We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but too far away from the city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good hotel but too far away from the city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Lovely hotel, it felt very welcoming upon arrival. We were given a relatively small room for three people so we asked to be moved to a larger more spacious room and the staff (Louana - duty manager) were very accomodating. We were given a room on the 18th floor overlooking the city centre and the views were great. We particularly enjoyed the gym, steam room, sauna (one in each of the changing rooms) and the pool. We also were nominated to do the ice bucket challenge so we did this on the top floor by the pool and the staff took part in this and it was great fun. They were very helpful. The breakfasts were a mixture of western and asian cuisines and there was plenty to choose from. It was a shame that there were no fresh juices and I thought that the fruit selection was poor for a 5 star hotel - we had a better choice in other hotels throughout our stay. The shuttle bus works well and it goes into town hourly until midday and two-hourly after that. The drivers were extremely friendly. Although we enjoyed our stay here, we would prefer to stay closer downtime next time. There is free wifi in public areas but it always proved difficult to access and it was not an automatic join up. A little niggle but I wasted masses of time trying to access the wifi each time I wanted to use it.

Room Tip: Needless to say, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear WiltshireTraveller66,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay with the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

We are glad to hear that our Duty Manager, Ms. Loan was able to meet your expectation and you found that our staff members are welcoming and accommodating.

While we are happy to share your wonderful feedback with the team, we also noted your comments regarding choices of juice and fruit at our breakfast venue as well as your concern about internet access. Your feedback is valuable to us and we have raised this to the Management for further discussion and improvement

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    363
    123
    38
    24
See reviews for
150
350
72
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice in July, before & after a 2 week trip to Paris. That was my 7th trip to Saigon. My girlfriend also stays at this hotel when she's in Vietnam on business, which is every two years.
I highly recommend this hotel - the staff are friendly & professional, the breakfast is very good, the Chinese restaurant has top-quality food (& was showcasing Australian wine when we were there).
Our room was a good size, & there is a gym with free weights & some machines.
The hotel operates a shuttle that runs throughout the day to places like the Skybar at New World Hotel (highly recommended), Ben Thanh market & around District 1.
The hotel operates a good outdoor coffee shop, & hotel guests receive 30% off their bill at the property's food outlets.
The hotel is adjacent to the An Dong market, where we bought some material to make traditional Viet ao dai dresses, & there are dressmakers next door that made them for us - all up, two beautiful dresses for AUD $53. There are also some good hairdresses, & my haircut, plus a 1 hour massage, cost AUD$6!
Across the road is a Pho 24 restaurant if you like some good cheap Viet food.
We will stay at this hotel again in 2016, & once again I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Jasmel,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your strong support to the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you experienced good service during this time. On behalf of the Hotel Management, I will share your comments to the team

Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much for a very helpful staff; we were treated very well throughout our stay. The pool was being cleaned during our stay, which is a shame because we were not told of this and paid assuming it would be available. Overall though this hotel was great.

Separately, it has a fantastic sky bar that gives you a great view of the city and is a really nice place to have a drink at the end if the night.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Chris W,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us at the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

First of all, I apologize again and thank you for your understanding with the situation in which our pool was closed due to some maintenance issue and compulsory modification.

On the other hand, I am happy to see that you rated us high. In particular, you find our staff are helpful and accommodating.

On behalf of the Hotel Management, I will share your comments to the team who looks forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Windsor Plaza Hotel in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Con: bad location!! We moved here as our hotel in district one was fully booked when we tried to extend. We decided against the outrageously priced hotel breakfast - unfortunately there are NO western restaurants whatsoever around the hotel - so we retreated to the hotel and had to order in room dining breakfast as the restaurant wouldn't serve it a la carte after 11hrs! We had it at the roof terrace and it took forever.

Western-looking Asst. GM walked around greeting us upon checking with hands in his pocket and without introducing who he is (we found out later by asking another staff member) very unprofessional impression!

PRO: we loved the room, especially the comfy bed (close to Ritz Carlton standard!) and the view!!

Gym is very good equipped and with great view and good air con!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Anne H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

While we are delighted to hear your positive comments on the room and gym facility, we are most concerned that there seemed to be some misunderstanding when communicating with our team members. I apologize that the information was not accurate since we do offer A La Cart menu at our all day dining Restaurant. I have raised this issue to the Food and Beverage Manager so he in turn can address with the team.

In regards to your comment on the Western Assistant GM, I would like to clarify that this could be an incorrect information since we currently do not have any Assistant GM or any Western Managers in the hotel. However, no matter who that was, we take your comments seriously and I have reported this to the Management to make sure we take the right action to address the issue.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback as only through feedback such as yours that we can continually refine the service at the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy - Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in HCMC for 2 nights and thought we would treat ourselves to a 5 star hotel experience so chose this hotel and paid extra for a executive room. It was the most expensive place we had stayed in on our journey and the worse. Our room was on high level and it was quite but that was about the only good thing about it. The room was really dated and run down and smelt. I wish we could have been able to open the window. We paid top $ for this room and it certainly was not 5 stars so we were extremely disappointed. I have never posted a review before but thought I needed to after our experience. We strongly feel that what we paid for was not what this hotel delivered. There are far better hotels around if you are paying over $150 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandie952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Sandie952,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with the Windsor Plaza hotel.

I am obviously concerned to read your review and I am saddened that you have left our shore with a negative impression about the hotel and services, particularly about the condition of your room. I regret that we did not have the opportunity to fix this during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and rest assured that we take your comments seriously and will investigate and address the issue with the team.

Since you mentioned that you will not return to the hotel, we hope that you reconsider and will come back to stay with us as this will enable us to show you that this isolated issue is not indicative of the usual high level of service we have at the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy - Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booborowie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights on a holiday in Saigon. We were impressed from the time we got out of the taxi. The staff have the perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness. The hotel itself is magnificent. We only had a standard room, but it was very comfortable. The rooftop bar is great for a Mojito at the end of a day, and serve an excellent Western fusion meal. If you want something more Vietnamese, try the Pho 24 across the street, the Kun Beer & BBQ next door, or any of the street stalks nearby. The shuttle service is really convenient. In all, a great stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HowIMetYoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear HowIMetYoMama,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience.

We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. On behalf of the Hotel Management, we have shared your great comments to the team who looks forward to welcoming you back soon

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy - Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is our honeymoon to remember for the rest of our lives, however, thanks to this hotel it will be remembered for all the wrong reasons
Check in - upgraded to a executive room on floor 21 for the views, room would not be ready for 1 hour, returned to find that the rooms price had gone up by an extra $5 with no explanation.
1st night was awoke by a fight in the corridor at 00.20 where security had to break it up, then could not get back to sleep. You can hear the whining of the lift every time it's used.
This is a 5 star hotel in the day and a 2/3 during the evening where they have a buffet every night that is open to all the locals, so approx 200 locals arrive who do not know how to wait or conduct theirselves, food is piled high on every table like they have never eaten before and left, me and my wife arrived to be asked have you booked, did not know you at too? She found us a table outside with just an hedge next to a road, then the fun began, push, shove, even had a guy taken prawns off my plate while waiting to be cooked. The final straw was when my wife was pushed over, we complained, I demanded that we were not going to pay for this meal that the manager agreed, was offered another meal on the rooftop, however declined, we were given a free 30 min foot massage that I then found out that they only sold 1 hour in their tariff that only cost £10 and free transfer to the airport.
I have only eaten in the hotel and I have been ill for 1 day.
Rooms good, staff great, however there is better hotels in the city that ARE 5 star.
Breakfast is not what I would call 5 star, all the juices are watered down, the food is not up to European standard.
The shuttle bus runs every hour, well that's what everyone thought, until we found out that the time highlighted in green is the ones they cancelled. They only drop you off in 4 different drop off points in the same area, and guess what, there all outside restaurants owned by them.
Room staff in the mornings shout to each other down the corridors.
Being a traveller for business and pleasure I would not return here.
So thank you Windsor Hotel for making our first 3 days of our honeymoon non pleasurable.
I am glad that we are flying out today to another part of the country
We will not be returning
Please try not to make out your a 5 star hotel when your not!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huy N, Rooms Division Director at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dave C,

Thank you for your valuable comment and we are concerned that we failed to meet your expectations.

Whilst we continually strive for Operational Excellence, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations. We have noted your comments regarding the service you encountered at the hotel. We have raised this feedback with our Management and we will address it with the team. We valued feedbacks such as yours as only through these feedbacks that we can continually refine the products and services we provide to our Guests.

Since you mentioned that you will not stay with us in the future, we sincerely hope that you will reconsider and once again return to the Windsor Plaza Hotel as this will enable us to show you that the isolated incident is not indicative of the usually high level of service we offer.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Nguyen Vinh Huy – Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.7 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#32 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh Cit...
#26 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.6 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#38 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#25 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Property: Windsor Plaza Hotel
Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Plaza Hotel offers authentic Vietnamese hospitality and world-class facilities. Key Features + 376 well-appointed rooms and suites + 3 award-winning restaurants and a terrace bar + Conference center with six meeting rooms + 2,000-person capacity Jade Ballroom + Fitness Center and swimming pool + Hourly shuttle bus to city destinations + Complimentary wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing