We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the big boys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dragon Palace Hotel
Ranked #180 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Booked in here for the night after our flight was cancelled and money was low.....but it was a real gem! As good as the €150 we were paying just round the corner but for $40! Everywhere in Saigon is noisy so don't think paying more will help. Look out for these places!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukebox696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Heard that this hotel had been renovated just a couple of months ago. Location wise, is really pretty good, just a 15 mins walk away from the famous Ben thanh market. But I would suggest taking a cab there, taking a cab there takes only 5 mins, 15000 dong. The rooms are really clean and nice. We booked a family room for 3 person. The door of the room uses the modern card access, not the old fashioned knob and key anymore. Toilets are also really clean, with bathtub and they provided us with all the bathroom neccessities (eg. shampoo, bathing foam, toothbrushes). However, the breakfast is not the usual buffet style which we usually have. The breakfast venue is at the 9 or 10th floor (but the lifts only goes up to the 8th floor, so be prepared to walk up 2 floors for beakfast). Breaskfast is like ala carte buffet style, so you order from a menu of bread or noodles. Choices is limited but is good enough for breakfast.
Overall, very satisfied with the hotel room, worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ed l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked a room there for the 6.1.2013, but when we arrived, the hotel did'nt exist any longer, the walls were gone, also the windows. Quit a shock, but we did not pay in advance, so, OK.
I met the new owner some weeks later and the hotel has been completely nice refurbished, he told me the new name would be "Dragons Palace". It looked really good.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wineloverAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Saw this place on Agoda. VERY nice pictures made me extremely hesitant to book this hotel because, living in Viet Nam as I do, I do know that ANYTHING the Vietnamese put in pictures (i.e. a sleek bullet train traveling up to Sapa, or a fat, juicy looking hamburger on a menu), is absolutely NOTHING like the reality of what you get. I did some more Internet research, and, lo and behold - I could find NOTHING AT ALL about this "Dragon Palace Hotel" place........BIG red flag! THEN I saw that it was called the "Giant Dragon Hotel" and got some rather unpleasant reviews on TripAdvisor.......another big red flag.........

Well....hell......I'll roll the dice!!

It was a good gamble on my part -

NOT a bad place at all. At first there was misunderstanding as I had pushed the "MAX ONE PERSON" occupancy button on Agoda (NO idea WHY they do this when most travel sites book a price BY ROOM - NOT by number of people) and I got charged what I felt was a couple bucks too much by the staff for the extra person (my wife). But still, we had booked a standard room and got upgraded by Ly and Nga (the great front desk staff) to a VEEERRRRY modern and clean Executive Deluxe room with soft beds, a large desk and several lighting options! Didn't eat breakfast there (I have my preferred spots for dining in District One), and the lobby was very clean but tiny, but all in all, a very nice hotel! Highly recommended!! IF they keep the prices low, then this place could really raise the bar for the competition in P.N.L. (Pham Ngu Lao)!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hi.
This hotel is convenient to all tourist attractions.
Great value at $25 per night.
The room was a bit 'faded' but HUGE with a sofa, satellite TV and an en suite.
The staff were just lovely and could not have been more helpful and the food in the restaurant surpassed our expectations and was very reasonable.
You can sit on the terrace and people watch for hours!

Lorraine

Room Tip: Get one as high up as you can, there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Good clean hotel in good location - value at US$25 with air con and fridge - next to noisy Pham Ngu Lao ST so get a room at the front but on high floor.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Don't buy those stories that rooms are hard to find in HCMC. This hotel is nearby bus drop-off points and is in the heart of the city though not noisy. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed here twice and used the hotel to prepay our airport taxi thereby avoiding excessive mileage trip scams. The bright, clean rooms are large with extra sitting area and large windows overlooking the street. Beds are more comfortable than most we had slept in over a month in VN. Decent breakfast on the streetside. Good travel desk to book tours. Close to many excellent eateries.

Room Tip: Try and get a streetside room that overlooks the park for a better view out your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace II Hotel
Dragon Palace II Hotel
#252 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
#226 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
#353 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#104 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#73 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#76 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Palace Hotel

Address: 173 Pham Ngu Lao St., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Giant Dragon Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragon Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dragon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giant Dragon
Giant Dragon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing