We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #17 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights they where doing up the foyer when we where there so didn't,t really get a wow factor like some big hotels when first entering took the staff about 10 minutes to tell us checkin is now on the third floor,,breakfast above average but not as good as some,, dinner in the roof top bar was good one night then pretty ordinary the second niight I think it depends on what you order, most of the staff are pretty good the location off this hotel is great not much beats it for being right there and close to most things, rooms where pretty comfy and clean,not to bad pool and bar area,like most big chain hotels mini bars and taxis are a ripoff taxis from hotel they wanted 62 US dollars back to airport go outfront of hotel and grab your own for at least a third of hotels price, lots of nice hotels in Saigon great place to shop or party will be going up there again in a few months will proubly try the Rex this time just down the road in a great spot to, but would stay here again if I carnt get into the Rex

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear B R,

Thank you for the detailed and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Caravelle. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and agree our location is very central.

In regards to your comments regarding the taxi service, please note that the service you are referring to is not the standard taxi service which is available from the hotel driveway. The price quoted below is for the hotel limousine service which uses new Mercedes E-Class vehicles and also includes refreshments beverages, wifi internet and English speaking hotel drivers. Whilst I personally respect that the price of a taxi is reasonably cheaper we must point out these are completely different transportation offerings.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we trust you will return in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,742)
There are newer reviews for Caravelle Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel under renovation as getting a bit tired with a terrific position close to good shopping, the market and all the main tourist attractions like the Presidential Palace which is worth a look. Rooms OK, rooftop bar has lot of history in Vietnam war and a good place at Happy Hour as drinks not so cheap. Can eat very reasonably at this bar called the Saigon Saigon Bar

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well soundproofed
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JournoNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear JournoNsw,

Thank you for the note on your recent stay at the Caravelle. We appreciate you recognizing our central location and our Saigon Saigon Bar. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future


Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at the Caravelle Hotel whilst I was working in Vietnam. I found the staff to be friendly, helpful and always willing to ensure I was comfortable and looked after.
The breakfast at the Caravelle is well worth it and a great way to start the day, so much choice and always great quality food.
My room service was polite and mindful as to interuptions.
I cannot speak highly enough of the Caravelle Hotel. I was well looked after there and am happy to recommend this establishment to travellers , holidaying or for business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shorttac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Shorttac,

What a fabulous endorsement! Thank you for your kind comments and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. We are so pleased we were able to leave you with such fond memories. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Saigon was the first stop of my 4 weeks of travel, and what a first hotel to start with! Amazing rooms, great bar, most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The service was definitely first class and the breakfast was unbelievable. The location of the hotel is close to everything and it has a casino that's open 24 hours if you like to gamble! Definitely one of, if not, the best hotel I have stayed in, and reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronno_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ronno_01,

Thank you for the great feedback on your stay and for rating us at the top of your travel experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were shown the 5-star treatment as soon as we walked into this amazing hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and luxurious. Sleeping in the bed each night was like sleeping on clouds .. comfortably amazing.
The breakfast buffet was worth waking up for every morning. There was always something different each day which made it more interesting.
We had a wonderful stay at Caravelle and will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tomntez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Tomntez,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and recognizing so many positive aspects of your stay. I agree with you, our beds are “comfortably amazing”!! Thank you again for taking the time to share your recent stay and recommending the Caravelle. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A really good central hotel
Nice big room plenty space for the three of us
Complimentary food in lounge great selection western and local
Staff friendly and helpful especially filling glass with sparkling wine

Room Tip: Go for room including signature lounge - saved us money no need to eat out ,,,
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Onebusywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Onebusywoman,

Thank you for the positive recap of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the Signature Lounge experience and so many other aspects of your visit to Ho Chi Minh City. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 13 days backpacking around south east asia and Saigon was my last stop. I had the most amazing experience at Caravelle. After some pretty rough bus rides etc I finally found this one place where everything was perfect. Caravelle definitely has high standards. If you are looking for relaxing peace and quiet time after a day of sight seeing or shopping in the middle of busy Saigon then look no further.
Thanks for the great experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank YoungWildAdventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce S, Director of Rooms at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear YoungWildAdventurous,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommending the Caravelle to other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bryce Seator
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £93 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing