We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option”
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Hotel
Ranked #98 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After experiencing a flight delay which kept me from coming to my home country on time it was a pleasant surprise to find accommodation for the night at this hotel. While the price is expensive for Vietnamese hotels it is very reasonable by Western standards. A good buffet breakfast was included in the tariff and the friendly staff let me checkout at 2pm because of my late night arrival and late departure the following evening. Very well appointed rooms. Also a good range of Vietnamese coffee shops and restaurants were located a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingManOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    169
    96
    28
    14
See reviews for
70
118
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel on Expedia, and was very impressed... Inexpensive for quality, very helpful staff, provided van back to airport at 4am, adjacent restaurant quite good Vietnamese food - all in all, perfect for our needs with 12 hour layover!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dktari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for one night during an over night layover, The hotel pick you up on time when your flight arrives which is great and its a 15 min ride to the hotel. Hotel is nice with friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Pool is in a weird area with a restaurant around it. Breakfast buffet is average, nothing special. For dinner head out to the main road, lots of sweet gals selling yummy pho and soup at their road side diners, much cheaper than the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wongbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hello All,
We stayed in this hotel one night last January, it was an overnight stop when arriving in Vietnam and leaving to Phu Quoc next day.
Positive is the free of charge pickup/drop at/to the airport. It went very smoothly.
Hotel itself is Ok, Breakfast is kind of ok, a lot of choice, but the quality is not that good.
As it was Tet, Chinese New Year, they recommended us to go to downtown to experience the flower decorations and fireworks, which we did, it was nice to see indeed!
Cheers

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we had just flown into HCMC and were flying out again the next morning.

The hotel is only a short distance from the airport so this worked well, and the airport transfer service was reliable.

The hotel room was large, well kept and clean. The only complaint we would make is that for a westerner, the hotel breakfast is average (to say the least)- there was a small amount of bacon you could put on toast, but it was chewy and strange. Thankfully there was some toast but that was about it. No decent coffee.

Overall- a convenient stay if you are needed close access to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmar5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our family recently travelled to Vietnam and this hotel was close our daughter-in-law's family, we booked two rooms (3 adults in each room). We had a suite and an executive room, the executive room has two queen beds and was very comfortable for 3 people, I would recommend the suite for any more than 3 people as this has a lounge, main bedroom (2 queen beds) ensuite bathroom and separate toilet. We found this hotel to be very clean and the staff gave us excellent service. The Buffet breakfast and pool area restaurant was very good and catered for western guests, there is also a small bar area in the hotel for a quite after dinner drink. Although the hotel is not in district 1 we found this to be acceptable as the traffic was not as congested and the cost of a taxi was very reasonable. We received free transfers to and from the airport as part of our booking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: for more than 3 people book a suite at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great for a stop over as they pick up and drop off at the airport free of charge. Nice to be out of the tourist area to see some more of Saigon

The room rate wasn't as good value for money as other places in Vietnam but OK with free transfers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forza_DFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#85 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#121 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#74 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aristo Hotel
Aristo Hotel
#95 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Saigon
PARKROYAL Saigon
#39 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Property: First Hotel
Address: 18 Hoang Viet Street | Tan Binh District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing