We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #135 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quite good,”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, in Feb when passing through Ho Chi Min.

Room was ok, nicely decorated, shower was a bit average, reception staff were ok.

Pool area looked good, didn't use it, but looked the part, Wi-Fi was sluggish to be kind. Didn't have breakfast as it was quite pricey, roome service seemed well priced though.

The annoying thing was the $20 casino voucher, you can only use it on slot machines, staff couldn't help us much, so we left, but the casino looked pretty naff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliedocherty-GLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    72
    55
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
44
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Checked into this hotel on 30 Jan 2014 and stayed for 4 nights. We booked for 4 rooms. The rooms are spacious and clean. We were given a super king and single bed room type. The bed was comfortable . Really had a good night rest. As we travelled during the Chinese New Year period, most of the shops were closed ! Inclusive the big shopping mall ! Disappointed though ! Surprisingly the karaoke in the hotel was closed too ! Casino was empty, no patron at all except us ! Hotel staff were very helpful and assisted us by booking restaurants which was open....Ban Than market was closed ! Never travell during this period !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We just checked out of the hotel today, and I felt compelled to leave a review after reading so many scathing reviews here on tripadvisor. I'm really not sure why so many people had left such bad reviews, as we had such a nice time. This was probably the nicest place we stayed so far on out travels in south east Asia, and was certainly only a fraction of the cost of other 4 star hotels.

My advice would be not to listen to the bad reviews and just stay there, because these seem to be the main things people complained about:

"Bad location" - although the location was not in district one, it was still very central in terms of the sprawling metropolis of HCMC. It certainly isn't a "no-man's-land" as one reviewer called it, there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. We walked to the city centre several times, and when we did take a taxi it was only around $3-$4. It also was so quick to get to the airport when we left, and only took about 15 minutes.

"Bad food" - we had the hotpot buffet one night and loved it! It was around $US25 per person, and had many selections. Although we didn't try the breakfast, it also seemed nice from seeing it.

"Bad traffic" - whoever wrote that clearly does not understand just how many motorbikes and scooters there are in Vietnam, and how little people seem to pay attention to road rules. This is no fault of the hotel, the road outside was, if anything, less trafficy than your average HCMC road.

"Bad service" - could not be more wrong! When we arrived, the staff kindly greeted us, took our bags and offered us a welcome drink. The bellboy took everything up to the room, and from that point on the staff were more than happy to help us with anything. Their English skills are not perfect, but the best you can probably get in Vietnam.

"Doorman sometimes doesn't open the door" - yes, this was a legitimate comment in a bad review, which I guess goes to show how petty some people are about this place? And to clarify, the doorman does open the door.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camposampiero
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I use to go there during my business trip. Service it's ok but not all the staff speak a good english (but it's a common problem in Vietnam).
I always stay there also because i don't like to change, but honestly speaking it needs a lifting!!
Once they gave myself a smelly room, but i have told them this issue and they have change my room with an upgrade, so nothing to complain about the staff.
Position is good for business, because it's close to airport and Cong Hoa Street, but if you want to visit the center of city it's not so close from the district 1, but also not so far...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277AlbertoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Ramana certainly lived up to and exceeded expectations regarding the quality of room for the price we paid. The decor was nice and it was well kept up.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with a good selection of western and Asian dishes.

Our only complaints were with regard to front desk and location. The hotel never seemed to have money to exchange for USD, Swiss Francs or HKD. There is one bank down the road but that didn't help on weekends and evenings. The hotel staff only managed to find $50 in VND and this was the case day after day. I think it may have been a ploy as there seems to be a little side business going on with other hotel staff as they would run out and change somewhere 'outside' as rates not quite as favourable. The hotel could sometime manage an exchange but there was a problem of not having small notes and if you could accept half a million dong instead of the 550,000 they could probably find the money. If you stay there - change your money outside when you have the chance.

The hotel is in District 3 and a 10 -30 minute ride to restaurants, bars and tourist type destinations which are primarily in District 1. You can add another $10 - $20 a day in taxi fares to the cost of your room if you're going for leisure.

The hotel seems to cater to tour groups so the location is neither here nor there for them as they're bussed around

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HK355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed here one night to catch our plane in the morning. The rooms are somewhat outdated, but large, and with huge beds. Breakfast looked good, but tasted disappointing. OK if you do not require anything special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTraas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.2 mi away
Aristo Hotel
Aristo Hotel
#99 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#62 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
906 reviews
1.4 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#93 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
418 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#121 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#85 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Property: Ramana Hotel Saigon
Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing