We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but doesn't blow your socks off.”
Review of Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saigon Hotel
Ranked #103 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but doesn't blow your socks off.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here for 7 days March 2014. The reception area is very bland and does nothing to make you feel excited to be there. The staff were okay - neither rude nor particularly firendly. The room was the hotel's only saving grace. I stayed in room 804 which was very large and very clean. Again, there was nothing to excite you about the room, you could have been in a hotel anywhere. Maybe the hotel's tactic is to bore you to death with blandness and by the time you get to your room anything will seem much nicer?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    90
    55
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
35
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I am not a person to rant, but this needs to happen.
I didn't mind the hotel until we asked for something a little out of the normal. Due to the circumstances that where not normal. My partner got robbed and drugged and what they gave him he overdosed ending up in emergency. We went to police to get a report, they were less than helpful, a nice young man from the hotel came with us and he tried to help. We asked him to ask the boss for a letter to state to insurance that we have attempted to action and they would not help, we where refused this letter. Then I started thinking about the hotel....
I am listing the issues.
A rat in the building
Smelt really bad in hall ways
Smoking in halls
Security really poor
Safe broken
Pillows hard as rock and bed also
Hotel half not finished
We arrived and got sting for 25 bfast a day for really poor food
English very poor so hard to ask for directions etc, we went to Sheraton to ask for help.

Upsides
Location great
Clean rooms
Bfast staff helpful

Rank over

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hockrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location, very good amenities, very clean, spacious room, terrific buffet breakfast. Gate 1 booked this hotel for our tour group. We had no previous experience with Vitnamese hotels and were pleased with this location.

Room Tip: All of the group members were pleased with the hotel choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The rooms are large, the beds ok and the how water system the quickest to warm up I have ever experienced anywhere ( you need to be careful when running a bath as it gets very hot very quickly.) Service fine, free wi fi easy to find and use . Breakfast ok would have preferred a greater choice . Room service would ave liked some western dishes .
For the price that I paid , using agoda, it was good.
Location is superb as very centrally located.

Room Tip: Try for one of the suites as they have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very communist retro decor, ineffective air-con. Staff and location great but idiosyncratic styling a slice of 50 years ago. worth going to see this alone. If they fixed the aircon, it is a cult hotel as is. Amazing living evidence of communist attempt to jump into the 60's/70's. Really, I do not want it upgraded, just fix the air and carpets. Real olympic style hall lights from 1976? or so.It would be sad to lose this Cultural revolution icon. Fabulous location.Do not renovate,it is a classic.Electrics unfathomable,10 bedroom lights,opening windows. GO stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhourigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The rooms are large, it is well located, and breakfast in the gardens was lovely. Aside from that the air conditioning leaked all over the floor and was not fixed. The bathroom was moldy and leaky. The hallways were not clean, and the rooms smelled musty all the time from the leaking air conditioning. Pick somewhere else!!!!! I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Centrally located on a sideway to one of the main streets in the city center. Furniture are old-fashioned, but rooms are spacious and clean. Receptionists speak good English. Buffet breakfast is very good, while dinner is not worthwhile. Laundry service is quick and good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertaLizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#56 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Saigon
Hotel Continental Saigon
#70 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#100 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Hotel

Property: Saigon Hotel
Address: 41 - 47 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saigon Hotel, perfectly located right in the commercial and tourist district of Ho Chi Minh City, is a great choice of 3 star hotel for both business and leisure travelers who want to experience Saigon’s bustling life.You can easily find most of the tourist attractions, shopping centers as well as various country restaurants in just a few minutes walk. The elegant decoration of Saigon Hotel makes a great impression on you about the culture and history of a well-known place: “Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City”.Your Warm & Friendly Saigon home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing