We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great stay at Sunland Hotel all staff very friendly and helpful. The reception staff, doorman, and Jackie (Restaurant Manager) were all brilliant making our stay extra special. Jackie couldn't do enough for us at breakfast. Rooms fantastic, we had a 2 bed room/ 2 bathroom suite with lounge area. Great location next to the Russian market which is great for ski gear. Hotel 15min walk to city centre or $2US taxi ride. We were advised to catch a VinaSun or Minh taxi only as these taxis's are regulated and safe. We always used VinaSun taxis and would recommend them. Sunland was a great hotel and value for money. Breakfast also very good.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom, 2 bathroom suite great for a family or 4 people travelling together as own key to each ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    483
    159
    29
    24
See reviews for
342
365
59
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for our two nights in Ho Chi Minh city and our first expression exceeded my expectations! Right on the river side it is a bit of a strange location but this meant it was tucked away from the loud city centre. The entrance was very grand with friendly and helpful staff.

Our complimentary breakfast was superb with a wide selection of savory, sweet, western, Vietnamese, hot and cold food! We used the gym for a price of around $4, pretty good price as it was empty! The gym had a huge range of machines but didn't have fans or water... luckily the windows were open and you could catch a cool breeze every now and then. The pool was a very refreshing temperature (a good way to cool down quickly!) and had plenty of chairs and sun loungers. A few cracked tiles here and there from good use. The 14th floor cafe/bar has as an amazing view and very helpful staff who kept us hydrated with complimentary cold water after we had finished our coffees.

Our room was very clean and large although our 'city view' was changed to a car-park building view, so be careful when you're getting changed! A light in the shower was a bit dodgy but otherwise we had no problems with our room. Complimentary water is always nice as well.

A great hotel with very friendly staff, just missing a few bits and pieces but no major issues. Appropriately priced for what we got.

Room Tip: If you are gonna be on the go choose a slightly lower floor as the elevators are quite slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for three weeks and found the staff to be consistently friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We would definitely stay here again should we ever visit Ho Chi Min City again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanv05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I cannot fault the service, facilities or the rooms at this hotel but unfortunately, it's location lets it down rather badly.
Stroll out of the hotel and you will need to either take a long walk or catch a taxi to find either anything to do or anything to eat. So if you are not prepared to do either, then best not to stay here.
On the upside, the breakfast was really good as was the roof top pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

From the front it looks like a 1 star restaurant. I was gutted. We then went in and was turned away because I am English and my wife is Vietnamese with no marriage papers on us. But for $20 extra they'll let us stay and ignore the manager. Shocking

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were travelling with another family; each had a five room "apartment"- two bedrooms, two big bathrooms and a small sitting room. This was a great setup for a family of four and pretty hard to come by. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Location was better than expected - my son loved being so close to Russian Market. It's an easy walk home from Ben Thanh and city centre too. Facilities were fine. A great value-for-money hotel. Also, Sunland put us on to a company that used a brilliant tour guide. Highly recommend her for knowledge, cust. service, energy and wit. Lulu - +(84) 0120 334 2711 or lulu_vntravel@yahoo.com - not a paid ad - I thought she was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 for 4 nights and it turned out to be a very nice experience.

The best thing about this hotel is its extremely nice and helpful staff. All staff memebers, be it in front office, or house keeping, or restaurant services are very nice. They are always willing to go out of their way to serve you better.

The next thing I liked was the infrastructure. Nice rooms (I had a river facing one), nice coffee-shop, nice bar, and they serve very tasty food at reasonable prices. There is a nice rooftop swimming pool and also a gym. I chose not to use the gym as there was a charge to use this even for hotel's guests. First time I cam across something like this. Maybe its a norm in this area,,, I don't know.

Easy availability of transport to any place with Hotel staff chipping in to help expalin your destination to the cab driver is another plus point.

For all the positives, I did find the location of the hotel just a bit out of the way. Even though you can easily walk to the touristy area, the route is not all that comfortable. Also lack fo a spa for a hotel of this stature also appeared to be a shortcoming.

All said I done, my conclusion is that this was a nice experience. I would seriously consider staying here again.

Room Tip: River-facing rooms on higher floors are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#58 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#40 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel

Property: Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Address: 302-304 Vo Van Kiet Street, Co Giang Ward, District 1 | Co Giang Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly 302-304 Vo Van Kiet St)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunland Riverside Hotel Saigon Hotel is a 3 star hotel of international standards. Located on the most modern boulevards Vietnam, with 110 rooms designed with modern style and the rooms from 28m2 room - 60m2 (Superior, Deluxe, Junior, Sunland Suite). The types of rooms have windows overlooking the 2 direction, Saigon River and City view . We have family room with 02 bedrooms and living room. In addition the hotel also has services such as Buffet Restaurant, Coffee Lounge, Sky Bar, pool and fitness room, Airport pick up... Our staff of experienced, professional working style, enthusiastic guide you to the sights of the city. From the hotel Sunland Saigon Riverside you just take walk 15 minutes to monuments and popular tourist famous in Ho Chi Minh: Ben Thanh Market, Notre Dame Cathedral, City Post Office, Museum of Fine Arts city. Just 2 minutes walk you can reach the Russian market . With the criteria of giving customers the best accommodation services, you will feel like in your house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing