We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Chancellor Court
Ranked #65 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I visited Ho Chi Minh City for 8 days from January 17th. I did not know any thing about this place and i was received by this hotel with warmth and courtesy. My check in process again got over in 5 - 7 min. My room was already ready for check in. The staff was so kind enough to come with me and explain all the things and even connected me to the wireless internet as well.

The room was cleaned and the fragnance was also very good. They would also receive me always with a smile on a daily basis as well.

I have already recomended this hotel with my friends as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saraniyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Somerset Chancellor Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

Two families of 3 stayed here and were totally impressed. Staff were excellent, helpful, friendly, room was spacious and well fitted and very comfortable. Location excellent. Breakfast at Highland's cafe met the bill. Gym outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

2 friends and I stayed here for 4 nights in early November 2010. Lots of space in apartment which was great and nice and clean. We made the mistake of including breakfast which is downstairs next door at a coffee chain. It was the worst breakfast buffet we have all ever seen.
Also note that their is a beauty salon next door DO NOT go there. They are so friendly but end up giving you more services than you have asked for and then you have to pay for them.

We stayed at Majestic in Sept 2009 and felt the location of this was easier to access with the busy streets of Ho Chi Minh. If you were a family and needed the space for kids I would recommend this. Otherwise couples or friends would highly recommend Majestic Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed at this property in October for 3 nights and had a great time. We had a one bedroom apartment and it was huge, large kitchen and living room. Location was good, a short walk to Notre Dame cathedral and the Central Post Office. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

we were totally satisfied with the facilities available. Booked for single bedroom but upgraded to two bedroom apartment. It was too big actually and prefer not to be upgraded. But never mind, the apartment is well equipped. However only negative part will be it only has one bathroom. A two bedroom apartment with only one bathroom is kinda strange! but other than that, everything else is perfect!

breakfast by Highlands Coffee is adequate.

at night a bit dark to walk around. Diamond Plaza is walking distance away

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at the Somerset Chancellor Court as we were traveling with the in-laws and needed a two bedroom apartment as we needed extra space for relatives to come over and visit. I have stayed at several Somerset properties in the past as they are serviced apartments and you are afforded extra room, washer/dryer and a kitchen. In addition, all Somerset properties have a convenience store on the property, which is really nice to have more of a “home” feeling versus a standard hotel. As such, have read a few review on the service not being that good. However, keep in mind that this is a serviced apartment and not a hotel. Thus, although you do get daily maid service it is geared more toward an apartment, thus, you do not have all the staff (and expenses) all over the property. I prefer to stay at the serviced apartment on a vacation as you get the daily essentials with the kitchen and washer/dryer which allows for a more relaxed environment.

In the past, I have had excellent experiences in the Somerset properties and this stay was no exception. The room was very large with washer/dryer and all kitchen utensils. Also, the convenience store in the property had all the items needed for a comfortable stay in Saigon including groceries. The location is good and is walking distance to all the action in Saigon. If needed, there is always a taxi waiting and it is very inexpensive to take a taxi to the sights if you are not in a mood to walk.

We paid about the same price for a two bedroom apartment that some standard hotels were going for. Thus, I can only HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtrvls1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

The hotel is located near the embassies/consulates, esp close to the French and US. A 10-15 minute walk from shopping/restaurants, although there are some nice street food stalls a block behind the hotel.

Great swimming pool, decent workout area, coffee shop with small breakfast buffet downstairs. Desk staff were very nice.

We stayed in a 3-bdrm with bed space for 5 pax, a large kitchen area that is stocked with bottled water, free wifi in room, washer/dryer combo. Clean, with daily service to keep everything straightened.

Of course, for this price in HCMC, all of the above is appreciated but expected. A few complaints:
-With 5 people in a room, only 1 umbrella is provided and no more can be provided (a problem during the rainy season);
-Again, with 5 people, only 3 breakfast vouchers provided.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#25 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#10 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
491 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#69 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#72 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#37 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#93 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Chancellor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Chancellor Court

Address: 21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#42 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Chancellor Court 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious and elegant Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartments offer you the opportunity to experience Ho Chi Minh City while indulging in the pleasures of personalised services and facilities. Enjoy the bustling Asian city lifestyle or stroll at your leisure to the beautiful botanic gardens just moments from the residence. Ideal corporate housing for the executive on project assignment or relocation, the newly renovated residence is in the heart of the business district (District 1). Whether travelling for business, leisure or relocation, the Somerset Chancellor Court provides an elegant city retreat designed for executives and international families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Chancellor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Chancellor Court Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing