We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon Hotel
Ranked #101 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A modest hotel, very convenient especially for muslim travellers since there are a few Halal restaurants just a few steps away (Dnyonya, Bombay, Halal@Saigon, just to name a few). Located opposite the Sheraton so taking a cab wouldn't be a problem as most of the taxi drivers there know the directions to sheraton. About 1 km from the famous Cho Ben Than and taxi rate would be around 1USD per trip. Not sure about other companies but Vinasun seems to be reliable because they use the rate meter. Walking distance to most of the city attractions; the mall, the theatre, etc. Rooms are spacious and clean, the downside is the lighting. Breakfast buffet, a bit boring. Same menu every day but then again, it's a 3 star hotel so good enough i guess. Yup, i'll come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Syazzy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

From the hotel, we could walk to central of city and almost of attractions like Ben Thanh Market, Freedom Palace...I really like the food in the restaurants nearby.
The hotel room was small but lovely, clean and modern architecture like the new renovation. The staff was friendly and helpful and always smile when they meet the guest. Many thanks. I'll come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanoiTourPlanne... x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Sai Gon hotel is in a convenient, if not very interesting, spot across the road from the Sheraton.
The rooms are quite good if a little shabby. The main problem here is the noise. We stayed on two different floors before and after a trip to the Mekong Delta. Our first room was opposite the mosque, so the call to prayer duing the night made for interesting background noise (not too bad once you got used to it). On the other side of the building however, we were opposite a 24 hour construction site. The rumble and roar was very disturbing.
The hotel seems to mainly attract Asian visitors, and the breakfast seems mostly tailored to their tastes. If you're still excited by omelettes you'll be fine but otherwise there's not much to enthuse about.
Positives: friendly staff, faded grandeur, cool karaoke rooms!
I am sure there are better choices in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

this hotel deserves much more than just a 3 star rating. the staff are friendly and very helpful. great service and housekeeping. we had two rooms; 1 double bedroom and 1 triple bedroom. both are spacious, clean, comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent. the hotel is located just opposite masjidul jamiel mosque with a few halal restaurants literally at it's doorsteps. the hotel is just within walking distance to some of the famous attractions of saigon city e.g. the opera house, the harbour, and the ben thanh market. i would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank white_celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel and can recommend it highly. The décor is fresh and modern, the staff are some of the best that we've come across in our travels. We felt like this was much more than a two star hotel with computers in the rooms and other special touches. Breakfast was complimentary and very nice, room was spacious and had an incredible view of the city. This place is definitely a rising star in Vietnam and should do quite well. Recommended for families and couples, although there is not much for kids in and around the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradford70mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Unless you are booking into one of the 5 star hotels, a having a small room in Vietnam seems to be the rule. Though we don't mind it as long as it is clean and cozy. If it is not too noisy at night on top of that, well that is just gravy. Saigon hotel was like that. Nothing to much expect, but nothing less either. The place is a solid B&B style house posing as a Hotel with friendly stuff, nice breakfast and within walking distance of where things happen in HCMC.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElkstAnneNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Saigon hotel is not a fancy hotel (for 5 star hotel, there is a Sheraton across the street). The facilities are old, but they are clean. Hotel staffs are mostly hospitable, though too polite sometimes to make both side embarrassed. In general, it is a budget hotel with acceptable quality service.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Polarbear_tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#131 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#106 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#114 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#49 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Hotel

Address: 41 - 47 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £41 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saigon Hotel, perfectly located right in the commercial and tourist district of Ho Chi Minh City, is a great choice of 3 star hotel for both business and leisure travelers who want to experience Saigon’s bustling life.You can easily find most of the tourist attractions, shopping centers as well as various country restaurants in just a few minutes walk. The elegant decoration of Saigon Hotel makes a great impression on you about the culture and history of a well-known place: “Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City”.Your Warm & Friendly Saigon home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing