We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good art and a puppet show” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Vietnamese History

Museum of Vietnamese History
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Ho Chi Minh City Shore Excursion: Private City Tour Including Cyclo Ride
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This collection of historical treasures and artifacts is one of the few Vietnamese museums with helpful English explanations.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Some good art and a puppet show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This museum is housed in an old colonial building and holds first a memory room for H C Minh and then goes through the different centuries. Most interesting are the buddhist statues and also some art made from wood that are well preserved.
Next to the museum is the Saigon zoo.
In the history museum itself, there is a traditional water puppet show on offer that usual lasts about 20 minutes. We would say that you book this experience under "traditional folk art" and supporting local talent...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    300
    171
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“One-sided opinions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The museum is full of war-crimes, atrocities committed by USA but I felt only one-sided view was emphasized against US although while talking to local citizens they appreciate USA more than other countries. I think the issues are Politically misguided.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daganagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a great place to get a snap-shot of vietnam's history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

As the name suggests a simple museum showing the timeline of Vietnam’s long and turbulent history. Worth a look, should take an hour or so. Its right next door to the HCMC Zoological and Botanical Gardens so join the two together and make half a day of it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chazantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing artifacts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I've you're a regular visitor to museums, you shouldn't miss the History museum in either Saigon or Hanoi. Amongst others, there's a beautiful exhibit of striking Champa sculptures and jewellery. The museum gives one a good overview of Vietnamese history.
Walk in the zoo gardens before or after your visit to the museum (to make the most of it, you need at least 2 hours). Keep in mind that the museum is closed over the lunch hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a nice place to visit great old building with many floors and things to see. It was only 75cents to enter and does NOT close during the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Vietnamese History also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Museum of Vietnamese History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing