We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2014 and were very happy. Our initial check in had us placed overlooking the very noisy building works next door (which take place all night and day), and with a sliding door that would not lock. We requested a move and were accommodated immediately to a room in a block that was not so close. No building noise could be heard. Rooms very spacious (deor a bit dated) and the washing machine was very handy. All sights easily reached by taxi (super cheap), and the zoo is located a 2 minute walk down the road. I found all the hotel staff extremely accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is basic but as it was included in the rate, thought it was reasonable. Loved the chicken and lemongrass!

Only downside was the spa was broken and it did not appear there was any rush to get it fixed.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back block - Cassia I think it was called.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Teri J

Thank you for posting a complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that our associates promptly attended to your request and made your stay with us a pleasant one.

It is indeed a nice pleasure to know that you enjoy the location of the property, the spaciousness of the apartments, and the extremely accommodating and friendly service from our staff.

Please be updated that the spa (Jacuzzi) was properly fixed and is under its service.

Once again, thank you for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    210
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
303
31
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Reasonable location, you can walk to all the sights. We had a 3 bed appartments for 4 nights. I was not impressed to be right next to a massive building site, which has a crane that literally swings over the pool. It was noisy from dawn to dusk, and then when that stopped the karaoke bar over the street started. Our appartment was reasonable, with the exception of the out of date bathrooms, with shower heads that would not stay still and limited hot water. The pool area was very nice. Don't have the breakfasts here, the ladies in the little restaurant were very unfriendly, hardly acknowledged us, and the food was of limited choice, poorly presented and not very good, unless you like coco pops. However it was relatively cheap and you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aucklander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Aucklander68

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Please be updated that the next door construction is near completion and should no longer be a source of dust or noise pollution.

We noted your comment about the service at the restaurant. Rest assured that I will address your concerns with the management of the restaurant for their improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the front desk was very friendly and attentive during our check in process, however out of everything he could of told me about the hotels service all he mentioned was that there are NO local overnight female guests allowed past 10pm? Kind of inconvenient being that my girlfriend is from Saigon and I originally booked this hotel for us to stay 1 night before our departure to Nha Trang, and mind you I have stayed at 20 other hotels in Ho Chi Minh City where this was never an issue, I almost felt like a kid being told by my parents that I can't see girls, im also a worker off the Internet and the connection on the wifi was very poor, the hotel is very outdated and felt like something from the 70s, I would never guess this is a 5 star hotel, An Phu Plaza and vincom are much more accommodating for your money

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Btappia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Btappia

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you find our staff friendly and attentive.

We would like to clarify that according to the decree issued by the Vietnamese Government (08/2001/ND-CP), all local Vietnamese visitors are not allowed to visit after 10.00pm or stay overnight in the apartment unless he/she is proven to be the spouse (with a valid Marital Certificate) of the resident. We therefore need to abide by the laws. We apologize if this was not clearly made known to you before your arrival.

Since we are constantly looking at ways to improve our services and product, I am pleased to share that Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is to undergo a full refurbishment to apartments in April this year to upkeep the standard of our product.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location was a little away from the center of the city. But it is very easy to reach by taxis. The staff is great check in and check out is easy and smooth. The rooms are large clean furniture is little out of date but comfortable. good wireless connection in the rooms and common areas. Nice swimming pool breakfast. Dont recommend to try dinner options of Western food.
The overall stay was pleasent, can highly recommend for groups and families.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pembegul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear pembegul

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is great to have you stay with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we appreciate your compliments about our service and facilities.

We hope to see welcome you again.

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the christmas break, experiencing both the 2 bedroom & 3 bedromm apartment in 2 different blocks. The rooms are adequately spacious with excellent quality of bedding and linen. The entire aprtment complex is well maintained and the staff extremely hospitable. Add to this a good pool and a small kids play area. Gives you a good holiday feel.

The biggest attraction of the place is its proximity to city centre. a 15 min walk or a 5 min taxi ride is all it needs. Overall a great stay experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_Bhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Amit_Bhatia

I am happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. Thank you for spending the time to share your valued feedback.

It is most important for one’s vacation to have “excellent quality of bedding and linen”, the “adequately spacious and well maintained apartment”, the great facilities, the good location, and the “extremely hospitable service”. I am very glad to know that we have made it a whole package for your vacation. I hope the great experience you had with us made your Christmas in Ho Chi Minh City a fantastic one.

Do come again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillside VIC Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived on Christmas Day and was shown to our 3 bedroom apartment. We were a family with 2 adults and older children, 21, 18 and 16. The rooms were spacious and we could all live without being on top of one another. Our room was cleaned daily and any requests asked of staff immediately attended to. The hotel was always clean and staff very friendly. We went out one day and left our safe unlocked (mistake by us) and in the safe had lots of money, phones, passports and a camera. We came home to an unopened safe (so we thought), my heart sank. In the safe was a note saying that the cleaning staff had found our safe unlocked and all our belongings were at reception. We went to reception and was given a plastic bag with our belongings: EVERYTHING was in there. This just made us so happy that we had chosen a great hotel with great honest staff. We would highly recommend this place to everyone. The only negative we could give this hotel was the pool was cold.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment sleeps 6 people easily. Has a functional kitchen and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherrie967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear cherrie967

Thank you very much for the most encouraging review that you shared on TripAdvisor.

I am indeed being sentimental when reading your review especially for the fact that you find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City “a great hotel with great honest staff”. As a hotel manager, nothing can make me happier than knowing that our associates are making our guest’s experience a fantastic one by their prompt and friendly service and most importantly by their integrity.

I am also glad to learn that you are pleased with the spaciousness and cleanliness of the apartment.

Once again, thank you very much for the great review and the valued support. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked 3 rooms with the family over Christmas 2013. one 2 bedroom apartment, one 1 bedroom apartment and a Studio. All the rooms were spacious, clean, functional and luxurious, much better than any hotel.
Excellent location just a short walk to Notre Dam Cathedral and great restaurants. Staff were very friendly, with a good command of the English language.
Recommend if your going to stay sign up as an Ascot On-line member and the room rates are heavily discounted if you book on-line.
There are 2 Somersets in HCM we stayed at the Somerset Chancellor which is different to Somerset.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#9 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#64 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
301 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#92 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#36 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#73 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing