We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duna Hotel
Ranked #391 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Barely okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

For 20 bucks it is barely okay; it is clean enough; could be a bit cleaner; my room on 4th floor was located in the back, which I asked for since I wanted a quiet room. Towels a bit old and worn; toiletries okay for the price; TV operated but not good reception; one bed was really soft, needed a new mattress; had the sinkhole in middle effect; alone so I used the other bed; air con is located in the corner, facing the wardrobe, so it doesn't effectively cool the room. Biggest issue was not having a bathroom or bedside lights; apparently they turn them off at the desk with some sort of master switch; and although I did call and they got them on for the night; in the morning the lights were off again and they couldn't sort out the problem, although I kept trying to explain that the issue was not the light, but they needed to flip that master switch, wherever it was. Found this incredibly annoying; and apparently is the case with most of these budget hotels in District one. Don't bother with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    27
    36
    27
    30
See reviews for
12
37
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were 18 people on our first visit to Vietnam, bewildered at the sight of such a small looking hotel but the young lady who welcomed us so well that all 6 of us at the Duna hotel had to call the other 12 people booked in another hotel to inform them they made a mistake. For the next for days we were enjoying our stay so much at that hotel. The breakfast wasn't so great, but enjoyable enough, besides we never came to eat. The staff arranged all our day trips and our hotel room always had clean towels. They were friendly, polite and fun. I can only praise them when we stayed there

Room Tip: use Duna Hotel's services to the fullest, ie from and to the airport and all your day trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyme67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

first of the photos are unreliable, the rooms are old and in bad shape, i stayed in room 501, the water facet is broken, there is bad smell coming out of pipes, the drawer are broken.

secondly the security staff are rude, i went for a beer and came back at 2am the door was locked, i had to knock for a very time to wake them up to open the door and when they did open they give you a death stare and bad attitude, and you arent allowed to park your motorbike infront of the hotel as there arent "enough" parking space for guests, they are reserved for the staffs.

and worst of all, the internet is almost non exsistence, cant connect to internet the whole time i am there, in the end i have to go to the cafe nearby to work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in a room facing the street and found it very difficult to sleep in fact We never slept at all on the second night maybe this was partially due to the fact we were still suffering with jet lag but mainly because of the constant noise from outside, the continuing beeping of horns all night long, the only reason we slept the 1st night was thanks to the sleeping pills we had (our last unfortunately). The room was clean and big enough for 2 people, it had 3 beds but I think it would have been a bit cramped. Breakfast was very basic and not nice at all and served in a small cramped room. Decided not to stay here on our return for the flight back to BKK and would defiantly give it a miss if I was to return to HCMC again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sara_j776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Room was ok although quite cramped. A/C is extremely loud. I had tiny ants all throughout the room and bed. When I went to use computers in the lobby the keyboard was so sticky as someone had spilled something on them - I asked the lady at reception to clean but this was not done and internet didn't end up working anyway. Breakfast is awful

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mednez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 902. Evening rain resulted in big leak from bathroom ceiling. Not a comfortable queen size bed. Breakfast catered for local palette in small winder less room. Guests more from Asian tour group. On checking out paid $20 instead of the asking higher rate in view of the ingress of rain water in bathroom and inconvenience experienced.

Room Tip: Avoid top 9th floor. Select rear room with window, after inspecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indrasen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Duna Hotel is a well-furnished and conveniently-situated small hotel within walking distance of a large market selling clothes and souvenirs at bargain prices. There are many places to eat in the immediate vicinity to suit all tastes and budgets.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful to our group of 20 students and teachers. Transportation to and from the airport was efficient. Breakfast was rather basic but adequate.
The hotel represented good value for money given its central location.

Room Tip: Some rooms had no window and needed artificial light at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#168 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#173 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#129 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#171 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Hotel

Property: Duna Hotel
Address: 167 Pham Ngu Lao Str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing