We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel with very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thien Tung Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thien Tung Hotel
Ranked #237 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great small hotel with very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a great small hotel in the centre. Rooms are small but very good decorated, bathrooms are good equiped. Only setback are the two elevators, slow and small. Good breakfast on the top floor. There is a small swimming pool and other sports which are ok for a small city hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are cleaned spotless each day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    61
    24
    24
See reviews for
50
47
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkeroed, Denmark
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel has a nice location very close to the market and close to restaurants and shopping, and within walkindistance or a cheap taxidrive from a lot of sights. We had a familyroom wich was nice and big with a nice bathroom. The rooms are not too charming, but nice and clean. There is no safe in the room.
We only stayed halv a day because we were leaving for the airport late in the evening so we did not try their breakfast, and we dit not try the beds. Our other hotel in Ho Chi Minh was unfortunately fully booked so therefore we had to move for this half day.
On arrival we asked for the price for a car to the airport. Tho hotel would charge 15 USD. Since our other hotel would charge 7 USD we found it way too much and thanked no.
When we checked out the front desk asked if they should call a taxi, and we said yes. Waiting on the street we were surprised to see the se the security people wawing away taxis. A normal taxi turned up at we put in our luggage. Suddenly the taxidriver started saing "my friend says 15 USD". Promptly I went out of the taxi wanting to take out our luggage again and they said "ok ok taxameter". The trip to the airport was then only abouy 7 USD!
I really dont like when the people at a hotel you are staing at are trying to pull these scams on you. And it cold not just have been the security guys - the ones in the reception was also part of it. After that experience I would never stay in that hotel again and I would not trust the staff, and would be worried since there is no safe in the room.
Maybe we were just unlucky - we have been travelling in asia a lot and luckily we have never met this problem before.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiseErichsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed in a twin room and it was nice and spacious with a good sized bathroom. Great location. You can see the markets from our room- just over the roundabout. Staff are super friendly and helpful making my first stay in Vietnam one to remember. Down the street at the intersection and to the right is a laundromat and to the left is a small store that sells everything u need. Eg. Beer, smokes and water :)
I recommend the Cu Chi Tunnels tour from the front desk. I did the half day and it was awesome. The tour guide was hilarious! Totally worth it! Bring something small for lunch as it is not provided.

Sadly a little pricy, but we winged it. I'm guessing if you book prior the price will be cheaper. It didn't bother me too much as the location and staff made up for it :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

As with everywhere I stayed in Vietnam the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fine and the cleaning crew were friendly and funny. The gym is not good and the pool was dirty, but there was a sign stating they would clean it if you asked!

I would say it is a bit noisy here, but this was mostly due to construction work ongoing outside, which is obviously out of the hotel's control.

The breakfast was actually one of the better ones in Vietnam, it seems to be the one meal they have a real problem with! So while not up to European standards it was good enough to set you up for the day.

Overall I was happy with my stay here and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Situated in District 1 and only a short walk to Ben Thanh Market which is great. The rooms are ok but nothing special – would rate 2-3 star Australian standards. For some reason lots of mosquitoes in our room. Gym very small. Indoor pool absolutely freezing!!! Buffet breakfast included with our room was just awful – we ended up going out for Breakfast instead. Not too bad if you want somewhere to stay for a reasonable price. We were looking for somewhere more up market so moved after 2 days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanrusselhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanh Pho Vung Tau, Viet Nam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Good location. Situated in District 1 and only a short walk to Ben Thanh Market. I initially stayed here a while ago and, following a change of management/ownership decided to try it again., The rooms have been 'upgraded', however the bathrooms remained untouched and are in poor condition. Television is wall mounted with a good selection of channels, a kettle is provided although if you want an early morning coffee or tea you will need to provide your own. Swimming pool on the first floor is good for kids only. Staff are quite friendly and helpful.The restaurant on the 13th floor offers great views over Ho Chi Minh City however the breakfast food is mediocre. I found the hotel towards the upper end of expensive for the quality and there are better hotels in the area, albeit more expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (above floor 9) are quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Came to this hotel as a part of a G-adventure tour.

For the price of this hotel, this is good value.

The hotel has a indoor swimmingpool, fitnessroom, free wifi and a restaurant. The wifi is working without no problems. Free computers in the lobby.

The location is two minutes walking from the Ben Tanh market.

The staff was okei. Not always the best knowledge of english.

The portier did try to get us to take a specific taxi all the time. Just say no and smile. He is always smiling and happy.

I was also asking for a laundry bag. They took a bag full of trash, threw the trash on the floor, and asked me to use that for laundry.

Did not try the restaurant or pool. I am sure it was okei like rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.7 mi away
Sabah Saigon Boutique Hotel
Sabah Saigon Boutique Hotel
#362 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#56 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#355 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#79 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#84 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Tung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Tung Hotel

Property: Thien Tung Hotel
Address: 70-72-74 Pho Duc Chinh St. | Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Tung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Tung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thien Tung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing