We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot”
Review of ROU Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ROU Hostel
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at Rou Hostel and it really was fantastic value for money, big comfortable dorm beds, delicious free breakfast, great location and super friendly staff. My girlfriend was robbed by one of the scooter cowboys close to the Saigon river and Frank from the hostel went above and beyond what he needed to do in helping us deal with the police and attain translations for our reports! Big ups to the whole team at Rou, thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Rou Hostel was the best hostel we’ve stayed in during our 2-week Indochina budget trip. It was a humble place situated at the center of the city where the main attractions are just walking distance. They have big bunk beds each with its own emergency light and a pair of outlets. Each bunkbed also had their own locker which is very convenient! You just have to bring your own lock. Their pillow was big and fluffy and their blanket was very clean and thick makes you sleep comfortably. They have a shared toilet and bathrooms on the same floor. Downstairs, they have a vegetarian restaurant with lotsa choices. My favorite part during our stay would be their very kind, helpful and smiling staff! Victor, the sweet and enthusiastic owner himself, even gave us tips for our city tour and some recommendations. Im definitely staying there on our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haifacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I've traveled in Vietnam for a month now and at the end of my trip I have to say ROU has been the best hostel so far. In the middle of the backpacker area but not on one of the busy streets so easy to get a good nights sleep if you wanted to. There only seemed to be one dorm room but the beds were huge and comfortable. The best thing about this place was most certainly the staff. They made extra care to remember everyone's names and story, making sure everybody was always happy at the same time as running the restaurant downstairs! When my friend had his Iphone stolen from a bar nearby the ROU staff took him to the local police station the next day, when the police were unco-operative the manager wrote a letter to the travel insurance company explaining the situation.
I am yet to find another place so welcoming and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you get the top bunk facing the door, the air freshener will squirt near your face once every 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumpingbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Frida Ravn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank AdriCano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank seba806931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#105 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saigon Central Hostel
Saigon Central Hostel
#35 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
GoCo Hostel
GoCo Hostel
#62 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#9 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saigon Charming Hostel
Saigon Charming Hostel
#23 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Hostel Saigon
La Hostel Saigon
#58 of 762 in Ho Chi Minh City
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ROU Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ROU Hostel

Address: 37B Co Bac, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 762 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £7 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, Healthy Saigon that’s Lite on Your Pocket! ROU is a play on “rau”, the Vietnamese word for vegetables. Here you’ll savor delectable vegetarian dishes, and dream away in the restful and stylish hostel. All this within a few blocks of the thriving Ben Thanh market, backpacker’s area, and picturesque city center. ROU is proud to welcome all cultures and lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ROU Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing