We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Season in Ho Chi Minh City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Ranked #56 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Season in Ho Chi Minh City”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Great hotel and wonderful staff...excellent restaurants

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ryanje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    373
    130
    38
    25
See reviews for
158
362
74
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. Nice view of the old Saigon. The staffs are very polite and helpful. The hourly shuttle bus that gets into District 1 in 15 minutes is handy.

We are happy with the stay. Would be perfect if the hotel is located in district 1... but second thoughts, getting away from the buzzling streets is not a bad idea!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel had a promo. We were upgraded to the executive floor. The breakfast buffet was immense with a variety of Chinese, Vietnamese and continental cuisine. The only set back was the location. It is away from the tourist area so we had to take a cab. The hotel offers a shuttle service and that helped, and also cabs were cheap. Just watch out for the motorcycles when crossing the streets!! The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. All in all, we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and highly recommend it. Shopping was next door or for the more adventurous, the An Dong market another block down the street.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2010

I got a great price through a travel website, but it was far too far from the city.

I also wanted to stay an extra night and they wanted four times the price and were quite rude about it. I also wanted late checkout which took three calls before they would agree.

I ended up staying in the Bong Sen hotel the third night because i was so furious about the service.

The Business centre cost more to use than catching a taxi half an hour into the city!

Also terrible mobile service!!

I expected more of such a lovely hotel.

I loved the breakfast though and the rooms are spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaila1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoyandrelax, Customer Service Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Dear Kaishopper Sydney,

Your review and comments of your stay at Windsor Plaza Hotel, wereto say the least, most disurbing. The areas of your complaint have been highlighted to ALL departments concerned and action taken to ensure that it will never occur again

We strive to offer our guests the best possible service, however, on this occasion we seemed to have dropped the ball, for that I am truly sorry.

At Windsor Plaza Hotel we take all guest comments to heart and take action. We appreciate your review and again express our regrets that your stay was not what you expected.

Should you have occasion to re-vist please contact me and I will ensure that your stay with us will be what you should expect.

Kind regards,

Frank Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
389 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We moved here from a disasterous stay at the Grand Hotel in District One. This is much further out and more like a typical tour-group hotel. Many floors, roof-top pool, in Chinatown . We liked it. There is an Executive level, which is nice. It is next to An Dong Markets 1 and 2 so there is shopping of the crazy crowded type next door. We like that, and also liked the grocery store. The hotel buffet was insane. New Years brings this hotel to capacity, and the hordes storming and stripping the buffet were astonishing. It was kind of gross, actually but the staff was helpful and friendly, and there was a free shuttle every hour to several places and markets. Just fine.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

There's something very strange about the Windsor Plaza hotel. She's a tired old girl, with dated wood panelling in the rooms and basic facilities.
The first night we arrived we dined on the 25th floor...food was cold and unappetising. And it's as if they know this because immediately after finishing our meals (or pushing mine around on the plate) 3 of the staff hurried over to ask us to do a verbal and written survey on the food. Weird. Room service food wasn't much better. Cold, mushy Pho anyone?
We thought we'd check out the 'American Discotheque' downstairs as this was one of the reasons we stayed here, thought it'd be a bit of a laugh. However it appeared that laughing or having fun of any sorts was not permitted. Staff were amazingly attentive - one glance at an unlit cigarette and a mini-skirted hostess would be over to light in in a flash. However when we tried to get jiggy on the dancefloor we were monitored by bouncers closely and any inappropriate moves were soon scuppered. It was like being at a school disco...i would post photos of the place however cameras were banned due to some of the 'clientele' that were visiting in secret. Really.
One redeeming feature was the rooftop pool which was next to the bar and restaurant. However as the bar did not open until 5pm you wouldn't purchase drinks to sip on whilst poolside.
Another good feature was the enormous buffet that served every type of food imaginable, it was quite incredible. However if you don't enjoy the atmosphere of a mess hall then I wouldn't dine here, the noises of other people squabbling, scraping and gobbling down food was a bit irritating at times. Ideal for families with noisy kids I guess.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunkachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This is a very large hotel, with all the associated services. Having said that, it was uber cheesey and appeared to cater primarily for Chinese business men. There was plastic glitz and glamour at every turn, with brightly lit Christmas decorations out the front and a gawdy "Santa shop" in the lobby. The rooms themselves seemed a wee bit dated and tired. Hardly what you would expect from a "5 star" hotel. However, the service was prompt, friendly and efficient. We found the tour desk to be especially helpful. The rooftop restaurant was attrocious. The food was horribly expensive, took forever to arrive, and was cold and repugnant. However, of special note is the buffet on the 3rd floor which was crazy! I have never encountered such a wide array of food in one place in my life. The buffet had food from pretty much every country in the world. For $15 US you could graze for as long as you wanted. However the atmosphere was not disimilar to that of a food hall, so it wasn't the most pleasant dining experience ever. Special mention should also be made of the "America Discoteque" which boasts the largest dance floor in Saigon. This place was odd. The staff were overbearingly attentive. You couldn't pull a ciggarette out of your pack without having two waiters tripping over themselves to light it for you. However the security gaurds were just as over bearing and would not allow any kind of "fun". No photos were allowed to be taken. Any dancing had to be deemed "appropriate" and wandering across the dancefloor with a beer in your hand was (rather bizzarely) not permitted. Not a great experience. All in all, if I were to go back to Saigon, I would not stay at the Windsor.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartron3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.7 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#34 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
1.5 mi away
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
#55 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh Cit...
#28 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Property: Windsor Plaza Hotel
Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Plaza Hotel offers authentic Vietnamese hospitality and world-class facilities. Key Features + 376 well-appointed rooms and suites + 3 award-winning restaurants and a terrace bar + Conference center with six meeting rooms + 2,000-person capacity Jade Ballroom + Fitness Center and swimming pool + Hourly shuttle bus to city destinations + Complimentary wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing