We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best location, but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #20 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best location, but comfortable”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Alcove Library Hotel for one night in February 2014. We stayed in a suite, which had a little kitchenette with a stove and microwave. We only stayed for one night, so did not use it, but for people considering a long stay, this could be a nice feature. The room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom and shower needed a little updating and painting.

The hotel was about a 5-10 minute taxi ride from the airport, so it was convenient, but was not located downtown near many of the museums and tourist attractions.

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The rooftop restaurant had an outside seating area which was a nice place for drinks. The breakfast was not a buffet, but a selection from a menu. The food quality and service were very good.

The Wifi connection was good and for people staying longer, there were lots of books to borrow from the lobby library. There was also a nice outside terrace area in front of the hotel.

Overall, although not the best location, it was convenient for short stays because of it's proximity to the airport. It was clean and comfortable, and the service was very nice. It was a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRPRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your interesting in The Alcove Library Hotel.

According to your valued comments we understand that you and your husband had a great time staying with us although your recommendation is the bathroom needed a little updating and painting. We have well noted of this information and we are trying to innovate our accommodation as best as we can.

We feel very sorry due to your short-time staying thus you could not spend much time enjoying with us.

Please let us know if you have any further recommendation.

We look forward to hearing form you.

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    260
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
120
326
101
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us during our 3 day stay. We loved the decor throughout the hotel and everything was spotlessly clean. It was very relaxing to have waiter service at breakfast after so many buffet breakfasts in other hotels on our travels through Vietnam and Cambodia. The freshly made pancakes served with banana and cream were delicious!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel.

It's great to know you had a very comfortable end enjoyable stay last time. It is great to have your comments here. We will maintain and keep up our good service standard to serve you better for next stays.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Phu Quoc and it was perfect.
The service is great, it is in a great location for the Airport and the City, and the beds are so comfortable.
The restaurant does it's job, although lacked a wide range of authentic Vietnamese food.
I would recommend anyone to stay here if you are visiting HCM.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adst73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel to accommodate yourself on your Phu Quoc trip.

And great thanks for your wonderful comments here. We are very happy that you were enjoying to stay with us. The Alcove Library management & team will keep up and improve our services & facilities more and more to serve you and our customers in the future

We are waiting for your next arrival...

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my partner. I was very happy that I chose this hotel. The ambience was lovely and the building was gorgeous. It isn't a perfect hotel, there are still some small growing pains in the details especially things like upkeep of the suites.
I stayed in the queen room which was comfortable and clean, but as others had written very cozy for two people. We had a lovely window overlooking the entry and the street. It was always quiet and peaceful. Only the occasional sounds during busy times on the street, which didn't bother us. The room had a tiny mini fridge and generous amenities in the bathroom. The bathroom has a sliding door which sometimes got stuck if you closed it to far, but it wasn't a big deal for us.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The airport driver Mr. Peter was very informative in recommending places and overall a very nice gentleman. The front desk and doormen were always eager to help, calling taxis for us and telling the drivers our address in Vietnamese.
We had a delicious and filling complimentary breakfast at the hotel restaurant The Roadhouse. The servers were always cheerful and efficient. We ate dinner a few times as well and we found the menu to be excellent and good value for money. The rooftop view is lovely and gives a sense of romance.
The location is very close to the airport about fifteen minutes, and close to districts 1 and 2. Very easy and cheap to get taxis to both areas. We would go to the sites and experience the frenetic chaos that is Ho Chi Minh and then return to some peace at the hotel.
The hotel itself is on a small side street of a major road. There isn't a lot around; one small local grocery store and a few local restaurants and cafés. So if you crave instant nightlife or access to variety, it may be lacking. But what the hotel does offer is a wonderful classy atmosphere, good service, friendly and great staff who are striving to provide a memorable experience for their guests. I would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mahogany76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for talking time to share your impressions. Nothing more encouraging for The Alcove Library Hotel staff than to be recognized of the effort we spent to make our guest happy and satisfied.

We highly appreciate your staying with us and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you, your family and your friend soon.

Yours sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

On recommendation, I booked the Alcove for a recent overnight in HCMC when arriving from overseas and leaving the next morning for a domestic flight.

The hotel really is very close to the airport - only 10-15 minutes. So it makes for an easy overnight stop.

What is really great is that the hotel is exactly true to label, exactly as the website photos portray it. This is very refreshing. All staff were so pleasant, warm and helpful - clearly the management take customer service and staff training very seriously. The rooms are not large but, really, it's just a place to sleep. They are clean, well designed, great bathrooms and have everything needed. I had a really good sleep in the comfortable bed.

Breakfast was served by yet more charming staff. Service was good and the food selection was agreeably small. My dish was well prepared and tasted great.

This is a hotel I would definitely stay at for longer - it's like a little oasis in the hubbub of HCMC. Well done to the management and staff for creating such a cool boutique hotel in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustHappilyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sir,

We are delighted to receive your great comments here. Thank you very much for spending time to share your experience about staying with The Alcove Library Hotel

We will always trying to maintain & develope our services and we do hope that you and our customers will feel it better & better for every stay in the future

We are looking forward to welcome you back again

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I am writing from memory of my visit a year ago.
The location was not bad as you can call for a taxi to take you to the tourist spots. Taxi drivers were able to get to the hotel through narrow streets by giving them the address. Once there was a time I had to show a picture of a bank near the hotel with its address for the driver to understand the location. That time I had walked from that bank. (It amazed me how all the taxi drivers preferred the address than maps.)
I was a little worried about the smell I had read in the reviews and I did happen to get the room (or the floor) with the smell. But once I've mentioned the smell at breakfast, they had scented oil burning under the sink in the bathroom when we got back.
The room I stayed was not big, but with my experience I had with this hotel, I would love to pay a little more and stay in the bigger room they have.
The bed and pillows were clean and comfy.
The staff was wonderful, even the cleaning lady was super-friendly! It's been a year now but I sure hope they are all still there. I had no trouble communicating with them in English.
I loved the tea/coffee they offered when first introduced to the room and also waiting for a taxi in the lobby.
The highlight of the building is the entrance/lobby with the arch-shaped bookshelf and the view of the neighborhood from the roof where you can have breakfast. I was able to take interesting pictures.
I remember the manager saying they were planning to open more hotels. I was very excited to hear this and I believe the key to success of this hotel in order of importance, is the well-trained polite/friendly staff (the staff was so polite they can work in Japan!), the clean interior, the food at the restaurant and the pho served at breakfast. I wish you big success!
日本語
一年前に訪れた記憶を辿ります...
ホテルから観光スポットへはタクシーで行けます。運転手に住所を見せれば細い道を通ってホテルに到着できました。一度、ホテルの近くにある銀行の住所付きの写真を見せる必要がありましたがそのときは銀行から徒歩で帰れました。
事前にレビューで拝読したにおいが気になりましたが、不運にもそのにおいの部屋(またはフロア)に当たってしまいました。朝食の時ににおいのことを伝えたら、部屋に戻ったときにアロマオイルが焚かれていました。
滞在した部屋は小さめですが、次回は多めに払ってでも大きい部屋にも滞在する価値があると思いました。
ベッドと枕も清潔で心地良かったです。
スタッフは素晴らしく、お掃除のおばちゃんもとてもフレンドリーでした。今も同じスタッフがいらっしゃることを願います。英語でコミュニケーションする分には問題ありませんでした。
お部屋に最初に案内されたときと、ロビーでタクシーを待っている間に出されるコーヒーか紅茶のサービスは嬉しかったです。
建物のハイライトはエントランス兼ロビーにあるアーチ型の本棚と朝食を食べれる屋上からの近所の眺めです。良い写真が撮れました。
マネージャーの方に更にホテルをオープンする予定があると伺いました。このホテルの成功は日本でも接客業ができるんじゃないかと思うくらいのスタッフ、清潔感、レストランのおいしい食事と朝食のフォーにあると思います!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yuka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Yuka,

Thank you so much for your interest in our hotel and also great thanks for your comments.

We will keep up and develope our service standard more and more, to make sure your next stay with us will be much better

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

On our way home and we needed to spend to night for a very early flight in the morning. This hotel was more than we expected. It is off the main streets, so there is very little noise. After a walk around the interesting neighborhood, we had a quiet dinner outside at the rooftop restaurant. When we got up at 3:00 AM, to our surprise, they had made us each a packaged breakfast that we could take to the airport and they called a taxi for us. We really appreciated the breakfast because nothing was open that early in the morning. One note: At the airport it is very easy to get a taxi to the hotel, but bring a map. The airport didn't know where the hotel was and charged us $10 for a $3 taxi ride.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mr David,

We were delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us.

We sincerely appreciate your kind response regarding our efforts to improve our hotel services and look forward to seeing you again, we too enjoyed getting to know you better.

Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#37 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing