We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Backpacking Club Hostel
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I booked here for 3 nights and stayed a day longer because it's a great place and he's a good price for what you get I stayed in the vijf bed dormitory room and had no complaints what so ever it's also in the middle of the backpackers district so everything is close by it's just perfect if you want to stay good and cheap plus for the five dollar a night you have breakfast included

  • Stayed September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonchielens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The main reason for choosing this hostel was the location, right next to the bus stop, so it was easy to get in and out of Saigon (Ho Chi Min City). Staff is nice and helpful. They kept our luggage all day and let us use shower facilities even after checkout. We booked a private twin room, but instead we were put in a 5-bed-dorm room, but only we used it, so it was ok. They also have a choice of tours, we booked CuChi tunnels tour with them, and it was very good, although we had a small misunderstanding with the payment, at check-out they were claiming we had not paid, while we had paid the day before with a different staff member. But finally we did not have to pay twice. Breakfast is included, but very simple. Overall it is a good value.

It is behind main Pham Ngu Lao street in very small alleys and hard to find in the beginning. Should have more references to find it, besides the address.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived in Ho Chi Minh having booked this hostel previous to arrival, and had booked a twin private room. When we showed up they had no twin rooms available for us, so instead they put us in a five bed dorm with just us in it, which was a fair compromise. There is plenty of tour to do in Ho Vhi Minh and we booked two through this hostel. The first was the Cu Chi tunnels whihc was excellent, but the second was for the floation market, and when we arrived at the Mekong Delta, there was no floating market. It was still an alright trip, but not what we had paid to do. Otherwise we had a good stay here, with good wifi, showers and beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great location in district 1, by everything you could need or see!
Very clean rooms with air conditioning, free use of computers and good wifi! Minimal breakfast included and ice tea on arrival.
Helpful staff who can change money, book trips, ect.
Only point: white clothes came back from laundry pink!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Walked in to the hostel to ask for a bed and was shown to the dorm immediately. For only $5 a night you get a comfortable bed in a 9-bed dorm with aircon 24/7. They will keep your passport and you only pay when you check out. Breakfast included, simple scrambled eggs with baguette and coffee/tea. I think this hostel is run by a family so you'll feel like staying at a guesthouse. Tours and buses can be booked at the recep as well. The only downside is that the toilet and shower is located inside the room so it could be inconvenient to other guests.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mik2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

For 5$ a night in a 6-8 bed dorm with breakfast included and air con/TV you can't really go wrong! It may be a little hard to find, down a dingy alleyway however it was worth searching for. In a very central location close to all the bars and restaurants in district 1 it has friendly staff and a very clean environment. For budget conscious travellers this is perfect!

Room Tip: 5 floors and no elevator, if you can't be bothered with stairs try to get one on a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaLevin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Normal hostel.
Booked two twins, got 5bed dorm for ourselfes.
Toilet and shower inside the room and just covered with plastic wall.
Location good
Staff not good in english
Breakfast -fresh made scrambled eggs, but still poor.


Probably worth it for $10 p.P. Per night

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank totobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#76 of 593 in Ho Chi Minh City
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Backpackers Hostel
Eco Backpackers Hostel
#21 of 593 in Ho Chi Minh City
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacking Club Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacking Club Hostel

Property: Backpacking Club Hostel
Address: 19 269, De Tham, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 593 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing