We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really deserving of 3 stars”
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel
Ranked #105 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I only stayed here one night because it was near the airport and I had an early flight, so my review is based mostly on the room itself and not the other amenities of the hotel. The fact is I stayed at better 3-star hotels during my stay in Vietnam.

The hotel is nearly 50 years old. Management has done upgrades but they've been done cheaply. The room was on the small side. The airconditioner was noisy and could not be adjusted (I called staff and even switched rooms but it didn't work). The light control system near the bed was overly complicated. The shower had two settings: scalding hot water or icy cold.

The only thing good about it was the courteous staff who really tried to help but you can't do much about poor facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamplass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The location is good if your just spending a night and flying back out the next morning, very close to the airport, but I wouldn't pick it for a multiple day trip to Saigon. Staff were excellent. Room was clean, but dated and the bed was very hard. Breakfast was great. I do feel it was fairly overpriced for what it is and where it is, you can do better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

best in your budget!
- close to the airport
- a little far from main city.
- good breakfast.
- good and well equipped rooms.
- has nice conference facility for small meeting for half day.
- friendly staff.
- free internet access.
taxis are cheap and can get outside the hotel.

Room Tip: go for the new wing, its divided across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikrantg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Yes a good hotel with courteous staff.
Good breakfast. No milk for tea in the room.
Overall an average hotel.
Only advantage- near to the airport and good value for money.
Good hotel if budget is an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at first hotel last night with early flight out this morning. Fabulous, our airport pick up was there to meet us, check in was smooth and our room lovely. We arrived late and left early so did not get chance to have good look around, but location is excellent for anyone looking for convenient affordable hotel. Clean, staff were terrific, They arranged for a driver to take us back to the airport this morning.. Fee transport both ways. I read comments prior to booking that breakfast was basic... It is, but really what does it matter what we had was delicious. Highly recommend this Hotel ideal location and standard was great.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is terrible booked a deluxe room ended up with a superior room. Booked the deluxe room via Agoda in the new building ended up in the old building that is defiantly not 4 star. Buffet breakfast was poor, it was our worst since being in Vietnam. The hotel wanted to charge us 15 USD for an upgrade to a room that we actually booked. They placed the blame on Agoda, even though i explained that the hotel gives Agoda the information. It was a last minute booking due to the typhoon in Da Nang, we didn't want to miss our connecting flight in Ho chi Minh so we left Da Nang a night early. Stay away from this hotel, to avoid being disappointed and mislead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel was perfect for me and my wife as we were coming in and out of ho chi min city. We stayed three separate nights and really enjoyed our stays.All the staff were friendly and would do anything they could to make our stay comfortable. They have great restaurant outdoors next to a great pool with well priced food.They also give you free transfers to and from airport would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#88 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#24 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#22 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#41 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
868 reviews
3.4 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#39 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
464 reviews
2.7 mi away
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
#58 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Address: 18 Hoang Viet Street | Tan Binh District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £41 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing