We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Ranked #319 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
austin texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in great location”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were surprised to learn there are 11 A&EM hotels in HCMC - we stayed at this one on Hai Ba Trung street and it was a great location in District 1. Make sure you write down the full address for the taxi driver as there are two other A&EMs within 3 blocks of this one- we ended up at the wrong one. The rooms are a bit small but typical for city hotel, but had a king bed and decent size bathroom, with a whirlpool tub which was great after long day of walking. Just down the street is a grocery where the local expats must shop - all sorts of imported foods in case you need a fix of goodies from home, and also had small bakery, fruit/veg stand, cheese section and beer/wine. Bit pricy but convenient, especially when we needed to get breakfast things to take on our day trips to Cu Chi or Mekong, which start quite early. The staff at the hotel were nice but not much English spoken. Breakfast was OK, but they had a hard time keeping it stocked and the breakfast room was really small. we got a great deal on hotels.com so thought it was good value in great location.

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have windows so may need to ask for one if you want them (although could make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
17
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It was my first time to HCM and I've chosen A&EM after a friend's advice. The hotel is located in the very central District 1, a few minutes away to many bars, restaurants and shops. Rooms are small but clean and well kept. There's a fast free wi-fi which I've rarely found in other hotels in Asia. Breakfast room doesn't have many tables, so you're likely to wait a few minutes before getting seated, but my advice is to skip breakfast at the hotel and go to one of the many bakeries around!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No Fixed Abode
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A real change to the typical Vietnamese Hotels - very modern, funky boutique feel to the place. Great location in D1, in a very cool area with loads of good places to eat & drink and close to central attractions. Paid a bit more for an upgraded room, which had a jacuzzi bath and all lights/aircon controlled by a master unit. A varied & very tasty buffet breakfast served up until 10AM for the weary ones like us! Service pretty good. Were made to pay for coffee sachets in the room, which was a first.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the deluxe rooms - with window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I travel frequently to Ho Chi Minh City (locals still refer to it as SAIGON), and always stay at the A&EM hotel along 153 Ly Tu Trung Street. The staff are a great lot and always smiling and friendly. It makes me feel like I am "coming home!"
The rooms are good and clean, everything works - breakfast acceptable for this catagory of accommdation - boutique. There is free wi-fi and computers for hotel guests in the breakfast area.
Location is also great - near Ben Thanh market, and within walking distance to most places in the centre of the city.
There are 5 other A&EM hotels in the vicinity - I have stayed in 3 of them, and all display the same standard of quality and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Perfect location at the heart of Saigon is the only strength of this hotel. We prefer a cleaner bed and a mosquito-free room to cheesy decor. Breakfast buffet was poor, but there r plenty of good restaurants and cafe within walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Izegem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the newest Hotel of the group A&EM. Because they want to promote this hotel we got a 30% discount (untill +/- 21 of July). Be sure to check by if the booking was ok. We arrived around 2 pm and they couldn't find our booking (which was done on their website). We were lucky the rooms we wanted were still available.

The hotel looks similar to the other Hotels in the group. You get a very clean room with a good bed and a bathroom that looks great ! I hope they will manage to keep everything the way it is now. The value for what you get is good. The location is very good as well. You are in the center by the Opera, City Hall, Notre Dame, many malls and hotels that are famous in the history of HCM / Saigon. Many good new restaurants in that neighbourhood as well.

You are not very close to the backpacking area near Pham Ngu Lao. To go there, you better take a taxi (car or motorbike). But over there restaurants and hotels have much lower quality than near Hai Ba Trung.

A negative point of all A&Em hotels : breakfast is poor for western people. They should be able to do better at this because in Vietnam you can find all you need : sandwich / baguette, nutella, honey, ham, cheese,...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregQ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#239 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
#336 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
#222 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#171 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
#104 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&EM 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
A&EM 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
#271 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel

Property: A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing