We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reasonable rooms - confused staff”
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel
Ranked #105 of 461 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel because I was attending a furniture fair and it was recommended by the organisers. The rooms were fine and it was close to the exhibition centre. First have a reasonable gym, good breakfast (included) and an excellent sushi restaurant on the top floor.
I enjoyed my stay but when questioned the staff were often confused and not knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robtane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quy P, Sales Department - OTA at First Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Robtaine

Thank you for your comments and sorry for the facts that our staffs confused of your business questions. Your comment is a power for us to retrain our staff to serve guests better in all aspects.

Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We decided to have a night here on the last night of our trip to relax by the pool before flying back to the UK. Big mistake. The hotel is across the road from the main hotel on a big complex. When we got to the pool it was chaos. There was around 40 staff members walking around, looking likw they had nothing to do so for around two hours all they did was bang cutlery and plates together, god knows why! There was a big group of local men sitting drinking and getting drunk, very loud. I felt uncomfortable in my bikini, unable to relax or even try and sleep was a joke. If it wasnt cutlery It was hammering, banging, staff members singing at top of there voice. This hotel should take the pool off there facilites offered and cut the price in half. As paying 70usd for this place is a joke! The only positives are the short journey to airport that's free. Rooms are not high standard at all. The constant noise left me with a headache. The hotel is close to the road which i didnt mind as traffic noise to be expected in city, but the staff noise, local peoples noise is not what unexpected from a hotel at this price. Ive stayed in budget guesthouses for much cheaper that have much better service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quy P, Sales Department - OTA at First Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir

First of all, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Your comment made us think over the service we provided to our customers, specially the foreigners.

We hope that the situation will be better when we have a chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to airport and exhibitioncenter. Staff is doing what ever you can imagine to make your stay convenient. Free drinks, free airport pick up by taxi, tips for town visits, they even help you crossing the street to the restaurant. Hotel is a bit old but clean. Breakfast fine. Half an our by taxi to downtown.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pliien67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a long flight from Europe we wanted a hotel near the airport before flyng to Hanoi to begin a two week tour.
Emailed the hotel before departure to arrange their shuttle service.
On arrival there was someone waiting for us and it was a quick transfer to the hotel. Check in was very quick and efficient and we were offered a very welcome
drink before being shown to our room.
The room was spacious and very comfortable with very nice bathroom and everything you could possibly need for an overnight stay. We were a little concerned that the room overlooked the front of the hotel thinking that it could be noisy. However, thanks to the efficient glazing we did not hear a thing.
Nice to be able to sit outside on a small terrace set away from the road for a drink.
Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Even a man outside to help you cross the road should you need it. As we were to find out later in our holiday the road was actually very quiet by Ho ChiI Minh standards!
Breakfast was fine with possibly one of the nicest omelettes I've had made fresh for me in a long time.
The following morning we were taken back to the airport at exactly the time we requested - very efficient.
At the end of our tour we stayed a further three nights in Ho CHI Minh and opted for a more expensive hotel which we thought would be better. How I wish we'd returned to the First Hotel! Whilst our chosen hotel was very nice it was in a very central area (did not need to be there as we were picked up for our tours each day), and consequently a very busy noisy area.
Should we return to Ho Chi Minh will look no further than the First Hotel - very pleasant stay with extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneNewcastleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quy P, Sales Department - OTA at First Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Anne

What a wonderful comment. We appreciated.

Hope to have chances to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've been blocked in HCMC then I tried this hotel ... value for mont is good, you are closer to the airport than to district 1, then make sense if you are in transit. Rooms are spacious, I appreciated complimentary shuttle at 4,30 AM; at that time breakfast was not available but they gave us a box without asking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quy P, Sales Department at First Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your kind words and hope to have more chances and opportunities to welcome you and other guests to our hotel to feed and taste the "First Impression last forever" and "Satisfaction beyond expectation".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The place was very nice and staff were very friendly. Buffet breakfast the next morning was delicious. Very happy with this hotel for a short stay, it's pretty quiet too away from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brendanandhayleyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night only courtesy of Vietnam Airlines after an unexpected flight delay.
We had no idea where we would be dropped off but found this hotel to be quite pleasant.
No problems with the comfort of the beds and the double glazed windows gave us a peaceful nights sleep.
Breakfast was adequate without being great and staff were very helpful.
10 mins from airport and about 6 km from town centre ( $4 aud taxi ride ).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#28 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#88 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Saigon
PARKROYAL Saigon
#45 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#22 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#116 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Address: 18 Hoang Viet Street | Tan Binh District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £42 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing