We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Center of District 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon River Boutique Hotel
Ranked #98 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Nambucca Heads NSW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the Center of District 1”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights in a family room during March.
Location is excellent and is within walking distance of all tourist sites, restaurants and markets in District 1. Saigon in March in the afternoons is very hot
Staff are friendly and show an interest in your activities, they are the strength of the hotel.
Breakfast is served on 7th floor (lift only goes to 5th) and is somewhat limited but OK, we also had drinks and a lunch during our stay which was very enjoyable.
Lounge and dining area on 7th floor are an easy climb for the last 2 floors and offer a relaxed atmosphere and limited view of the river.
Room was compact and contained a double and a single and beds which where firm. Room has larger than normal fridge and quaint old safe key operated for your valuables which offers more storage then usual.
Overall a good choice for a couple of days if you have a full itinerary as it is quick and easy to get about.

Room Tip: Try to get the larger a larger room if a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soapy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for coming to stay at SGR Hotel and we appreciate that you took time out during your travels to write a review.
Feel I should mention that there are actually two breakfast options, but suspect our new staff member may have been remiss in not offering the second option to you. There is the basic inclusive menu, which most guests appreciate as it enables guests to keep their traveling costs down. The second menu is much more extensive and you simply pay extra for the choices you make, with for example the SGR Hotel ' Big Breakfast' being the most popular choice.
We do offer a variety of room sizes amongst the sixteen rooms in the hotel and cannot resist mentioning that actually some of our guests are long term and soon become part of the hotel's life and similarly we also have a great many guests who are return guests and it is always so enjoyable to great them when they return. I hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back in the future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    95
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
76
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Dear Daniel and the rest of the wonderful staff at Saigon River Boutique Hotel,

Thank you for having us last week.

We really had a blast staying at your hotel and the help rendered to us by Daniel certainly went above and beyond the call of duty.

Having traveled extensively and staying in numerous hotels before, the services rendered at your hotel wins the rest hands down.

And I am talking about big names such as REX, Novotel and Sheraton.

You guys make me feel like I am coming home where everyone is always beaming with a big warm smile.

So much so that we will be staying with you guys again the next time I visit HCMC again.

Aside to Ram and Tim (I hope I got the names right),

You guys got a winning formula in making this hotel successful and it was great chatting with you on the rooftop.

I believe you will give the rest of the hotels a run for their money.

Buildings and furnishings are only the infrastructure; your staff give the hotel the soul.

And you got a great team giving your hotel a wonderful soul.

Cheers,
Patrick

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pureice68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Stop stop! More more! Almost blushing from your such glowing remarks, but I really want to thank you, as our aim is to care for our guests as if they were visiting our family home and that is how it felt for us too when you were staying with us recently. It was such a pleasure having you to stay and I am sure all our staff felt the same, touched by your kind spirit.
Daniel has become an iconic member of our staff and really takes on a valued ownership of our business, appreciated by myself and partner Tim, as well as valued guests.
You almost got the owners names right. Tim is correct, but Ram should have been Graeme, but I was amused as I was a sheep farmer in Australia for many years, so Ram became a humorous reference to my past.
I will be a blast for us to welcome you back in the near future and trust you will feel equally at home, this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely small hotel in perfect location. My room was clean and comfortable to stay and friendly staff are always helpful especially Daniel at the reception. I would love to be back here when I have a chance to visit Ho Chi Minh City again. Thank you !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezarpontsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us again and so happy that you were comfortable and well cared for. Daniel is indeed the embodiment of hospitality, really aiming to please our guests with spirit, practicality and good humor.
Everyone finds the location to be perfect really and that is why we were attracted to the site too. Location, location, location!
We really are so delighted when we have guests who keep to returning to stay with us as you do and of course really hope it is not too long before you join 'the family' at SGR Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Boutique?! Another fake name: only goid thing about this hotel is centra l location close to river. Stinky Chinese without education sleeping in reception, no window mini room full of mosquitos (agoda booking), etc.avoid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 411yvesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
To be honest I am a little disappointed in myself that I just did not ignore your offensive and arrogant review, but out of respect for my staff I must respond.
I watched footage of your arrival, which was at 2:30am. Our hotel is a small hotel and I do not expect our night door man to remain awake for the full night. He sleeps across the entrance to ensure that no one can enter, which is very much the custom in Vietnam. I was hugely offended that you referred to this charming and always personally well groomed and charming young Vietnamese man, as a "stinky Chinese". What planet are you living one, bearing in mind that this is simply how many of your own country men are better thought of for their cologne, than for their personal hygiene.
Your partner had apparently arrived earlier and had settled into your chosen room, which was the cheapest we offer. We may have the occasional mosquito, but then you are visiting a tropical country and rarely are these annoying insects cause for any concern from previous guest using these small rooms. The room was windowless indeed, so one has to wonder how the room filled with mosquitoes and why your partner never notified reception, prior to your arrival. Our receptionist, can speak French, excellent English, a little Thai, Cambodian, Russian, German and a smattering of other languages, excels in customer service, humor and never smells,so I am sure he would have addresses any issues you may have raised, should you have raised them.
JeanPaul Satre once wrote in regards to visual creators, that whether the artist painted a landscape, or still life, he always painted a portrait of themselves and suspect that your offensive comments were more a portrait of yourself. I have stopped thinking that the customer is always right. You booked only for one night and fortunately continued your journey after a few hours at our hotel and one has to wonder what depth there is to your life, that you can be so harsh, without being open enough to experience all that others have endlessly found to be positive during their stay.
Sent from my iPad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Boutique?! Another fake name: only goid thing about this hotel is centra l location close to river. Stinky Chinese without education sleeping in reception, no window mini room full of mosquitos (agoda booking), etc.avoid.

Helpful?
2 Thank 411yvesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I needed to book one night in Saigon before I returned to AU. I also wanted to stay in the Dong Khoi area without the Dong Khoi prices.

When I booked here (through Agoda) my expectations weren't high considering the price. I booked a Standard room as I wasn't planning to spend much time in my room.

Walking through the front door just blew me away. WOW if you like eclectic, funky, clever decor - this will amaze you. So fresh and stylish. Whilst checking in I was offered a refreshing drink and Daniel checked me in, quickly and efficiently. (Loved the jackets the reception staff wore)

The doorman took my bags upto room 402. What a surprise! Granted there was no window (which I expected and is quite common in all of Vietnam) the mirrored wall made the room seem larger. Overall the the room was had all I needed, comfy bed, fridge, jug, WIFI, desk and a walk in shower with a great dual shower head.

The roof top restaurant and bar are on the 7th floor. You need to walk from level 5, but not a big deal. It was perfect, wonderful breezes and a view to the river. You could spend hours up there relaxing, reading a book enjoying a coffee. I rarely eat in the hotels I stay at, but I loved the roof top area so much I ate there. The meals were good and well priced. Breakfast was either a choice from a set menu (included in your room rate) or from the menu. Freshly baked baguette, omelette and brewed coffee did it for me.

This is a boutique hotel, don't go there expecting 5 star. I would stay there again, but book the next level of room as I would be staying longer. Job well done to the owners, Daniel, Kelvin and the gorgeous girl in the restaurant who I managed to confuse dreadfully.

The location is brilliant, such a beautiful area to stay in.
Yep, I am a big fan and so happy I found SRBH. I will back next year.

Room Tip: Room 402 is a standard room with no window. It was clean, well lit and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Love at first sight is exciting and how fortunate our hotel is to have some one who is so bright, vivacious and generous, to fall in love with it.
Very please that you love our reception area, as we really wanted something that was vibrant and contemporary to provide a fresh option for travelers. One year after opening we wanted to add to our fresh look by introducing a new uniform for our reception staff that was also stylish and youthful. The staff were wrapped, so I am glad you responded well too.
We have no ambitions to be a five star hotel, but do always aim to be creative, super friendly and importantly really care for our guests.
I agree with you that the location is great and really hope we can welcome you back again soon, to discover more of this fascinating SE Asian city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

In Old Saigon, with the famous old Continental Hotel only a stroll away, we found our balcony room just fine for savouring this city, leaving on foot most days (of the five we had) after a light rooftop breakfast with the ebullient maitre'd. Full marks also to the comfy rooftop back lounge for chilling/emailing/web etc, with an excellent in-house sound system.
Obviously with a front room overlooking daily life on the street, you get some traffic noise but it's not frantic.
Caught up in our room with musician friends in town and the mini-bar was magically replenished (!). Gourmet eating or markets' fare is also easily accessed nearby, as is the Saigon River itself.
Cleverly tucked in amongst some big namer, we enjoyed relaxing in the pleasant sunny room and the responsive service, thanks to Kelvin.

Room Tip: Location of this boutique hotel is ideal if you want to see District 1 on foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hestercoombe, Owner at Saigon River Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind response to your stay at SGR Hotel. So pleased that you enjoyed being with us and as owners of the hotel we both have creative back grounds, similar to yourself. Mine in contemporary art and my partner with studies in music, which flow on into what is important to us and the direction of the hotel. We once stayed in a four star hotel in Dalat, which played the same track over and over during breakfast, for the four days we stayed there. I was ready to buy a gun, so just as well there wasn't a fifth day and that low bench mark has stayed in my mind, so welcomed your positive comments about our sound system. I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet, so I hope SG will lure you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#58 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roseland Point Hotel
Roseland Point Hotel
#111 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#240 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon River Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon River Boutique Hotel

Property: Saigon River Boutique Hotel
Address: 58 Mac Thi Buoi Street, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon River Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in shady Mac Thi Buoi Street Saigon, neighbours to many boutiques, restaurants, the stunningly beautiful Opera House, tree-lined Dong Khoi street, Saigon's most fashionable and like wise a short walk to the broad waters of Saigon River, from which the hotel takes its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ctrip TA so you can book your Saigon River Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing