We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Although the Park Hyatt is more our style, we stayed at the Caravelle because we wanted to experience a piece of history. We spent three nights here in a Signature level room and absolutely loved it. We had a very positive experience and didn't have any of the issues mentioned in the other recent reviews.

COMMON AREAS: The hotel is beautiful and much more modern that I expected. The pool area look kind of small, but still nice. There was a pool bar. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The upper floors were only accessible by key card.

ROOMS: Our room was completely smoke-free (we requested this). Furniture and amenities were relatively modern and nice. Bed was super comfy. (Best sleep I had during our 15 nights in Vietnam.) You could hear a murmur of street noise and car horns from downstairs, but it was not overwhelming enough to wake us up. Free wifi worked well and the best part is that it was free! Like every other of our VN hotels, free bottled water was provided in the rooms.. A plate of fresh, uncut fruit was also delivered daily by housekeeping.

SIGNATURE LOUNGE/BREAKFAST: We had no issues with booking our Signature Level Room (went through a travel agent). We checked in at the desk in the Signature Lounge, so there was no wait. Any subsequent issues were also handled through that desk (i.e., money exchange, check out). Loved the Signature Lounge breakfast each morning. A combo of Western and VN food, but more of the former. The lounge was relatively small and not crowded. There are only about 20 tables in the whole place. (We walked past the main breakfast on the first floor and, while both the buffet and seating area looked much larger, it was packed.) And the best part was that there were never any kids there, so you enjoy a nice quiet breakfast while reading the paper and watching CNN on the lounge's TV. Appeared to be a lot of business travelers there, probably because the Signature Rooms also come with free use of conference rooms and a business center. These rooms start at about $100/night more than the regular rooms. Compared to other hotels in Saigon, the Caravelle is on the more expensive end of the range.

OTHER STUFF: The service at the hotel was stellar. We had opportunity to interact not only with the Signature Lounge staff, but also the front desk, bell staff, and concierge, who were all equally friendly and helpful. For example, I asked the front desk for a map and was offered unsolicited but welcomed safety advice. The rooftop bar is great and a must visit, given its history. The view is good. It was packed with people, many dancing to the live Latin band. Beware that the drinks are pricey, not only for Vietnam but by Western standards. I ordered a Coke that was $5 US. Didn't try the hotel's lobby restaurant or bar, but neither looked that exciting when we walked past them them.

Overall, we loved it. When we return to Saigon, we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meheartsthevacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    820
    189
    39
    22
See reviews for
349
1,071
156
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Kudos to Caravelle Hotel. A hospitality experience you will always remember. A 5-star hotel with 10-star service. The WOW service with dedicated staff going an extra mile for their guests. All the staffs are the role models for Ho Chi Minh City – Great smiles! Guaranteed choice to have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in HCMC. The buffet line during breakfast and room service menu offers a variety of excellent food. The hotel is also dedicated to play a part to go green with its environmental policy. The room is clean and nicely decorated, minibar with coffee machine, bathroom with a range of Green Tea bath series. Nice big pool and full-fledged Gym facilities near to the spa.

My mum and I checked in to Caravelle for the first 3 days (9th – 12th Feb). Our itinerary was to to proceed to another district on the 12th Feb, we checked out but left our bags at the secured baggage room, as we tour around this area like Notre Dame Cathedral, before moving out of this district. While away, we met with a mishap being snatched by a couple on their motorcycle. Flustered and helpless, we hurried our way back to Caravelle. The staffs were observant and saw my mum limping and approached us to ask if we were okay. Immediately they settle us in a cosy corner to calm down, prepared 2 glasses of iced malt tea and notified their security officers. They assured us with sincerity that they will assist us in every way they can. The security officers see to every procedure we need, writing down the statements and bringing us to the police station and back to the hotel. On addition, the same lady security officer helps in the translation throughout and helps my mum. What really touched us were her caring actions and every staff in the lobby sincerely offered help like a family to us. They suggested us to call them if we need any assistance, even if we were not staying with them for the next few days. Examples like taking my mum to hospital or clinic, or we need advice for our self-plan destinations.

With the sincerity, assurance of our safety, and warmth from the helpful team, I decided to check in again for our last few days. My mum and I feel so at home – the staff members are like a family to us. The caring voices of checking with us if we are feeling better, and even offered to pack dinner for us (out-of-pocket), as they know we are afraid to step out in the evenings to try the local street foods due to the traumatic experience.
“We want to do everything we can to ensure the remaining days in HCMC is well taken care of!” the team members assured us of this every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Before booking we contacted the hotel to confirm what the best room would be for a family of four. We were informed that a Signature Premium Deluxe would be suitable. The booking quoted an occupancy of "2 adults 2 children". On arrival we were surprised to be informed that there was one double bed and that we were expected to share this with our children (aged 7 & 4)!! Fortunately after a prolonged period of "negotiation" the duty manager agreed to supply two extra beds cost free (initially they requested $60 per bed!). We also discovered that children are not permitted to enter the Signature Lounge, again something that we had not been informed of when booking.
This initial impression tainted the rest of our stay in what was an otherwise great hotel. The breakfasts were fantastic and the staff were exceptionally child friendly. The situation is very central with all the major tourist attractions in walking distance.
This hotel is ideal for the business traveller but if you're travelling with family, think twice. If you do decide to stay here, confirm how many beds will be in the room (occupancy and number of beds seems to be completely different at the Caravelle) and remember not to pay for all the advantages of "Signature" as you can't use them all with your family

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscoscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Great location, wonderful breakfast buffet, staff pleasant and accommodating, good English language skills, clean, nice room. Will stay here on our next visit to Ho Chi Minh City!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed for one night. While the hotel is nice, it's somewhat unimpressive compared to other four/five star hotels nearby such as New World Saigon. Pool is small and fairly basic but watch for very slippery stone (when wet) they use the line the area around the pool.

The location is nice if one is interested in shopping the high end shops around Dong Khoi street. That's not what I came to VN for. Staff is properly attentive and snaps to attention when asked--typically of most 3-5 star hotels in VN. From a value perspective, I think an executive room at New World is better value with its executive room and free buffet breakfast privileges for roughly the same price as a regular room at Caravelle with no free breakfast/executive privileges. I also like the proximity of colorful Ben Thanh market to New World (walking distance) so I give New World a win in this toss-up (by a small margin). Your priorities may be different so make your own call.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed for a week during the new year celebrations at this hotel. It was a great location to see all the decorations downtown. The hotel staff was wonderfully warm and welcoming. We stayed here with 3 small children, which was quite a challenge. The hotel staff was very accommodating towards the kids, and did their best to make things easy. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Saigon to anyone who wants to explore the city during the day, but come home to a little western world comfort at night. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithspartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Very nice hotel in a fantastic area, within walking distance of the market and many restaurants. Don't forget to visit the pool...hidden away from the noise and congestion of the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#4 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing