We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #22 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Highly recommended for families, especially if you are travelling with teenagers. We were upgraded from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom (teenagers were very happy they didn't have to share a room!). Two bathrooms never goes astray either. The decor is a bit dated and spartan but very clean and well presented. Great to have a small kitchenette and washer/dryer. The pool and surrounds were fantastic especially after a day shopping and sightseeing in steamy Saigon. They also had a small convenience store and gym on-site as well as a breakfast area near the pool. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The Somerset was also well positioned out of the main tourist streets but still close enough to all the "must see" sights. This was the first time we had stayed in a serviced apartment instead of a hotel - it was exactly what we were looking for. Thankyou Somerset!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Leigh M

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

It is with pride and pleasure to read that you found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a great accommodation for families during vacations. We are glad that you enjoyed the upgrade, the cleanliness, the facilities and the excellent service from our staff. Your kind compliment will surely be shared with our associates.

Thank you for recommending Somerset Ho Chi Minh City to other travelers. We look forward to providing you another excellent experience in near future.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    207
    46
    16
    3
See reviews for
294
31
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

These are basically fully serviced apartments. The place is clean and secure. Their pool is clean and well kept. The apartment has a full kitchen with all things neccessary to cook, a full size fridge, and a cloth washer. Our 2br apartment had a maid room which we did not need. The hotel also has a small convenient shop where you can buy almost all neccessary things, from water to detergents to eggs, bread, and milk. The place has a kids indoor and outdoor play ground, a nice gym, and a tennis playground. If you are a family with kids then this place will not dissapoint you. My only take on the place is the breakfast which is not so good really for us. We ate there half the time and the other times we cooked.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear AANomad

Thank you for choosing Somerset Ho Chi Minh City as your accommodation during your holiday. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service and facilities.

We noted your comment about the breakfast service. You may be pleased to know that we are working on localizing the breakfast items. Some Vietnamese’s signature dishes will be served such as: Beef noodle (Pho), Spring roll, and the famous street food – pâté & meat baguette (Banh Mi Thit) etc.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you are looking for a three bed room Ritz then this is probably not your speed, but it is very spacious, clean, convenient and a heck of a good value. We had a three bedroom and the space was wonderful. Laundry facilities in the room are a plus and my kids loved the pool. You can tell that there are quite a few long-term guests. A little c-store in the ground floor and the location make a very convenient place to stay a few days. I would easily recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-bird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear t-bird2002

Thank you for posting an encouraging review on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you had such wonderful stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. For a service provider, nothing is as precious as that our residents had a great experience with us and willing to recommend us to friends and other travelers.

I appreciate your great effort and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Somerset and had a very pleasurable experience. We were upgraded from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom and this really suited our daughters, as they could have a room each. The apartment was very spacious, very comfortable beds and everything worked!
The pool area was very clean and well maintained and not very busy at all. Even the drinks from the bar near the pool we reasonably priced.
The staff were very helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations and even gave us a late checkout.

Only downside is its a bit out of the main shopping area, however only a $2 taxi fare.

Great experience, Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueys-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Stueys-Crew

I am very pleased to learn that you and your family had a great experience at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. Thank you very much for sharing this with us and other travelers on this public forum.

Receiving such wonderful compliment from a regular traveler like yourself is indeed a priceless award to us. We are glad that you enjoyed the free upgrade, the spaciousness of the room, the comfy beds, the facilities, and most importantly the service from our staff.

Thank you once again for the excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Somerset is a nice place to live but it has a big inconvenience. The swimming pool is like a public swimming pool, many people from outside (nonresident) are coming and use it. Sometimes it's very crowded and this can be uncomfortable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 36312345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear 36312345

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a nice place for your vacation.

We would like to clarify that our facilities such as swimming pool, tennis court, Jacuzzi, Dancing room etc. are exclusively for our in-house residents. The only exception is our “Rubba Duckies” swimming lesions for toddlers, which is available for both residents and selected outside visitors. We constantly monitor this activity to ensure the benefit is predominantly for our residents. Following your comment that we will review as our intention was to add value to our residents. If they find this uncomfortable we will have to reconsider.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Last time I stayed in Ho Chi Minh (now quite a while ago) we stayed at the Grand. Now travelling as a family of 5 we needed something a bit bigger. A three bedroom apartment in Ho Chi Minh seemed a good start.

The lobby was small and I didn't feel it was very welcoming (again, personal opinion) but the staff were very good. Check in was accomplished pretty well (a little bit of a language problem arose) although there were two trainees on the desk at the time (which didn't strike me as great practice).

The apartment was very large. It was difficult to get the main room cold with the aircon, though. But the bedrooms got very cold so that was OK. The kitchen was big (and you couldn't hear the washing machine in the lounge with the door closed, which was good), the TV was the biggest I've seen in a hotel in some time and the beds were comfy. Yes; comfy. I particularly appreciated the free washing powder for the washing machine! I thought the decor was fine, actually. Didn't feel 'dated' to me.

Swimming pool was lovely but it was the restaurant that let the hotel down. The hot food wasn't always hot at breakfast and there wasn't much choice. We ended up having toast in the morning rather than anything else. The evening food (we ate there the first night) was fine and scorching hot when it should have been so no concerns there. There's also no separate bar. Yes you can sit in the restaurant with a beer but it would have been nice to have a cocktail (it's probably just me...)

No problems getting taxis to and from and didn't find it expensive. Thoroughly recommend Au Parc near the Reunification Palace for a leisurely Sunday brunch. Crossing the road was exactly the same as I remember it 8 years ago, though, but we found all linking arms and walking at the same pace made us feel a bit more protected!

We possibly would stay here again but with all the choices in Ho Chi Minh, we might equally find somewhere else. But it's a good location and pretty quiet and obviously the space is a massive bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear ariane 123

Thank you for sharing your experience at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed the service from our staff, the well designed and thoughtful equipped apartment has so much encouraged us and motivated us to continue delivering excellent experience to our residents.

We noted your feedback regarding breakfast at the restaurant. Rest assured that we will share your feedback with the management of the restaurant for their improvement.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A friend recommended these services apartments, as we didn't want to stay in another faceless hotel for our week's stay in Ho Chi Min city. We also wanted somewhere in District 1, close to the main attractions in the city centre. Although they are not right in the centre, these apartments are walkable to the main attractions and importantly, they were quiet.

The reservation process (online) and check-in was trouble-free. The apartment we had (3 bedrooms) was really good: it was on 10th floor (so good view), spacious and well equipped (unlike too many other so-called "serviced" apartments, where the items provided are woeful, requiring a purchase of basic essentials such as can openers, etc.). These apartments had everything likely to be needed and of a decent quality too.

They had a good flat screen TV in living room (plus DVD player connected to decent speakers), with another TV in the main bedroom. There was good AC throughout (fully controllable) and good bathrooms (lovely showers!). The apartment was cleaned well every day. The bed was really comfortable, providing fantastic sleep there (important!).

The staff were friendly and helpful, with a good command of English (at least on the reception).
The pool was a good size and well set out.

One thing to watch out: the website quotes prices in Vietnamese Dong and exclude 10% tax and 5% service charge (neither of which anyone can avoid, so why not tell us how much we are actually going to pay?). With about 20,000 per US$, the numbers quoted are enormous, so make sure you figure out just how much the actual price is, if you are not familiar with Dong!

Overall, we can't fault these apartments and would definitely seek to stay there again, if returning to Ho Chi Minh.

Room Tip: Great views from room on higher floors. Also likely to experience less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Redtitian

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure to know that our residents enjoyed every single detail that is provided at Somerset from the service, facilities, amenities, to the comfy and spacious apartment. And most importantly the fantastic sleep which is crucial to any travelers. Our objective is providing our residents not just a normal hotel service, but a “home away from home” experience. We are glad that we were able to make it for you.

We noted the confusion about the rate quoted on the website. Rest assured that I valued your feedback and will work with our team members for necessary improvement.

Once again, thank you for the excellent review and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#15 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#65 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
298 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#90 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#71 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#36 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing