We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, charming and serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thao Dien Boutique Hotel
Ranked #87 of 960 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked this hotel to have a relaxing stop over to break up a long haul journey.
We stayed in a room over looking beautiful trees and you can hear the boats going by on the gentle Saigon river a stones throw from our room.

Location:
We purposely chose a hotel out of the city as we wanted to avoid going into an urban jungle after no sleep. About 30 mins from ho chi minh airport not in peak traffic. The hotel is directly on the banks of the Saigon river which is very relaxing.

Rooms:
This was the perfect choice for that, the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with elegant furnishing.

Food:
There is variety in the menu at the two restaurants on the grounds, offering Italian, Thai or traditional Vietnamese food, which I recommend trying. Drinks are reasonably priced and you are welcome to take takeaway drinks to your room. Breakfast orders are also varied, you can have Vietnamese breakfast, American style, Continental, or Pancakes.

Staff:
We had no problems with communicating in English like the other review states, it's also just plain courtesy to learn some Vietnamese phrases to aid communication. The staff are all very attentive and sweet, and are there at your beckon call. We had one particular male waiter that had exceptional service.

Facilities:
There is a spa on site with reasonably priced packages if that floats your boat. There are a few pools. a paddling water bar, a quiet secluded smaller pool near behind the lobby, and a larger pool overlooking the Saigon (with bubbly parts!), all with your surrounding sun loungers towels etc.

A lovely hotel for what we chose it for, not your standard commercialised horrendous white resort. A unique and serene bit of paradise on the banks of the river. We'll come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202 on the second floor, it has a large balcony and over looks the trees and is directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cariaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed a the "garden room area" and it was really nice and quite. For us, it was perfect to stay a little out of the citycenter to have less noise. There was some activities in the weekend - but they normally stop at 11/23 o'clock. Had absolutely NO problems with not getting orders in either resturants fast. Even though their english is not that good, we always got what we needed. but it's Vietnam :-) but in a good way! The SPA treatments is enjoyable good & worth trying out. Both the inside and the outside gym was fine - not as large as at a Fitness Centrer at home. But you could easily do at body workaround. The also have yoga classes. Wen't both for business & pleasure.

Room Tip: If possible get a garden room, but on the street side :-) Get them to show you the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je ne connais pas les chambres, suis allée seulement à la piscine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francestoussaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank frujel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jbuje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ho Chi Minh City
0.8 mi away
River Cottage
River Cottage
#108 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#71 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
227 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#22 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#23 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
926 reviews
4.4 mi away
An Lam Retreats Saigon River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thao Dien Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thao Dien Boutique Hotel

Address: 197 189, 197/1 Nguyen van Huong Street | Thao Dien Village, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 960 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £69 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thao Dien Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thao Dien Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing