We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquari Hotel
Ranked #106 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not bad, not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Aquari Hotel is one of a line of boutique hotels lining the city center of Ho Chi Minh City. It is located in a leafy and quieter side street off District 1 with all the tourist and shopping attractions being close by. It is around 5 minute walk to Opera House and 10 minute walk to Ben Tanh Market.

We arrived late in the night so we got to try the hotel's food options twice - first was for in-room dining and second during breakfast the next day. For both instances, we found the food to be adequate. Like most hotels in Vietnam, their food selection consisted of standard fare such as pho, spring rolls and rice paper rolls. The breakfast selection had a bit of Western fare.

The room itself was okay. I have stayed in several hotels throughout Vietnam from numerous visits and found the standard to be about 3-star, which was fine considering the location and the price we were paying. The hotel is still new and it shows as well in the upkeep of the rooms. In-room amenities were standard, including flat-screen TV, safe, complimentary slippers as well as toiletries in the bathroom.

Service-wise, we found the staff manning the reception to be quite responsive when it came to tourist-related queries. We had also asked their help in booking of a taxi to the airport which was handled well. I was even given a piece of paper with the word "airport" written in Vietnamese just in case.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is certainly a notch up from the standard budget hotels that one finds all over HCMC. While those offer great value, Aquari Hotel justifies the higher price through "extras" as evidenced by their dining options, ambience and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    94
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
76
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and upon arrival our bags were quickly taken care of. Check in was fast and the receptionists were very friendly.
The room was bigger than I expected, breakfast was good and there were lots of channels on the TV.

For the price and location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel after reviewing a few others. Got a good deal from bookings.com for 3 nights. After checking in, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the room which I stayed (twin sharing suite) was very new. There was a see through window from the bedroom to the bathroom, great for couples haha! The bathroom is well equipped with all the essential toiletries if you forgotten to bring. The beds are spacious and there is a 32 inch LED TV, mini fridge and something unique. For those travelers who always forget the numeric passwords to the safe deposit box in hotels, the safe deposit box in Aquari is using a fingerprint bio metric system which is great for travelers who are absent minded. The breakfast at the hotel is also not bad as it was included in my deal. It is a local and western cuisine buffet breakfast.The hotel is well located to many attractions such as the Opera house, Ben Thanh Market, General Post Office and Notre Dame Church. Would stay there again if I ever go back to Ho Chi Ming City, Vietnam. Thanks to the staff of Aquari for making my stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharnFai3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Super area 15 'walk from the center, near restaurants of all classes, quiet street. Great hotel, comfortable, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, nice room decor simple and modern. Super prices for booking in advance with the promo period. 3-star who is 4 quality service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0bbyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Aquari Hotel for 3 nights. Rooms are spacious, clean and the breakfast had a great selection of local and western food.
unfortunately, we only had bad experience in all other matters:
the pre-arranged pick-up at the airport didn't show up and so we hat to 'fight' in the middle of the night to find a taxi. Then we found out that the taxi charge was 7 $ but the hotel would have charged us 30$, which is way overpriced and impudent.
The next day we wanted to book a private trip to the Mekong Delta, but the staff was absolutely incompetent and unwilling to help - in a travel agency a few houses away, it took us only 10 minutes do arrange the most beautiful trip.
Staff never greeted when entering or leaving the hotel, which we found very rude and impolite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Aquari Hotel for 3 nights and could not fault it. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was a perfect mix of local and western food. The location is exactly what we wanted, close to all the action (Dong Khoi, Ben Thanh Market, etc) but far enough (5-10min walk) that it was quiet. Walk downstairs and street food is readily available, walk for 2 minutes and you're at amazing restaurants. There is also lots of Vinasun taxis readily availlable out the front, they are a trustworthy company and would recommend them. It really covers all bases, we loved it and will definitely make Aquari Hotel our base in Saigon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastWestEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent 4 nights here while in HCMC, and this hotel was very central to most tourist locations in District 1 including the Reunification palace and war museums all within walking distance. Showers were the hottest we experienced while in Vietnam. There are many great restaurants near by and also walking distance to the Ben Thanh markets (the biggest markets we have ever seen). Bed was very comfortable and was a great nights sleep with almost no road noise. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Northern Hotel Saigon
Northern Hotel Saigon
#112 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nhat Ha3
Nhat Ha3
#118 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#107 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#23 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseland Corp Hotel
Roseland Corp Hotel
#83 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquari Hotel

Property: Aquari Hotel
Address: 9 Thi Sach St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquari Hotel will welcome you to a world of luxury. Downtown Saigon with its myriad of attractions such as Opera House, Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, Reunification Palace, History Museum, Ben Thanh Market is just 10 minutes walking. Saigon, with its quiet temples and parks, live night-entertainment places, is one of the most dynamic and comfortable cities, like Aquari Hotel, strikes the right balance between business and leisure. You will enjoy the convenient location of Little Japan, which is a quiet and safe area at the centre of Ho Chi Minh City.At our core value, we proudly offer the best, most personalized service for business travellers with comprehensive business facilities available in luxurious settings. We include business essentials in every room and provide meeting rooms up to 100 pax with all audio-visual and technological needs as well as catering services for longer meetings. The 90-room Aquari Hotel is designed to deliver a restful stay for business travellers. Many rooms have views to Saigon River so you can enjoy Saigon by night with a panoramic view. The nocturne of riverbank is very romantic for honeymooners. Imagine seeing the sunrise or sunset with a glass of wine after a hard-working or travelling day. How relaxing it is! Innovative design elements are featured in all aspects of the room as well as flexible workspaces with high-speed internet access...The Spring Restaurant offers International and Asian cuisines, along with some of the finest coffee and a variety of specialty teas, wine collection, fresh juices, house cocktails, sandwiches and snacks... The Coffee Corner will introduce you to famous Vietnamese coffees and diversified Western coffees. Refresh yourself with our soothing foot massage, body massage, sauna, steam room, and manicure/ pedicure... provided by highly trained specialists. Whether you stay at the hotel for business or leisure, it's a delightful way to wind down at the end of the day, or anytime! STAY WITH US, FEEL LIKE HOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing