We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel in Good Location”
Review of Aquari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquari Hotel
Ranked #112 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel in Good Location”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Aquari Hotel is in a good location, convenient to all the sights in District 1. There is construction nearby that may explain the comments about it not being a great street. We were never concerned with the area and it is close to several good restaurants. There is a very good vegetarian restaurant just a few doors away.
The room was a good size. It was non smoking but the hallway always smelled of cigarettes and after being away for the day and the air conditioning being off, we often returned to the stale smell of cigarettes. The bathroom is unusual with a ceiling that allows the noise from the room on the next floor to easily be heard. In fact, we could here the music from the hallway at all hours of the day and night.
The breakfast was okay but was on the early side (6am - 9am).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    94
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
77
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I can say it is a clean nice hotel however for the price you pay and the rules they pull out of no where it's terrible.

Went clubbing one night decided to bring a girl over to stay the night as she was too tired to ride her scooter back home. My room mate wasn't returning the night. So we had 2 beds in one room (wouldn't think it be a problem with an extra bed) Reception said that curfew to bring any girls into the hotel ends at 11pm. So we said fine rent us another room so no vacancy left. The Girl had no choice but to take the road.

Second night same deal however instead they said no visitors after 9.30PM!! this time. What a way to change the curfew over night. Then on top reception said it is against the "LAW" for foreign people to be spending the night with a local from HCMC in a hotel. Not sure if hotel staff was just hating on us or just cause i had a beautiful lady with me. The girl also got offended as they treated her like a prostitute which was embarrassing for me.

Paid over $100 a night in deluxe river view room. Was not impress with the view at all could see 85% buildings and 15% river.. check the room before you book if possible if you are not happy try complain.. we tried however they said it was too late to move us into another room. The staff is friendly dont get me wrong however the 2-3 incidents i had with the staff about bringing a girl back was terrible.

They made easy assumptions that the girls are prostitutes which really upset-ted my friends

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dte2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is tucked away from the main area and in not such a great street, which is a shame because the hotel is of good quality. We booked a deluxe river view room and stayed on two occasions in January, one for one night and one for three nights. The first stay was great. The second not so. Despite booking the same room quality we were given a room without a bath and with a shower with little water pressure. When we approached the front desk they insisted the problem was with Booking.com, but when we advised them that we had booked the initial stay with the same company they moved us back to the room we had booked.

Go for breakfast early. Once the food is gone, it is gone.

Rooms were great (once we got the issue sorted). Beds comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. Walking distance to the city centre and all of the attractions.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor to minimise the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I'm really confused by the star ratings in Vietnam. We have stayed in a few 4 * and they were not as nice as this place. It was a little walk to see the sights, but then you get to see more of the city. Can not recommend the spa more.... Really lovely girls that work there, some don't speak English, but they make the effort to communicate with you. My sister and I enjoyed a 60minute foot massage- best I have ever hard. They are really strong, which I liked, ask for softer if you don't like it! Delicious ginger tea as you sit back and relax :)
Beds in hotel were very comfy. The shower was great. All very clean and tidy, easy check in and check out. Breakfast was nice, large selection- fresh fruit, hot & cold foods. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only spent two days in Saigon and had a "superior" room at Aquari Hotel. The hotel looks modern with a nice, modern and spacious lobby. Front-desk staff was helpful. Our room was pretty standard but very clean. The size of the room was fine for two people and the bed was "super king size". The bathroom was also comfortable with a bathtub. The breakfast was complimentary and very good. A chef was preparing eggs for you according to your wishes. Maybe the best thing about the hotel, however, was its location. All the main attractions of the district were within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hotel is walking distance to major tourist attractions and restaurants and bars. Our room was very modern, spacious and clean. The breakfast is good. It's more a 4 star hotel. Value for money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Have nothing but good things to say about the Aquari. Picked up at the airport by super-friendly Dat. I know, a taxi would have been less expensive but there's something about being met. Informative and quick trip to the hotel. Booked into perfect room for 2 nights overlooking the River. Moving for next three nights to a stunning city view room with 3 huge windows and view of city & partial river. Beds are fine for me, but pillows are a bit hard. No real complaints though. Enormous king size bed, lots of storage space, writing (PC) desk and excellent TV set with an unexpected number of channels. Full marks for that! The Internet is blazing fast. Faster and less intermittent than I've ever had previously anywhere in the world. It looks to me like there might be a router in each room? I could be wrong. I found the front desk and front door staff to be beyond perfection. I had problem with my PC when I first arrived, and one of the front desk gentlemen took about 20 minutes out of his busy day and SOLVED the technical problem! This is beyond what one would expect. Have enjoyed my breakfasts so far .. Absolutely no complaints with food or staff.

I can't understand the three star rating though. From other hotels where I have stayed in most major cities around the planet, the Aquari Hotel would be rated at LEAST a 4 star property, or more. I couldn't ask for anything better. A home like this in Ho Chi Minh makes me want to return again. Thank you kind people at the Aquari.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is to try this hotel. I cannot imagine being disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwpyvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Northern Hotel Saigon
Northern Hotel Saigon
#109 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nhat Ha3
Nhat Ha3
#118 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#110 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#22 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseland Corp Hotel
Roseland Corp Hotel
#87 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#49 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquari Hotel

Property: Aquari Hotel
Address: 9 Thi Sach St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquari Hotel will welcome you to a world of luxury. Downtown Saigon with its myriad of attractions such as Opera House, Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, Reunification Palace, History Museum, Ben Thanh Market is just 10 minutes walking. Saigon, with its quiet temples and parks, live night-entertainment places, is one of the most dynamic and comfortable cities, like Aquari Hotel, strikes the right balance between business and leisure. You will enjoy the convenient location of Little Japan, which is a quiet and safe area at the centre of Ho Chi Minh City.At our core value, we proudly offer the best, most personalized service for business travellers with comprehensive business facilities available in luxurious settings. We include business essentials in every room and provide meeting rooms up to 100 pax with all audio-visual and technological needs as well as catering services for longer meetings. The 90-room Aquari Hotel is designed to deliver a restful stay for business travellers. Many rooms have views to Saigon River so you can enjoy Saigon by night with a panoramic view. The nocturne of riverbank is very romantic for honeymooners. Imagine seeing the sunrise or sunset with a glass of wine after a hard-working or travelling day. How relaxing it is! Innovative design elements are featured in all aspects of the room as well as flexible workspaces with high-speed internet access...The Spring Restaurant offers International and Asian cuisines, along with some of the finest coffee and a variety of specialty teas, wine collection, fresh juices, house cocktails, sandwiches and snacks... The Coffee Corner will introduce you to famous Vietnamese coffees and diversified Western coffees. Refresh yourself with our soothing foot massage, body massage, sauna, steam room, and manicure/ pedicure... provided by highly trained specialists. Whether you stay at the hotel for business or leisure, it's a delightful way to wind down at the end of the day, or anytime! STAY WITH US, FEEL LIKE HOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing