We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should visit to know more about Uncle Ho”
Review of Ho Chi Minh Museum

Ho Chi Minh Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This building where some of Ho Chi Minh’s personal effects are on display was once a French customs house.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Should visit to know more about Uncle Ho”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Vietnamese like me must visit this place as it is a historical museum. My kids visited to learn more about Uncle Ho and so the foreigners do. Bach Dang Pier is next to the Museum. If you don't visit Bach Dang pier and this museum, people joke that you have not come to HCM City yet.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AiNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    32
    34
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This museum sits at 1 Nguyen Tat Thanh, District 4, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, just across the Saigon River. Lots of documented information following his life are shown to make an overview for the tourist.
I think i'ts a good opportunity for studying about Vietnamese cuture and their hero.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Very well laid out and extremely interesting”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We found this museum extremely well laid out and very well worth the visit. Lots of documented information following his life and many attempts to give you an english translation on the header pages of the flip charts from french and vietnamese. Very easy to follow but we would have greatly benefited from a good engligh speaking guide. Found the whole layout extremely interesting , only wished i could read french and the local language.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Not well maintained or very welcoming to visitors”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Visited on 16 Dec 2009. Overall, I was disappointed considering how important Ho Chi Minh is to Vietnam. The museum is not very user friendly. It is a three story building (with no elevator or ramps), and each room represents a different phase of his life. Had to figure that out by myself.

Approximately 1/3 of exhibits have an English translation. I learned a few things about his life that I did not know. Third floor had a few rooms full of artwork made entirely of buttons.

If you visit, check your maps very carefully. There is a lot of construction and at least 2 bridges are closed. The easiest walking access is on the side of the road parallel to river. It is a dirt path, full of trash to include used syringes--not good if you are wearing slippers. The enterance is almost closed by construction.

10,000 VND entrance fee. I arrived about 10:30 and got kicked out at 11:30 because they close for lunch time. Literally got yelled at while take photos of the building. Yes, there was a repetitive recording on loudspeakers which must have been my clue that something was up. I believe they reopen at 1pm. Would my ticket stub allow me reentry? I will never know. Only saw 5 others in the museum.

On that side of the river, there is not much to see around the museum. I would not revisit this location or recommend to others.

Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoBob1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,095 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,143 helpful votes
“Just across the river from downtown”
Reviewed 30 January 2009

This museum sits just across the Saigon River from the central area of Ho Chi Minh City and you can see it from the sidewalk that runs alongside the river. Take the bridge that goes over the river and the museum is to your left after you get on the other side. I'm surprised that the place was situated across the river instead of closer to downtown on the opposite side of the river. It is located in an old French colonial building and the grounds are quite attractive. Inside is located old photos, both colored and black & white, and documents, as well as other memorabilia, depicting his life and revolutionary struggle against the French and, later, the Americans. The museum has 3 floors and the top floor is covered with photos of Uncle Ho in various poses with other people. The amazing thing about these photos is that they are made out of buttons and sequins. The people who made these were very talented and put in a lot of time and effort. There is a Ho Chi Minh Museum in just about every major city in the country. This one is worth a visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ho Chi Minh Museum also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ho Chi Minh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing