We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location!”
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huong Sen Hotel
Ranked #48 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at Huong Sen Hotel, which is in a ideal local walking distance from most attractions. The hotel is a little dated but it has everything you want. The hotel rooms are large and clean. The breakfast which is included is delicious and plentiful. Didn't have time to use the pool but it looked nice. The spa was really nice and there was always a masseuse available to give a massage. Overall its a great hotel option in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    305
    75
    25
    6
See reviews for
123
203
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotels location was quite good within walking distance of most attractions. The reception staff were not overly friendly. The room we were given was old fashioned and carpeted (had not seen carpet in vietnam until here). Also first TV we had had that was not a flat screen. We could see the other rooms on our floors when they were being cleaned and they looked a lot more modern than ours. The ac unit was situated right over the bed so found it difficult to sleep.
View from our room was awful. Breakfast was average and only served until 9am.
We had a massage at the hotel spa. This was the worst part of our stay. We arrived for our massage, there was no one at the desk and the music was blaring. Everyone seemed dissorganised when we finally got acknowledged. The massage room was not appealing on the eye, terrible music thorughout massage and the therapists did not speak a work to us until afterwards when they were demanding a tip. Very unprofessional for a hotel spa.
Hotel transfer to airport was handy and good value, they had their own car.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

With so many choices for hotels in HCMC, I look to trip advisor to guide my decision, and I have yet to be disappointed. Huong Sen offers exceptional guest services, clean surroundings, and lovely rooms. I am very grateful to the desk staff who helped convert money, offered a quick tutorial on the denominations of dong, and called honest taxi drivers to take me to the bus station and water puppet show. And while the breakfast bar was immense, I liked that you could order a simple omelette, too. I was traveling alone, so I liked the central location, and I walked to the War Remnant Museum (and back) easily and without worry.

Room Tip: I was in room #411 which is right by the elevator, so I was skeptical at first, but honestly it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is well situated within walking distance to many attractions. I stayed in a 'superior' room and the room was large and the bathroom was nice. The TV could have been updated. The jacuzzi was fantastic but the gym was a bit of a let down. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Older room which was quite large compared to new modern hotels. Close to city sites and nice restaurants. Breakfast was good, I liked the variety. Staff were very good - we had a couple of minor issues and staff assisted us to sort those out. I would stay here if you were looking for a cheaper hotel in a good district although I would advise you to see the other districts as well as this one is quite touristy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I see my name on a placard as I exit the airport and am taken to the hotel by hotel car.

The location couldn’t be better for this self-rated 3-star hotel, right in the middle of the centre of town.

I am warmly welcomed and acknowledged for having booked a agoda.com. My room is on the 1st floor and is everything I had expected from the reviews on tripadvisor.com, right down to the hard bed (which is my preference).

And it is cheap – everything in HCM city is. 80c draft beers at the pool bar, $12 full body massages with oil. Incidentally I had one and nearly died in the process when my neck was cracked not once but twice.

Breakfast is fine – an assortment of Vietnamese and Western dishes. The only ‘unusual’ point is the large round tables you share with other people whilst having your breakfast.

The staff are extremely polite and nothing is too difficult for them.

An easy stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is well sited in the downtown area of HCMC, with easy walking to many of the city sights, and places to eat nearby. The building is getting on, but has been well maintained and modernised where appropriate. Comfortable beds, airconditioning that worked well and was quiet enough to not disturb sleep. Room was on the second floor, and street noise was minimised by double glazing. Breakfast was adequate but not "Western". Staff were helpful and courteous. For a downtown hotel it was cheap.

Room Tip: Get the "deluxe" rooms, they're big and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#62 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#53 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#56 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#100 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Property: Huong Sen Hotel
Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing