We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Clean Modern... Convenient Location”
Review of The Luxe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Luxe Hotel
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I came to Sài Gòn with my wife for her first visit. I was born in this lovely city and lived here until 10. I've been back to Sài Gòn many times and have stayed at various places from budget hotels to 4 stars ones.

Because we are traveling through Asia for three weeks and used Saigon as our base, we wanted to stay at a place that is comfortable yet doesn't break the bank. We are in Sài Gòn for three separate legs. I booked The Luxe for the first leg through Agoda. I got the window room for $42 USD/night. We requested the highest floor possible and the hotel gave us the 8th floor. The room/hotel doesn't have much of a view as it is situated behind Bến Thành Market and all you'll see are streets and lots of traffic. The window room was loud and I wasn't able to get much sleep. Starting at 6 AM, you'll hear street vendors and honking noises.

Despite the negatives, my wife and I really liked the modern amenities, the clean, comfortable rooms, and the friendly staff so we decided to come back for our second and again for our third leg because this hotel check most of the boxes for us. Why kept trying to find another place to stay but this hotel gave us enough good reasons to come back. We got the no window rooms the 2nd and 3rd time and they were much more quiet. We were able to sleep in until 11am!

Pros:

-Very clean and comfortable room with modern amenities. Rooms have big flat screen TV, hair dryer, modern bathroom, safe, and hard but comfortable bed.
-Friendly and helpful staff that are always looking to be helpful. Someone will respond within 2 minutes if you ask for anything. Front door staff always helpful with direction or calling for taxi.
-Good breakfast that is included in the price. It features made-to-order eggs or Vietnamese noodle soup du jour. Everything is fresh and plentiful. The spread includes fresh fruits, juices, western selections such as cereal, bacon, ham and sausages. Eastern selections such as fried rice, noodles, and congees. The restaurant crew is very helpful and friendly. They always have good advice on where to go if you're doing tourist things or a story to get your day started with a smile.
-Nice, strong central air conditioning.
-Great central location behind Bến Thành Market (in the middle between the fancy shops and backpacker area). The area is nice, clean, and quiet comparing to the budget hotels in Phạm Ngũ Lão backpacker area. Within walking distance to many great shops, eats, and drinking place. Two houses down from Circle K if you need anything, even late at night.
-Nice lobby area with comfortable couches if you have guests visiting you at the hotel.

Cons:

-On a one way street so taxi drivers may miss it. Also a newer hotel so not many people know its whereabout. Make sure you know it's exact address or have it written out.
-Window rooms are quite noisy. Walls are also thin so you'll be woken early if you're a light sleeper. The window rooms are not worth the extra money.
-The prices are more expensive if booking through the hotel directly. Try Agoda.
-The glass wall bathroom can be awkward if toured traveling with friends or family. Even though there is a screen.

Tips:

(1) Don't get the window room and request higher floor for more peace and quiet.
(2) Hotel is on the left hand side on Lê Thánh Tôn after Trưong Đinh intersection.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank SuperTBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Luxe is a beautiful, boutique hotel that is relatively new on the HCMC hotel scene. The hotel is ultra modern and in an amazing location in District 1 of HCMC 150m from the Ben Than Markets (a great place to shop but a petty crime hotspot.) The rooms in the hotel are very large and quite stark. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel but it seemed like many websites (like BBC, CNN, Wikipedia and YouTube) were blocked. The buffet breakfast is fine, no complaints variety of food is average. Hotel staff are courteous and friendsly. Side Note: The photo of the hotel on the tripadvisor page is HEAVILY photoshopped, the are buildings right next to the hotel and seeing a sunset would be impossible from where the photo is taken.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank 007forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Only stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013 on a quick stopover in Saigon between Nha Trang and Phnom Penh. It was cheap, fairly central to a lot of attractions or a quick tuk tuk or cab away. I got the cheapo room, no windows, but shower and facilities all worked ok. Wifi was decent, bed was firm, and front desk was fairly helpful in helping out with tuk tuk drivers and the sort [female staff, male staff was very grumpy and not so friendly]. Very close to only Starbucks in all of Vietnam, but don't get coffee there its awful and with so many local cheap options around almost stupid. But happening scene if you're into mingling with the locals or like-minded adventurers.

Room Tip: Hard to find for most drivers, so save the location on your phone's google maps to help drivers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hashman_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed three nights at The Luxe in rooms with windows. The rooms were spacious and clean. Highly recommended. The location is good, close to many great restaurants, easy to get around. The staff was welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: choose a room with a window. get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodelokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the luxe hotel ho chi minh for 4 nights and we can not fault a thing. The staff were fabulous, helpful and friendly. The room is immaculate and cleaned daily. The location is brilliant and within walking distance of almost everything.

There is traffic noise but this is Asia and it is all part of the experience and hasn't bothered us at all ... in fact, we have spent some time just watching it all from our window with delight.

We would definitely come back here and I highly recommend the luxe.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staff are ultra nice and helpful rooms are extremely clean the hotel is on a busy road so you get quite a bit of noise but we expected that due to the location which is perfect for getting around.
The hotel is modern and of a high standard breakfast was nice the head waiter is very attentive .
The bathroom has a glass divider but there is a blind ..this is common around Asia we really enjoyed our stay at the luxe.
If you go over the road turn left straight ahead on the corner is a excellent restaurant its a must

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window we was on floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

the hotel had no window but it's a good thing as it shields out the incessant honking of vehicles, the room is well lit making up for the dark room. interestingly, the toilet has no walls, it had a glass divider and a curtain to blind out the toilet. nonetheless it was a good experience for the room, it was cozy. the staffs were friendly and there is also tea served while guests wait at the lobby. the breakfast served was average though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#98 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#87 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#48 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#93 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
775 reviews
0 mi away
zoolut Stay 271
zoolut Stay 271
#99 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#56 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luxe Hotel

Address: 265 261, Le Thanh Ton Street | Ben Thanh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £28 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luxe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing