognizing Ms Anh Phuong, I was delighted to share these comments with her. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews