We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice 2 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinh Phat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dinh Phat Hotel
Ranked #174 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice 2 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for a night coz we arrived at around 1 am in HCM and didn't want to pay a lot for a few hours of sleep. If you are arriving early in the morning, I would strongly recommend telling the hotel your time of arrival coz you might be in for a surprise. We informed the hotel of our time of arrival and we're glad that we did coz when we went down the lobby an hour after we went up to our room, the lights in the lobby were turned off. The receptionist (who sat up when he realized that the elevator opened) and 2 other staff members were sleeping. There was even one with a folding bed by the door. We got a bit bothered by this, but didn't think much of it. I just think it would be really inconvenient for some because from the outside the hotel would seem to be closed.

But that was a minor thing for us. We were after the room, which was really big for its price. The beds were comfortable. It even had a jacuzzi type tub. The free breakfast was also alright. Enough to keep you going for the day. The best thing was the view. You can see Bitexco Tower from the window and even Cho Ben Tahn market (forgive my spelling).

The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes from Cho Ben Tahn market. Its downtown but in a more secluded and quiet part. A mini mart is about 2 short blocks away. You can walk to some attractions or ride the taxis which are very abundant in HCM.

Overall, good value for the money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 8neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
22
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel back and forth for almost 3 weeks during our holiday in Vietnam. The hotel is located just 5 minutes by foot from Ben Thanh Market, which we greatly enjoyed, as it was easy to just take a stroll into the city center in the evenings.

The rooms are quite spacious, clean and comfortable. Both the air condition and the WiFi works perfectly, which was appreciated, especially after travelling around Vietnam and experiencing how surprisingly bad other highly rated hotels can be at these things. The rooms are quite thinly insulated, and outside noise from the hallways can be a problem, especially during the weekends when people return to the hotel during the middle of the night. If this happens to you, I recommend calling the front desk; they quickly took care of the problem after being notified.

The staff was very helpful in general, and going out of their way to help us make the most of our vacation. Unfortunately, they forgot to pick us up at the airport as we had previously agreed upon, despite a very reassuring confirmation email from the manager sent before we arrived. Upon calling the hotel, they first told us to wait for half an hour while they drove to pick us up. After travelling for almost 24 hours, this was unacceptable; we took a taxi to the hotel instead, and the reception covered our taxi fare upon arrival.

The included breakfast was very nice and home-cooked, and there were several choices ranging from Western food to local courses. They make a great Vietnamese iced coffee, which serves as a great start for your day in Saigon. As the food was freshly made upon ordering, preparation could take a long time, especially if there was several guests having breakfast at the same time. You should plan ahead and have plenty of time to enjoy your breakfast; if you are short on time, consider having your breakfast in one of the restaurants outside, or in the Ben Thanh market.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

the hotel, reception, cleanliness, rooms, etc are all good beside the location convenient since not far from Ben Thanh market (though one should not focus too much on this market which becomes and made mainly for tourists therefore excessive prices...).
the staff globally are kind and very helpful (knowing that I can speak Vietnamese so contact is easier...).
if we need to spend a few nights in Saigon, this could be the place that I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phu0ng_Dinhphath0tel, Manager at Dinh Phat Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Duke007_10,

Thank you for choosing Dinh Phat hotel and a very kind feedback. We highly appreciate guest's feedback so that we can improve our services and products that on your next trip to Saigon with us we will deliver a better experience.

Sincerely,

Phuong Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Located just a short walk from benh tanh market. Staff only to happy to help. Few street vendors and restaurant s located next door. Rooms are spacious. We were 1 st floor on the street side and the road is pretty noisy. If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Breakfast was fine, melon pineapple juice and a choice of hot noodles soups etc. We opted for the bread and jams. I would stay here again. Good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Soopa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel in February and can recommend it. Close to the market but far enough away from the much noisier back-packer area. People who run the hotel are very nice and helpful. A good choice for a few days in Saigon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've stayed at the Dinh Phat Hotel on my last 2 visits to HCMC and I thoroughly recommend it. It's on a quiet street near the Ben Thanh Market and the Fine Arts Museum but far enough away from the noisier backpacker area. At the moment there is a new building going up nearby but I haven't noticed any noise problems. However, I'd advise asking for a room on the upper floors as these are quieter. The staff are friendly and helpful with a good level of English spoken at the front desk and an enjoyable breakfast. My favourite thing is the bath tub that's been in every room I've had and loads of hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Our room has a window where the outside view is the street where the view is beautiful. The room for 4 is spacious and it has a long bench and a table. The breakfast is yummy. The staffs are friendly where they always accommodate when we ask directions and they have money exchange. The location is near the market and saigon square but in order to go there you need to cross the deadly street. But is okay just wait for a local to cross and follow them. Highly reccommended for tourists so that you might not loss in Vietnam.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dleighcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#149 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#131 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#165 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#96 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pravina Hotel
Pravina Hotel
#172 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#123 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinh Phat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinh Phat Hotel

Property: Dinh Phat Hotel
Address: 143 141, Calmette, Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dinh Phat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinh Phat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing